Fedgroup Berg & Bush 2014 questions

Squier

• Replies 248

Very sad to see that. It was a big reality check cycling past the medics trying to revive him. Condolences to Etienne de Villier's family, friends & especially his partner that had to go through that.

On a lighter note what is next? First stage race, check...Conquered Spionkop & had a challenging 2nd day with my rear gears not changing for about 28km as the cable had come lose.

Very sad to see that. It was a big reality check cycling past the medics trying to revive him. Condolences to Etienne de Villier's family, friends & especially his partner that had to go through that.

On a lighter note what is next? First stage race, check...Conquered Spionkop & had a challenging 2nd day with my rear gears not changing for about 28km as the cable had come lose.

Yoh.. yes my brother and his wife also passed as they were trying to revive him.

I got a big skrik, we were waiting and waiting for them to come in when someone told us someone had died and I went into a slight panic because my boet and them weren't in yet. I sommer ran up to him when he came in and hugged him.

Shows you that anything can happen at any time.

Yip, saw him and his partner sit under a tree before the medics arrived. Partner said that his HR was very high and that they are just resting and waiting for it to drop. Strange thing is they passed my wife and I just a few kilometres before and were looking strong. Even complimented them on their effort and performance.

Very sad. Condolences to the family and friends.

I chatted to one of the guys that gave him CPR, it had a most profound effect on him as he was roughly the same age and doing his first stage race. A nurse and then a doctor took over from him but it was clear that Etienne had already passed. It is sad but unfortunately also reality and in most cases there is very little you can do about it but get on with life. Gary Green shared Etienne's comment to his partner just before the heart attack he said "Man , it can't get better than this!" . I can only agree and hopefully family and friends can celebrate a life well lived.

Trying to list the highlights of the b and b, but so hard to choose. All in all again an amazing event with fantastic trails. . Puff adder pass still is just incredible and I had no traffic (one guy made way for me right at the beginning) so I had a clear run all the way.

I'm jealous, I had one guy give me track but I soon caught a group of slower riders so I only had about a quarter of it at pace. Ah well, next year! But on the positive side I had a full go at Long Drop and Snake Bite. We had two rather nervous ladies on Bell Run who were having their own fun albeit slower than we would have liked. I managed to get passed them and tried to double jump the last jump with a front wheel landing that I would rather forget!

I had traffic on the whole of spioenkop descent, but it wasn't all bad and they weren't too slow, I was rather knackered so maybe a blessing in disguise as when I get tired I tend to make mistakes. But I am happy to report I kept the rubber side down all weekend.

Well done wrt the rubber........10kms from end on day 2.......mine saw the blue skies.......on a straight singletrack just after the last refreshment point........plot size approximately 6x1m. Naughty bike......have reported her to the Sheriff and is now in custody.

Oh man, hope you are okay.

How did you fall?.. or sorry what made the bike do silly things

Oh man, hope you are okay.

How did you fall?.. or sorry what made the bike do silly things

A bit of blood on the knee.......banged it very hard against the handle bar (pic proof on request -Hub rules). One can call it a puncture wound, no cut, but nice hole. Had blood squirting out, but arm warmers make for good compression bandages. Damn bike's autopilot malfunctioned and couldn't bunny hop a dried mud section the height of a cerb next to the single track. Kaboom!

PS: Congrats on 31-MT result

A bit of blood on the knee.......banged it very hard against the handle bar (pic proof on request -Hub rules). One can call it a puncture wound, no cut, but nice hole. Had blood squirting out, but arm warmers make for good compression bandages. Damn bike's autopilot malfunctioned and couldn't bunny hop a dried mud section the height of a cerb next to the single track. Kaboom!

PS: Congrats on 31-MT result

Aye. . Silly autopilot. . Glad to hear you aren't banged up too badly. .

PS thx.. was that our final position?.. cool not too bad, we forgot to change our category to spouses.. But had a seriously lekker ride.

Day 1 is just tough for us.. all that climbing we have nothing to train on that is nearly like that.. only slimsdams and wind.. also the smoking doesn't help.. but we are working up the mental strength to quit lol

PPS... pic request for the eina [emoji6]

Aye. . Silly autopilot. . Glad to hear you aren't banged up too badly. .

PS thx.. was that our final position?.. cool not too bad, we forgot to change our category to spouses.. But had a seriously lekker ride.

Day 1 is just tough for us.. all that climbing we have nothing to train on that is nearly like that.. only slimsdams and wind.. also the smoking doesn't help.. but we are working up the mental strength to quit lol

PPS... pic request for the eina [emoji6]

NOTICE TO SENSITIVE VIEWERS.......IF YOU SEE THIS........IT IS TOO LATE!

(......and yes, I am an aspiring VEET model in training)

post-41755-0-57145200-1413830590_thumb.jpg