Ultra Poormans XX1

Flowta

Been running my XT1x10 for about 8months now :thumbup:

absolutely flawless setup

34 Wofltooth Chain ring

11-36 XT cassette

Clutch XT rear mech

Minimal weight loss, reduces chainsuck tremendously in muddy conditions, easy to clean the bike but for me the winner of this setup was it reduces unnecessary gear shifting.

aaaaaand yet to drop a chain :clap:

Contemplating 36T upfront and 42T on rear.

But it might affect shifting performance!

• Replies 172

Ok so here is a question for the knowledgeable folk.... :ph34r: :ph34r:

Would it be possible to take say a Sram Force 22 or even a Shimano Ultegra 11speed cassette and bastardise it a bit. They are both available in 11 x 32 and fits on a standard freebody.

They both available in 11-32 and the SRAM one looks like this:

By bastardise I mean to make up your own ratios by removing some and add a 36 and 42 like on a 1 x 10 conversion...

So for instance you will then do this on a 11 speed roadie cassette 11-32: 11,12,13,14,15,17,19,22,25,28,32,add a 36 and 42

Obviously I know you still need the 11 speed shifter and RD but just wanna know if you think it will work.... Eliminating the XD driver.... Cant see why it shouldn't work and it will still be cheaper than the XX1 and even XO1 cassettes.

Would it be possible to take say a Sram Force 22 or even a Shimano Ultegra 11speed cassette and bastardise it a bit. They are both available in 11 x 32 and fits on a standard freebody.

By bastardise I mean to make up your own ratios by removing some and add a 36 and 42 like on a 1 x 10 conversion...

So for instance you will then do this on a 11 speed roadie cassette 11-32: 11,12,13,14,15,17,19,22,25,28,32,add a 36 and 42

Obviously I know you still need the 11 speed shifter and RD but just wanna know if you think it will work.... Eliminating the XD driver.... Cant see why it shouldn't work and it will still be cheaper than the XX1 and even XO1 cassettes.

Tjop!

Tjop!

:P

http://blogs.food24.com/ninaskitchen/files/2011/09/c35cd369-eaf3-4256-b14c-f40bb01ed89d.jpg

You could do, but then you wouldn't have the benefit of the 10t sprocket

Im not fast enough for a 10 in any case :whistling:

Lol, I hear you

BTW: I STILL have your tyre

Lol, I hear you

BTW: I STILL have your tyre

Eish I keep forgetting.... Sending one of my guys around to come pick up quickly... Just be on the lookout for a ginger ninja :ph34r:

Not at the office today, will be there tomorrow though

• 3 weeks later...

Die posman het sommer vandag my OneUp component by de huis kom aflewer! Geen tax.... Seker net gelukkig dink ek! Jammer familie, pappa ry die naweek fiets!

post-39156-0-58421600-1403799158_thumb.jpg

post-39156-0-70271000-1403799211_thumb.jpg

Ok, so where did you get the 41?

Please share, this is vital info

you can look on evobike's website they have the same 41t sprocket

its not worth it to use the general lee cassette adapter it weights 190g !!! Thats ridiculous , your actually making your bike heavier with a smaller gear range....does not make sense at all..

Die posman het sommer vandag my OneUp component by de huis kom aflewer! Geen tax.... Seker net gelukkig dink ek! Jammer familie, pappa ry die naweek fiets!

Hoe lank het jy gewag. Ek het n 40 bestel en wag al amper 3 weke.

Ek het die 5de bestel, so 3weke

its not worth it to use the general lee cassette adapter it weights 190g !!! Thats ridiculous , your actually making your bike heavier with a smaller gear range....does not make sense at all..

Have you taken into account removing the 3 (Shimano) or 4 (SRAM) biggest sprockets on the cassette?