Classic Lugged Steel - Basso Fior di Loto

cape

First of all I’d like to say hello to everyone here. I’m a part-time refugee from a local fixed gear forum. As temperatures here drop below zero, people start arguing on the internet instead of going out and riding. It only takes a few adolescent c**** who think trolling is funny to make visiting the forum a very unpleasant experience.

So here’s the frame, a 90' Fior di Loto (literally: lotus flower) built by Basso. This will be my first fixed gear project and I’ll be happy to share it with you. I have some previous experience with geared bikes, both road and mtb.

http://i.imgur.com/fgRL6Q1.jpg

The frame is built with Columbus SLX tubing and has a standard road geometry.

http://i.imgur.com/QtejBDB.jpg

The frame has some minor wear, paint chips and such. No dings or dents however. I bought it from a guy who looked a bit like Tommy Tiernan did when he was young. I think it was the haircut. He even supplied a matching Silva bottle holder with the frame.

http://i.imgur.com/w4CvSZO.jpg

I personally think this frame deserves classic parts from somewhat same era. I actually do have some Galli/ITM components from early 80’s in my stash. What do you think?

PS. I have no idea about the informative value of the photos :P

Edited by cape

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome to the forum.

Looks very nice. I agree on the classic parts to build it up.

Post some more when you start the build.

Nice ride.

Love the seat clamp lug and SLX is just about as good as it gets...

I reckon Campag all the way, maybe with some Delta brake callipers ...

Keep the pics coming.

Oh and welcome to the Hub

What's her serial number?

Apparently BASSO was one of the few manufacturers where the serial numbers meant anything. Seems the first two denote the date of manufacture.

Seems to be correct, at least for the frames I have, they date from mid 80s to mid 90s.