Slow & Funfit - Fountains/Groenkloof - 10 Nov

I am extremely disappointed in this group ride for the following reasons:

1. The week before I did a road race and stupidly put some stickers on my helmet. I rode the entire Fountains and Groenkloof and NOBODY made any silly remarks about it. I only discovered they were still on the helmet when i took it off...

2. I brought a case beer (that's 24 for the non drinkers as I discovered they made up the majority of the group) on ice for recovery after the ride. I will not mention how many made the trip with me back to Kimberley (as it saddens me) because theHub is not a place to btich and moan... Oh, wait...

Thanks SIR and SLick, was a good ride.

Good to meet you Witkop, Patches and Sean (not slick sean, other sean :) )

Riaan, your beer is on ice thumbup1.gif

Edited by Lamber
  • Replies 253

1. The week before I did a road race and stupidly put some stickers on my helmet. I rode the entire Fountains and Groenkloof and NOBODY made any silly remarks about it. I only discovered they were still on the helmet when i took it off...

2. I brought a case beer (that's 24 for the non drinkers as I discovered they made up the majority of the group) on ice for recovery after the ride. I will not mention how many made the trip with me back to Kimberley (as it saddens me) because theHub is not a place to btich and moan... Oh, wait...

Good to meet you Witkop, Patches and Sean (not slick sean, other sean smile.png )

Sorry about the beers mate, but Riaan was keen to get home to his family, and he was my riding buddy for the day! Next time for SURE!

Guest Travis.

Good to meet you Witkop, Patches and Sean (not slick sean, other sean smile.png )

Shot for the beer afterwards. It helped my hangover and recovery for Linkin Park! Let us know when you're here again and I'll help you polish as many of those beers as I can! And this time we can do some more GK (excuse me for being a bit knackered afterwards).

Great meeting everyone. I think Witkop, Lamber and Patches could see I was asleep while standing afterwards...

Shot for the beer afterwards. It helped my hangover and recovery for Linkin Park! Let us know when you're here again and I'll help you polish as many of those beers as I can! And this time we can do some more GK (excuse me for being a bit knackered afterwards).

Great meeting everyone. I think Witkop, Lamber and Patches could see I was asleep while standing afterwards...

Hahaha, you did well considering the hangover! Shot, will let you know then we sommer make it a braai! thumbup1.gif

Guest Travis.

Hahaha, you did well considering the hangover! Shot, will let you know then we sommer make it a braai! thumbup1.gif

Dit klink soos 'n plan daai!

Sad that some riders feel the need to join a slow group to feel better about themselves.

I really, really, really hope you did not aim that at me, or any of the other guys that came from the Moot and was 'faster' than 'the other guys'. We (I) wanted to do some tech riding with skilled riders (like yourself and slick) and I thought that it would be nice to get some km's in whilst I'm at it. Not once did we complain about the pace, or did we push the pace, or distance.

I just went out with the goal to have fun on my bike laugh.png

Dude, you looked like a dog with his head out the window - wouldn't want to be anywhere else in the world :) Cool bike, great attitude. Next time I'll spot you a beer :)

Ek het geweet jy het bier, anders het ek jou gemok oor jou stickers lol. I had 12 voortrekker kids coming over to my place at ten, barely made it back in time.

BTW, I got some nice GoPro footage of most of Fountains, will be editing that over the next day or so and then upload. I promise to edit out the swear words :D

Guest Travis.

I really, really, really hope you did not aim that at me, or any of the other guys that came from the Moot and was 'faster' than 'the other guys'. We (I) wanted to do some tech riding with skilled riders (like yourself and slick) and I thought that it would be nice to get some km's in whilst I'm at it. Not once did we complain about the pace, or did we push the pace, or distance.

Dude, you looked like a dog with his head out the window - wouldn't want to be anywhere else in the world smile.png Cool bike, great attitude. Next time I'll spot you a beer smile.png

Ek het geweet jy het bier, anders het ek jou gemok oor jou stickers lol. I had 12 voortrekker kids coming over to my place at ten, barely made it back in time.

BTW, I got some nice GoPro footage of most of Fountains, will be editing that over the next day or so and then upload. I promise to edit out the swear words biggrin.png

Riaan, maak net seker jy sit die val wat julle van gepraat het ook op!

I must apologise if my pace was a bit too quick for some,I just did the ride for fun and to meet some of the hubbers,next time ill stay at the back,if I am allowed to join again.

Tevez, as soon as I started going over the bars I hit the stop button on the GP with my chest. Nice little blue dot this morning smile.png

Ek dink dis net meer 'n geval van "what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas" ph34r.png

Just a comment in general. Not aimed at anybody specific.

No need for anyone to feel bad. We just have to differentiate in future between going for a fun, fast skilled ride and going for a slow skillz ride. It is impossible to do both which is why SIR M and I told everyone that we will do a slow skillz lap with a few who wanted to afterwards.

Hats off to you 2 for that- everyone always complain about the bottle necks at races and about the riders that don't have enough off-road experience, but never take the time to help out. Then there's the guys that give "skills clinics" for ridiculous fees (like that oke "mentoring" epic riders) that end up showing the learners how awesome he is.

I'm sure the learners appreciated it thumbup1.gif