SAW THE COVERAGE OF THIS EVENT ON TV LAST YEAR AND IT LOOKED LEKKER SO ONTO MY LIST OF EVENTS TO .TILL I SAW THE PRICE R450 FOR A 75 AND 40 OR R350 FOR JUST THE 4OKM .THESE OKES MUST BE SMOKING SOMETHING.

Many people never enjoyed last years race so it does surprise me the price is so high!

I just received the email from the organisers - R350 does seem very steep in comparison to the other events in the area...

Yes I also saw the price and wondered if its a typo... seems expensive?

The organisation was cool last year but the route was not cool. Too many roads made for the event through grass fields resulting in grass pole mania...

Must be one heck of a goody bag... :huh:

Last year we got a t-shirt, cap, lan yard, pen, and one lekker lunch. But I don't enter races for the goodie bag. Keep all of that and charge me R50 and R20 for a boerie roll.

+1

last year the tufty grass was a pain but apart from that great event nice food after ride on both days nice shirt and cap good organisation was well worth the money last year

If they have sorted the tufty grass out as advertised then you get 2 days great riding

2 meals after your rides

Decent T shirt and other goodies

Seems like a good deal if you consider 150 to 170 rand for some races with nothing else.

I personally like the events these guys put on but no one is forced to do it like people say there are enough events for you to pick the ones that you want or consider to be good value.

I did it last year, and do agree that the grass making up the last 10km of day was tough and not very enjoyable. But i also agree with Crasher that the vibe is worth it. There were free massages from Mangwanani at the finish, an awesome braai on both days, live music on the Sunday. I would recommend it.

Apparantly they have been spraying the grass section most people hated last year with pesticide and have also been driving the section with a bakkie, so it would probably be way better.

For me the section at the back of Magalies was also tough, purely because of the rain and mud caused me to have no grip so I was slipping and sliding my way up that hill.

Only did the first day last year so can't comment on the second day

Second day was tough mainly due to lots of mud and some steep climbs

We rode most of the tufty grass on day 3 of route 69 about a month ago was still unpleasant but a bit better than last year hopefully it has been further improved in last month

I am hoping for no mud this year