Double century

chucky

• Replies 190

Maybe the farmworker savages will field a team and show the fat arse white okes on their cinderellos how it's done.

:-D

Without starting a political debate on this cycling forum, I think that Grinder's comments about 'savages' and a few 'elitist white okes on the bicycles' are way off the mark. There are riders other than 'white okes' who participate in the DC.

For the sake of all participants, we would want these disturbances to be over by the time of the event. I am sure that PPA and the organisers will keep a close watch on events.

Now I wonder what do you call people that goes around, indiscriminately burning and looting, destroying other peoples property and businesses?

Oh yeah, SAVAGES!!!!!

b.t.w., if you read my post properly, you would have seen I said that most of the protestors are not farmworkers, but "rent a crowed" bussed in from other sentra with the sole mandate to disrupt and destroy.

As far as the 'elitist white okes on the bicycles' comment is concerned, tongue was firmly in the cheek. But you cannot argue the fact that that is how it is seen by the broader spectrum of non cyclist's.

So you guys can get off your moral high horses and sees this for what it is.

Now I wonder what do you call people that goes around, indiscriminately burning and looting, destroying other peoples property and businesses?

Oh yeah, SAVAGES!!!!!

b.t.w., if you read my post properly, you would have seen I said that most of the protestors are not farmworkers, but "rent a crowed" bussed in from other sentra with the sole mandate to disrupt and destroy.

As far as the 'elitist white okes on the bicycles' comment is concerned, tongue was firmly in the cheek. But you cannot argue the fact that that is how it is seen by the broader spectrum of non cyclist's.

So you guys can get off your moral high horses and sees this for what it is.

You sound pretty gatvol, eh?

huh.png

Talks are under way and strikes are supposed to be suspended, but I don't think the news has spread to the protesters...

Any other updates there, splat?

There was still plenty of action in various places yesterday, including Swellendam. But the interwebs news sites weren't saying much about it. I have no idea what is happening today.

Thanx, man.

All to be revealed.

You have no idea. cursing.gif cursing.gif cursing.gif cursing.gif

Hope you find some peace, Bru.

The world is really intense right now - in many many spheres.

Seems race org is biding its time on this one ... no official comms to date.

Cancelling would be disappointing but safety must definitely be priority.

Yeah, very precarious situation.

No mention made by organizers.

Edited by Puncheur

Seems race org is biding its time on this one ... no official comms to date.

Cancelling would be disappointing but safety must definitely be priority.

By now most of you will be aware of the unrest that is plaguing the area in and around Swellendam, Ashton and Robertson. These areas all form part of the Coronation Double Century route.

We are monitoring the situation on an ongoing basis with both the Provincial and Local authorities. While it is extremely difficult for us to predict what will happen over the next few days, we are proceeding with our plans for the race as scheduled.

Should the unrest continue, a decision on the continuation of the event will be made in the latter half of next week.

Our most important priority is the safety and wellbeing of our participants, backup crew and spectators. Any decision will be taken together with the relevant authorities concerned and with the aforementioned in mind.

We would love to be able to assure you that the event will continue but we must be cognisant of all that is happening around us and elements over which we have no control. We remain optimistic that the situation will stabilise and that we will be welcoming you all to Swellendam next week.

Yours in Safe Cycling

The Coronation Double Century Organising Team

When there wasn't unrest , the locals would throw stones and shoot at us with katty's, on the DC. Sure these were isolated incidents but makes you think,doesn't it????

Edited by headhunter