Geographical differences of MTBing

SuperDooperSnooper

Good morning to all my fellow Hubbers!

Recently I travelled inland to visit relatives where I spent some time in Gauteng and Mpumalanga. It was at the start of a long weekend so saw a lot of bikes on cars and my interest in the sport combined with natural curiosity made me pay some attention as to what kind of bikes were ferried around.

I noticed something interesting about the mountain bikes strapped to cars: they were mostly hardtails! I think I only saw two full suspension bikes amongst the hundreds.

Now I don't know whether it was just a coincidence or due to my fading eyesight, but it seemed as if there is a much bigger lean towards hardtails in that part of the country than what I am used to see in the Western Cape.

Anyone ever noticed this? And if so what is the main reason for the difference in choice?

I would like to maybe start a poll to see what types of mountain bikes are ridden/owned in which parts of the country. Maybe almost like an AA meeting: "Hi I'm from Cape Town and rise a full sus." Irrespective of brand, purely to look at different suspension setups for different geographical areas?

BTW I'm not discriminating against Road bikes, I just don't know that much about them to notice these kind of obvious differences.

I appreciate your comments.

• Replies 70

I'm in GP: full suss 29er XC. I only wanted one bike though, otherwise I'd have gone HT XC and dual suss trail bike.

There's definitely more HTs here than anything else from what I've seen, but I think that's more a price point than anything else. Go chat to your LBS and ask them which they sell more of, I did and the difference was unexpectedly large (I think it was something in the region of 8 HT for every dual suss). This is not to say there's a shortage of dualies, full rigid, etc..

my uninformed opinion

You can buy a lekker windgat HT for a fraction of a DS price.

Here on the coast I ride a 26 HT on nice kronkel paaitjies were I stand on the peddles 70% of the time, no need for DS. 

Gauteng: for the past 9 years I have ridden a 140mm travel dual sus more than any other bike. Most of the guys I ride with are the same. Bikes usually perched on roof rack or slung over the tailgate of a bakkie. :D

I have

26" and 650B dual suspension trail bikes

26" hardtail trail bike

my uninformed opinion

You can buy a lekker windgat HT for a fraction of a DS price.

Here on the coast I ride a 26 HT on nice kronkel paaitjies were I stand on the peddles 70% of the time, no need for DS. 

Hit the nail right on the head

Karkloof/Howick

I ride a 29r Full Suss (100mm)

But there are an ever increasing number of 650b trail bikes appearing, suits the area.