Bike cleaning - Groupset, Cassette etc

:blush: Guess what...I dont have a multi tool (not one that I carry with me when riding). I am getting one with the same order. So far I ride with a few people who do have so I have been reliant on them.

From above then I would need to buy new powerlinks for my chain (Tiagra 4600 10 Speed) and keep with me just in case I ever experience a broken chain while riding).

No don't get powerlinks from sram, get this one...much easier to remove and fit

http://www.wiggle.com/wippermann-connex-chain-link-10-speed/

Yes get a multitool...when you need one, nothing else will do...get a chainwhip and lockring remover...Trust me you will use these tool alot and its not a waste

• Replies 110

From what i have read, the chain whip is needed for the cassette, and it seems more for removing individual rings on the cassette. I have also noted that the whip makes it easier to put the cassette back, but some people use an old chain or heavy cloth. Would I be able to manage without a chain whip?
Chain whip is for removing whole cassette, but this usually made of more than one piece. The chain whip is to stop the cassette turning when you use the casette removal tool on the lock ring. You don't need a chain whip to put the casette back on. Would recommend getting it making a chain whip as the leverage needed to remove the lock ring can be quite a bit.

Would recommend you keep a spare tube with you (even if you are running tubeless).

Edited by garrethk

wow - you okes have too much time on your hands.

I was browsing around one day and read on the Santa Cruz site under the technical tips where they discussed this and they recommend not washing too much or too often i.e. not every week. And if you do, then hose it down and leave it

Kleen green and hose after the end of a weekend ride. Problem solved.

Thanks for all the info. Never thought that a simple thing like cleaning my bike would reveal such a wealth of knowledge.

I am doing everything properly (although slowly at times due to budget restraints), so I will buy a chain whip and cassette remover next month. This month I need another pair of shorts (only have 1), and I think the multi tool is more urgent. Ill borrow the tools I need for the clean from a friend for this clean. Links shouldnt be too expensive from my LBS.

Thanks for all the info. Never thought that a simple thing like cleaning my bike would reveal such a wealth of knowledge.

I am doing everything properly (although slowly at times due to budget restraints), so I will buy a chain whip and cassette remover next month. This month I need another pair of shorts (only have 1), and I think the multi tool is more urgent. Ill borrow the tools I need for the clean from a friend for this clean. Links shouldnt be too expensive from my LBS.

No sweat, its more like trail and error to be honest, and you pick this up quick once you start servicing your own bike....It start with cleaning and fitting cassettes, breaking chains and doing tubeless conversions...then you start cleaning and servicing your BB and bleeding your own brakes, servicing or installing headsets, installing cable inners and outers and setting deraileurs and moves on to servcing forks, shocks, pivots and wheel hubs. It really is lekker if you can overhaul your own machine, its almost therapeutic and you save mountains of cash

:thumbup:

Edited by rouxtjie

wow - you okes have too much time on your hands.

I was browsing around one day and read on the Santa Cruz site under the technical tips where they discussed this and they recommend not washing too much or too often i.e. not every week. And if you do, then hose it down and leave it

Kleen green and hose after the end of a weekend ride. Problem solved.

No, its actually lekker for me, couple of beers, mixfm on a little dradeloos...therapeutic if you must. Let us know how it works out for you

No sweat, its more like trail and error to be honest, and you pick this up quick once you start servicing your own bike....It start with cleaning and fitting cassettes, breaking chains...then you start cleaning and servicing your BB and bleeding your own brakes, installing cable inners and setting deraileurs and moves on to servcing forks, shocks and pivots. It really is lekker if you can overhaul your own machine, its almost therapeutic and you save mountains of cash

:thumbup:

I only have the 2 roadbikes at the moment so they are a lot less complex than the MTB. I built up a couple of cheap bikes as a kid, so I am comfortable tinkering with the bike, Technology has obviously advanced and I will need to read up on whatever it is I intend on fiddling with.

I have arranged to fetch the tools from my mate tomorrow. My wife is going to sleep at her mums tomorrow as sister is in town. So tomorrow night I will spend with my bike and a 6 pack or so.

I only have the 2 roadbikes at the moment so they are a lot less complex than the MTB. I built up a couple of cheap bikes as a kid, so I am comfortable tinkering with the bike, Technology has obviously advanced and I will need to read up on whatever it is I intend on fiddling with.

I have arranged to fetch the tools from my mate tomorrow. My wife is going to sleep at her mums tomorrow as sister is in town. So tomorrow night I will spend with my bike and a 6 pack or so.

Great stuff and don't forget...degree by google. I have had to use google and youtube lots whilst figuring out how stuff works, but once you understand and can do it, you are sorted

Chain whip is for removing whole cassette, but this usually made of more than one piece. The chain whip is to stop the cassette turning when you use the casette removal tool on the lock ring. You don't need a chain whip to put the casette back on. Would recommend getting it making a chain whip as the leverage needed to remove the lock ring can be quite a bit.

Would recommend you keep a spare tube with you (even if you are running tubeless).

Not sure what you mean by the "leverage needed". I am sure you can make it as long as you want, but 300 mm is plenty. Should not take more than 10 min to make.

post-36242-0-48986100-1379684844_thumb.jpg

No, the chainwip is used to apply force in the opposite direction than the lockring remover. With the wheel infront of you, you push down on the chainwip which is on your left and push down on the lockring remover which is on your right. If you don't have the chainwip the freewheel will just spin with the force you put down on the lockring remover. I don't think a cloth will do to be honest, and its used to remove the cassette as a whole not individual cogs in the cassette. Once the lockring is unscrewed you cant take the whole cassette off which fits over the freewheel body

Does one need to use the chain whip to re tighten the casette lock nut? I usually tighten without the chain whip, as you are now rotating against the free hub and can just hold the wheel tight to resist.

Ok cool, lets focus on the chain, cassette and crank(ring in particular)

You need

1 x bottle car shampoo(non waxy kind, motoquip makes 5L that works quite nice...not sunlight soap please)

1 x bottle degreaser(clean green will do)

1 x quicklink installed in your chain already that enables you to remove and install the chain in seconds

1 x brush set, parktool makes a pretty nice pack for about 200 zars

1 x bakkie that you can put clean green into..Butro ones work well

1 x lockring remover tool

1 x chainwhip

Take chain off bike and put in bakkie, cover with cleangreen and put lid on, leave it for a couple of hours. Go and wash bike as per usual with new brush set and car shampoo, scrup all the parts but make sure to have a brush that you will always use just for the parts that are greasy, don't use that for the rest of the bike...Scrub as clean as you can and rinse with water....NO PRESSURE HOSE AND NO CLEANGREAN OR DEGREASER. Remove cassette from freewheel using whip and lockring tool. Using clean green and brush to really get between the cogs and into all the gaps. wash with water. Put cassette back with lockring tool. Your crank should be easy to clean with a rag since there is not chain on the bike. Wipe clean between teeth and rings.

After a couple of hours, remove chain from cleangreen bath, rinse under a warm tap for about 2min. Dry chain with rag and install with quicklink.

Job done

Is Clean Green not an abrasive cleaning agent? I use Prepsol, and works like a charm....