2015 magalies monster

Runbikeswim

• Replies 475

How tough is the 45?

Other than last year's JUMA (had an awesome time but not sure if you can call that a race?) this will be my first event. In order to get my boet and some others involved, we elected to do the 45 to hopefully ease into things and not kill ourselves attempting the big one straight up. The numbers seem reasonable enough - 45km with +- 800m gain but I'm guessing it's the terrain that is the killer on this one? Any tips or pointers for some noob 45ers?

How tough is the 45?

Other than last year's JUMA (had an awesome time but not sure if you can call that a race?) this will be my first event. In order to get my boet and some others involved, we elected to do the 45 to hopefully ease into things and not kill ourselves attempting the big one straight up. The numbers seem reasonable enough - 45km with +- 800m gain but I'm guessing it's the terrain that is the killer on this one? Any tips or pointers for some noob 45ers?

Tough but nice, do not push to hard in the beginning as at the end there is a nasty climb to the cellphone tower. Your seeding will dictate where you start. If you are seeded lower be prepared to walk some of these uphills as most people if they just smell a climb they get off their bikes and push.

Sorry, another noob question - we're meant to print out the tickets and CSA licenses and then what? Simply present them on the day or is there something we're meant to do with that beforehand? Also, I take it I should have my racetec chip with me on the day? What about my boet who doesn't have a chip?

You will need to show the ticket to get your racepack at registration.

No Racetec they only do the bigger roadraces. It will be SASeeding so they will supply you with a number board to attach to your bike.

How tough is the 45?

Not sure if you can call this one easing into things.

I would say you need to prepare to be out there 03:30 plus if I read your mail correctly.

Not saying I am experienced only my second MTB 45km as well.

You will need to show the ticket to get your racepack at registration.

No Racetec they only do the bigger roadraces. It will be SASeeding so they will supply you with a number board to attach to your bike.

Thanks. Registration being at the event on the day?

Not sure if you can call this one easing into things.

I would say you need to prepare to be out there 03:30 plus if I read your mail correctly.

Not saying I am experienced only my second MTB 45km as well.

Haha! Yes, I hear you on the not easing in bit. Oh well... :ph34r:

Arrive at the venue at 03:30? Eish. I was thinking of early but really?

I mean being out on the bike for 3:30.

Winning time last year around 2:30.

Oh, pffft! Ya, well uh, my noobness shining through there again.  :ph34r:

Ya, that's ok. I'm quite used to being out on the bike for 3:30 so no problems there. Finishing and being able to have a laugh about it on the same day is all I'm really aiming for here.  :lol:

Haha! Yes, I hear you on the not easing in bit. Oh well... :ph34r:

Arrive at the venue at 03:30? Eish. I was thinking of early but really?

03:30?! 

START DETAILS:

DATE: SATURDAY 23 MAY 2015 

VENUE: ATKV BUFFELSPOORT ( DIRECTIONS HERE )

GPS LOCATION: 25˚45'46.2"S / 27˚29'26.8"E

+/-74km START TIME: 08:00am (Batch Starts)

+/-40km START TIME: 09:00am (Batch Starts)

+/-20km START TIME: 09:30am (Mass Start)

Definitley no need to be there that early. 

I am really not in good shape at all, going to do the 80km as the start of the Transbavians training. the next week is the Bundu bash and the following the VGaalens ultra.. gonna be a rough few weeks..

03:30?! 

START DETAILS:

DATE: SATURDAY 23 MAY 2015 

VENUE: ATKV BUFFELSPOORT ( DIRECTIONS HERE )

GPS LOCATION: 25˚45'46.2"S / 27˚29'26.8"E

+/-74km START TIME: 08:00am (Batch Starts)

+/-40km START TIME: 09:00am (Batch Starts)

+/-20km START TIME: 09:30am (Mass Start)

Definitley no need to be there that early. 

Ya, sorry, that was my bad. I was confuzzled there.

So - registration is at the event? What time d'ya guys suppose that will kick off? I'm coming from fourways side so I need to get cracking early. Maybe just not 03:30 early. lol

I am really not in good shape at all, going to do the 80km as the start of the Transbavians training. the next week is the Bundu bash and the following the VGaalens ultra.. gonna be a rough few weeks..

That makes 2 of us.. life happens and as I got my training going lekker. It came to a halt for almost 2 weeks.. plus I am about 4kg heavier than I was last yr. Will suffer through the 80km and just bloody hope to finish even if it takes all day.

Last years winning time was a 2:06 for the 45

Yes racepack and registration at event or day before somewhere else.

If I start at 8:00 for the 45 (still awaiting batch info), then I will make sure I'm there at 7:00 to get race number and pack.