Willie Engelbrecht closing down?

Novak

AngryAngry

AngryAngry Willie had to take a huge risk and keep stock so that you okes   can look and touch but he has to pay for it and then you order from the UK,  thats the thanks he gets , wankers!!       

• Replies 181

I agree. Cycling in SA will suffer even more as this goes on. Shops are the the ones behind local cycling- no shops no local cycling.

Guest Big H
AngryAngry

AngryAngry Willie had to take a huge risk and keep stock so that you okes   can look and touch but he has to pay for it and then you order from the UK' date='  thats the thanks he gets , wankers!!       

Tough sh!t, Willie does not look after my pocket, I look after my OWN pocket and I will buy where it is the cheapest....... Viva www.chainreactioncycles.com viva!!!!!!!!!!!!

The Dodo became extinct because it could not adapt..... adapt or die Diesel!!
Big H2009-06-29 15:07:08

Guest colonel

Angry?willie closing cause you wankers buy from chain reaction' date=' what about

local is lekker

When I have to still provide for my wife and my family and look after myself money wise-just like Willie had to then YES I will look for cheaper prices. WANKER!

the dodo became extinct because of a bunch of trigger-happy dutchmen?

I fully agree. The local shops needs to wake up and / or put more pressure on their distributors. I have used Chainreaction on occasion (mostly for very specific and very expensive items, that were not readily available).

The bike shops that are going to survive are the ones that is going to cut on their margin on hardware and rather try and make their money in the workshops.

The current economic crisis has put a new focus on honest hard work, rather than earning a quick $$$. (Davos world economic forum, Jan 09)

If my LBS wants my money, they are going to have to earn it!

Guest Big H

Did the esteemed iengliesh language teacher not state one day long long ago....... "play the ball, not the man???????".......... "extinct" in this case has no bearing on the cause........ my learned friend.

AngryAngry

AngryAngry?Willie had to take a huge risk and keep stock so that you okes ??can look and touch but he has to pay for it and then you order from the UK' date='? thats the thanks he gets?, wankers!!       

You seem upset?

Did the esteemed iengliesh language teacher not state one day long long ago....... "play the ball' date=' not the man???????".......... "extinct" in this case has no bearing on the cause........ my learned friend.

why does that upset you? i thought you were afrikaans?Smile
holy roller2009-06-29 23:43:56

Guest Big H

Did the esteemed iengliesh language teacher not state one day long long ago....... "play the ball' date=' not the man???????".......... "extinct" in this case has no bearing on the cause........ my learned friend.

why does that upset you? i thought you were afrikaans?Smile

Concentrate on the ball.....THE BALL ......HR.

By the way when the Dodo was hunted to extinction it could not flee from the hunters....... they were not trigger happy, they found an easy scource of available food. During those times there were not so many McDonalds or Kentucky's around. They were definitely NOT trigger happy...... a connotation some bunny hugger including yourself would like to attach to hunters.

OK, here's a thought - price differences between Euro sourced product from online retailers are cheaper than SA sourced product because.......

Here in SA the governemnt has a blanket trade tariff on pretty much anything brought / manufactured in China / Far East countries. The tariff is designed to stop "dumping" of good's at very low cost into our domestic market place, effectively killing off local manufacturing.

What relevance does this have on LBS closing, or online orders from Euro based businesses I hear you ask?

We'll, given that about 75% or more or of cycling industry product, from clothing through bike are manufactured in the Far East, we the SA cycling industry and end users, the cycling public, are getting hammered by resulting prices imposed as a result of a government policy.

I could understand if there was a domestically based cycle manufacturing industry to protect, but there really is not. First Ascent don't need help, Morewood do more business in Europe / USA than here at home.....

So you see, the online Vs domestic argument regarding pricing is a lot more complex than simple margins / local pricing

(rant over)

PPWTF2009-06-29 23:54:46

Guest colonel

By the way when the Dodo was hunted to extinction it could not flee from the hunters....... they were not trigger happy' date='

Kind of like clubbing baby seals then? smiley2.gif They were club happy then?? heehee!!

Diesels comment must rate amongst the most absurd I have ever heard.

All business owners carry risk, some just manage it better than others.

He obviously has an axe to grind, perhaps an ex employee?, I can understand his frustrations, perhaps he lost his job, its tough, I know, but nothing changes, I will still buy from the cheapest supplier (usually internationally) as BigH says, adapt or die its the simple answer.

I look after my pocket first, I am sure Willie dos the same in what he buys.

Guest colonel

Slowbee: No I dont think he did atall. If he did it wasnt on his website or anything like that.

I agree as BigH said "adapt or die" everyone else has had to in the world.

Sad that he had to close. He was pretty much the benchmark for high end bike shops. I loved going in there and drooling at the porn he had hanging around.

His shop closing has had interesting wripple effects around some of the shops in Cape Town - some good and some bad.

Because of the massive amount of money he owed to suppliers, and the fact that his assets have been siezed by the sherrif, the suppliers are going around and calling up debts from all the other shops.

Conversely, now that he has closed - some of the other shops are feeling a slight increase in business and his clients now go elsewhere.