Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

You are more than welcome Cruzer.

What will you be wearing?

What bike, so we can look out for you

I'm on a blue/silver Trek, Slave rides a 900 yr old Peugeot, so you cant miss us.

• Replies 9.2k

Greetings from rainy Umtuzini, sitting on my bed with a cup of coffee and a book in a little log cabin overlooking the woods... *sigh* it's a tough life but someone's gotta do it..

Hope you boys aren't missing me too much and sorry that you didn't have someone to 'hide behind' on Sunday Slave smiley2.gif

anyways... my MTB is in the shop so my next ride has to be on the road. I'm driving back to joburg on Sunday. Any plans for a (not too fast) Monday morning ride?

Nancy , the crowd will be there on monday. We havent officially discussed the ride, but we'll be there @7:00, decide who and where to go with.

Owl, Slave, Kid - thanx for the ride. Worked out just perfect.

2:30, 75.55k's, 30.2ave

Wasn't that cold either - 18degr.

Njoy yr weekend and the riding.smiley1.gif
You are more than welcome Cruzer.

What will you be wearing?

What bike' date=' so we can look out for you

I'm on a blue/silver Trek, Slave rides a 900 yr old Peugeot, so you cant miss us.

Thanks Nuwbie, I ride a Cervelo Soloist Team (Black) I think I missed you guys this morning  but I was there and did a nice 66 km route past the cheese factory in a small group of 6 riders.

I almost always ride with my Brother (Mightyspoke) who also rides a Black Team Cervelo Soloist, my brother and I normaly dress the same in aid of Diabetes awareness in bright Green Accucheck kit.

I am planning to ride again tomorow and will wear the kit described above.

Owl' date=' Slave, Kid - thanx for the ride. Worked out just perfect.

2:30, 75.55k's, 30.2ave

Wasn't that cold either - 18degr.

Njoy yr weekend and the riding.[img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley1.gif[/img]

Thanks guys another great ride.

Done 87km, 29.3ave.

Now I finally know who WonderWoman is.

The  weather was great, nice & warm, no idea why Nuwbie wear's his ski outfit to ride his bicycle ???

Tomorrow we ride again smiley32.gifsmiley32.gif

Indigo Kid2009-04-10 11:11:38

Fridays ride was good fun! But the chilly conditions are really not my favourite! But it was a good ride...and as always full of some good laughs courtesy of the Slave!

But...I want everyone to know that Indigo has definately been putting in some secret training of his own! Dude...that 7km solo effort heading back to the Lido was a really good bit of pacing! Nice! So dont pretend your not putting in the training, coz its showing!!!!

Was nice hooking up with Nuwbie again after a good 19years since we last rode together.

Slave, as for you buddy...your getting stronger on the hills!

Wonder Woman...good to see you again!

Yip was a great ride. Kid is becoming quite the dark horse.

He really pulled along that eye of afrca road. Eish. Good strong ride that one.

Respect dude.

Thanks Nuwbs, GOv2.0. The rest of the okes faded or did not manage to hook up. Still a good ride.

Hey Nance. I was going to rest Monday but we can go out and turn over some pedals.

GO has my number if you wanna phone and make arrangements. You can park your car at my place and Nuwbie says he's also riding.

Maybe see ya monday.
Fridays ride was good fun! But the chilly conditions are really not my favourite! But it was a good ride...and as always full of some good laughs courtesy of the Slave!

But...I want everyone to know that Indigo has definately been putting in some secret training of his own! Dude...that 7km solo effort heading back to the Lido was a really good bit of pacing! Nice! So dont pretend your not putting in the training' date=' coz its showing!!!!

Was nice hooking up with Nuwbie again after a good 19years since we last rode together.

Slave, as for you buddy...your getting stronger on the hills!

Wonder Woman...good to see you again!

What chilly conditions ?? We had awesome weather and you were way over clothed.

No secrect training buddy, it's a flat road anybody can ride at that pace, you were all right behind me.

GreyOwl, were you at the front of the group today (Saturday) ?? I know you said that you had to be back early but at that pace, eish the legs loose all feeling.smiley7.gifsmiley7.gifsmiley7.gif

Nish4, nice to meet you and thanks for a great ride. That's a nice loop & I'm sure I'll join you again soon.

Cruzer, nice to meet you too.

Lot's of hubbers meet at Xumbugs smiley20.gif

We must all do a ride, maybe another Heidelberg loop.

So today I decided to totally go bos and do a duathlon. Something I havent done in 20 years. I now know why I havent done one in 20 years. Gosh I am "stukkend" man. Cant remember the last time I had this sore. Gimme 100k's anytime, but jeepers that hurt big time. So there I was on my way to other side of Pta, place called Bundu Inn.

Fortunately for the ego's sake there wasn't a lot of participants. I reckon less that 60 or so. Man alive, that's scary - chances of finishing last is soooo much better with such small field.

We set of on the first run, 6k's - after 100 m , reality hits me so hard, it takes my breath away! Just checked - last run was in May 08.smiley11.gif

I struggle through this in a tad over 27 min (It couldnt have been 6?, if it wassmiley32.gifsmiley32.gifsmiley32.gif), transition takes me almost 2 minsmiley5.gif, then the bike, I ride like a demon, 4 laps of about 7:30, last one sub 7, for the 21 odd k's I manage to ave 31.3, just over 42 min - man I am the king. 1;36 transition, I can hardly walk, let alone run. I set off on the final 3 k's. Maybe if I walked it would've been faster, but it takes me 15:59smiley11.gifsmiley11.gifsmiley11.gif.

I finish in 1:28, but it feels the same as riding for 6 hrs. Gosh my legs are in tatters. Will need a long massage and a recovery ride tomorrow. How will this affect the Wilro next week? Maybe , just maybe, its made me as strong as an OXsmiley4.gif.

Reckon I need to stick to cycling. Did I mention I finished 17th?

Guest Agteros

Yoh!!! Nuwbie! You did GR8 man! Congrats

Let those who snicker at my 'I run to cycle' quiver! That second running 'leg' is a real killer, I also slow down A LOT on it.

31km/h is great! See you at the MTB Duathlon in Parys (July!)

he he he, thanx

I think my duathlon career has come to a halt after todaysmiley2.gif

My HR ave was 162 - on max of 186, thats 87% man, its hectic, no wonder I am so STUFFED.

Last run, more like a quick walk. Ooops , mistake, not quick, just walk. 

Parys is for lovers, not to go and suffer. And besides, then I'll be watching LA in le Tour again in Parys.
Guest Agteros
he he he' date=' thanx

I think my duathlon career has come to a halt after today[img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley2.gif[/img]

My HR ave was 162 - on max of 186, thats 87% man, its hectic, no wonder I am so STUFFED.

Last run, more like a quick walk. Ooops , mistake, not quick, just walk.

Parys is for lovers, not to go and suffer. And besides, then I'll be watching LA in le Tour again in Parys.

haha hehe I'm just starting my Duathlon 'career'! hopefully will end in the top 20 for the teavigo series for my age cat this year... smiley11.gif Most probably will land up just outside though... Hopefully better next year.  smiley9.gif Please let there be something else to chase/do the year after that smiley19.gif

Pushing lactate threshold is good in itself.... smiley4.gif

BUT... If Parys is for lovers, what where you doing there watching LA in le Tour? smiley3.gif smiley36.gif smiley36.gif

Hey Indigo Kid...sorry dude, we got a little carried away yesterday on the road to the bridge...went up the steps at 35kph! It was Uber cool!

Rode this morning and went on the long route with the guys. Was a nice long ride and for once we had a tail wind on the home stretch. Met KIWI today...super cool guy! I think I talked his ear off...but we still managed to do quite a bit of the pacing up front. Those PLANET-X machines are nice and he knows his stuff.

Was impressed to see a young kid riding with the group today. He was tiny, legs like twigs but he didnt suffer to sit with us at all. I was very impressed with him...

Might see you guys tomorrow morning...I have to be back rather early so I might just go a short loop.