Well organised race with a lot of "gutter" racing - it may have been flat but the crosswind made it a good challenge.

One major problem I had was that I found the route dangerous: high speed racing does not combine well with narrow district roads with high scalloped shoulders, high volume traffic from the opposite direction, slower riders being lapped. Despite the organisers doing everything in their power to make the race safe, I felt very exposed to the risk of serious injury.

I usually compete in MTB events. This has been my first road race in a long time. I am interested to hear other opinions.

The race is just up the road from my home, so been doing this race for a while now. As you say, well organised. Luckily I was on my MTB, so wasn't doing any high speed racing :-) Yes the R25 is not kind to cyclists, if it's not the traffic that gets you, it's the wind.

Our bunch had a motorbike to help with the traffic, but haven't seem him on the 2nd lap on the R25??

BTW great medal!!!

Surprisingly well organized. The marshal with us helped us throughout the race, much appreciated. Have to agree though, route a bit dangerous, but because of the marshall, never once felt threatened.

Thanks to the organizers and the marshals!!!

Edited by DarthToffee

Die wind was 'hectic'. Ons het lank gestaan voor die 57km begin het en het omtrent al my lus vir ry daar verloor. Nice race net om die draai van ons huis.

Te besige pad, te min roaming marshals maak dat ek die roete nie sommer weer sal aanpak nie.

Idioot metro kar wat voor die ryers ingedraai het in die finishing straight. :thumbdown: Arme Matlosana ryer het wonde van sy heup to enkel.

En aan die prysgeld-wolwe was daar ook nie tekort nie.

First Time for us Marshalling this race, I have to agree that it was dangerous at some places and we tried our best to ensure every cyclists safety on the road. It is not always possible to look after everyone as logic will depict. The field was stretched out across the whole route which made it difficult to patrol certain sections.

We also had to jump off the motorcycles and do points duty in some of the intersections to get the traffic flowing, this while metro was standing under the trees and having conversations with the locals.

Thanks to everyone that participated. We did mention to the organizers to look at a different route next year and hopefully we will be involved a bit more in the route planning as they indicated that they will use us again in the future.

That will be good I did the race last year and promised myself never to do it again , last year started at 0 degrees Celsius, very cold but besides that it was a dangerous route and I I didn't like the longer route consisting of 2 laps rather work out a different longer route.

a good pacey route, pity about the wind though!

i loved having the motorcycles alongside helping with the trucks etc...

the ONLY problem i had was at the end where the last set of marshalls sent myself and around 6 others who had broken away from our bunch the wrong way!

hit the brakes, pull a u turn .. whew they havent caught us yet.... then sprinting down the finishing straight - a bakkie parked in the centre of the inflatable archway right on top of the timing mats? grrrr.

those gripes aside, spectrum got the times right for a change and alot of friendly folks around :) il be back next year for sure!

I had a cr@p ride, but all my own fault. The organisation was excellent and the Helivac marshals did a fantastic job.

The only unpleasant section was the back bit (R25?) with the cross wind and traffic.

  On 6/17/2011 at 5:23 PM, Audible Anarchy said:

a good pacey route, pity about the wind though!

i loved having the motorcycles alongside helping with the trucks etc...

the ONLY problem i had was at the end where the last set of marshalls sent myself and around 6 others who had broken away from our bunch the wrong way!

hit the brakes, pull a u turn .. whew they havent caught us yet.... then sprinting down the finishing straight - a bakkie parked in the centre of the inflatable archway right on top of the timing mats? grrrr.

those gripes aside, spectrum got the times right for a change and alot of friendly folks around :) il be back next year for sure!

Was that the Foot Marshals or Motorbike Marshals..??

  On 6/20/2011 at 8:22 AM, Helivac Marshals said:

Was that the Foot Marshals or Motorbike Marshals..??

the foot marshalls - the guys on the bonies were awesome, saved our butts from the monster trucks blowing us around a few times!

The marshalling of my group was excellent, those guys did a great job. The traffic was a bit painful, but nothing major. The metro cops were the buttholes of the day, in my opinion.

My daughter was involved in the finish line accident, when a metro cop car turned in front of her just before the line. Fortunately she didn't suffer major injuries.

I spoke the matlosana rider, he told me he fell twice, once to get out of the way of another metro cop and the second time when he touched wheels at the finish.

My gripe with the organisers ~ no medical personell whatsoever were on scene. An external paramedic was called, who arrived nearly half an hour after the accident/s. Had the injuries been more serious, we would have had a problem.

So all in all, a good race that was marred by avoidable incidents.

Cyclists 0, metro cops 2.

myself and a buddy were nearly taken out by a metro cop talking on her cell during warmup now that i think of it... what any vehicles were even doing along that finishing straight in the first place is a mystery?

@ falco - - my wife who came with told me about your daughters crash with the metro near the finish line, apparently quite a nasty one.- hope she has a quick recovery!

  On 6/20/2011 at 1:14 PM, Audible Anarchy said:

myself and a buddy were nearly taken out by a metro cop talking on her cell during warmup now that i think of it... what any vehicles were even doing along that finishing straight in the first place is a mystery?

@ falco - - my wife who came with told me about your daughters crash with the metro near the finish line, apparently quite a nasty one.- hope she has a quick recovery!

Thanks, she is recovering well, should be able to ride again in a week or so. Her left wrist/arm took a hammering so she can't grip a handlebar right now.

Everything else should heal up quite quickly ~ the benefit of youth.

I reckon if I did something like that with my old bones I would be in more pieces than the bicycle...