Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

So, based on your weather predicition (or someone else's) I should be able to see where I'm going but not as far as I'm going.

Who's eyes you think they use when they say visibility 15 km. I have a mate who can see a pimple on a pigs butt at 500 m, and I can't even see the pig.
  • Replies 9.2k

I also wonder about stuff like that S2L! How do they come up with stuff like that?! And how do they get those old model sailing ships into those bottles? That bugs me!

I hope to ride tomorrow...just not too sure yet. Have not ridden this week.

I just met with Racman...nice guy...convinced him to join us next weekend for a ride. He lives in Cape Town and works here in joey's! Poor guy...

Bliksem, that's a long commute. Expensive too.

It must take a couple of weeks to ride to CT on a bike. Either jobs in CT are scarce or property in JHB.

I am also still undecided on a ride tomorrow. Feeling flat and listless, zero energy and less enthusiasm but that may change by the morning.

I've been dying to see if anyone was gonna post on our "near death experience" with this mornings ride!

Although Slave, Nuwbie and myself went the shorter loop...it was not without its share of drama...LPCC pacing like mad men on the road out to the bridge...and a mad man deciding to change direction right at the last second! I'm just waiting to see how it gets explained here! Coz from what came out of Nuwbies mouth, I've been chuckling all day! Amazing that no one fell...even more amazing that nobody went back to beat the guy up!!!

Hope the remainder of the ride was uneventfull and pleasant?!

Eish Grey - not sure what came out of my mouth, I know there was some froth from the hard work, but jislaaik, I had such a fright, I had a battle to just start riding again. Thinking about it now, I should have signalled top the dude to leave the road on hisright hand side, but it happened so damn quick. I'm just very glad we didn't have a serious incident this morning. Not a nice way to start a long weekend.

Obviously that dude had no idea of just how fast the bunch (maybe 30 strong) , was moving. Bet you his pants didn't smell all that nice after that.

Reason why no one went back to give him a wake up slap, was 'cause everyone was so sat at that stage, that they wouldnt have caught up with him.

Slave had his moment of glory this morn, when he paced the bunch up the steps - ok no, that's unfair, he dropped the bunch up the steps. I calculated a lead of at least 50 m or more. Well done bru - sorry the Kid wasnt there to witness it and be part of the pain.............

We almost had a similar incident on wed doing Bosco's. The bunch was about to turn right on the bottom of the downhill just after that drag after Bosco's. As we were about to turn, a bike and a tandem, passed us on the right, at one heck of a speed. It nearly nearly caused big sh&t.

So its not just the fun riders on sat mornings, its also the idiot cyclists who think they own the road that create havoc.

Geez Nuwbie...that was quite a fright this morning! I could see him coming, and I still indicated to those behind me that he was approaching, but I could also just tell he was gonna change over to the other side...which would have been fine, but when he panicked and decided to brake I thought we were gonna have a big incident. We were very lucky that we didnt hit him, and that the guys further back didnt plow into us.

Thats hectic with the tandem issue...but I know how unpredictable those bunches can be when it comes to the routes. But the thought of a tandem taking out a bunch is not a pleasant one.

Congrats Slave...just 24hours ago you were feeling 'pap' and gatvol! Now today your the king of the Steps!

Nuwbie, I didnt recognise you without your Ski gear on! It took a couple minutes to register! Nice pacing!
Guest Agteros

Apparently only when I'm there smiley19.gif

there is not much I am jealous of from JHB' date=' but this group riding thing sounds cool. Do you guys ever ride slowly ?

Actually slow is al we ride.

Its just Slave that overcooks himself by chasing every tom , dick, harry and dog he sees in front of himsmiley12.gif

Slowbee...we're just very vocal...nobody gets left behind (kinda like the POWER RANGERS/Care Bears/Scouts code!) and we all just enjoy pedalling our bikes.

This morning Slave and I had a deep conversation...last week we spoke absolute cr@p...but we did it while riding. I have to be honest, its great to be riding with a group of guys who just want to cycle.

And the occasional teasing of one another (although juvenile) is just a big bonus!

Owl - bumped into Mike and Pikkie this morning after the ride at the Cycle Hub, went there for some spares, and as I walked in they were on their way out.

Pikkie prob ways 100 kgs, Mike is totally grey....

Anyway had a nice chat, Mike is back on the bike - MTB, and today was Pikkies first ride in how many years, on a MTB of all things.

Was good to chat, would like to go ride with the man in the bos some time.

Best thing was to realize that the years have not only taken its toll on me!!
Guest Agteros
and the occasional teasing of one another (although juvenile) is just a big bonus!

The importance of the inner child should never be underestimated! But then, I thought we cycle for that kid hidden in all of us?

Nuwbie! You saw Mike and Pikkie? Whoa...thats wierd! But good...glad they are still riding. We can never stop...its in our blood.

Agteros...I refuse to grow up. I'm a 16year old trapped in a 33year olds body! In fact...our little group rides are like those little gangs we form at school! Thanks to Indigo, we are definately the cool kids!!

Now Nuwbie...leave the girls alone!
Guest Agteros

Yeah Nuwbie! Behave!!! I need to introduce somebody to road cycling in a 'safe' environment...