This post refers: https://www.bikehub.co.za/forum_posts.asp?TID=27505&KW=suikerbossie

I was the unfortunate cyclist involved. A motorbike hit me from behind whilst cycling up Suikerbossie (Victoria rd) Hout Bay on Sunday 8th June. The course of events was as follows:

About 7 motorbikes (I'm lead to believe) were riding up Suikerbossie when one of them lost control because of a flat tyre. The bike slid out from under him which in turn hit me. I was at the wrong place at the wrong time (well within the yellow line). It was just a freak accident. My bike was totalled; rear wheel shattered on impact and I sustained fractures of both my shoulders (scapula) and major brusing. I was very lucky as it could have been a lot worse! I am well on the mend and will start physio on my left shoulder & arm (the worst break) next week. No spine or head injury (thanks helmet). Anyway to cut a long story short, the reason for this post is that I have also now experienced first hand the apathy and shoddy work that our SAPS give us as citizens.........

At the scene of the accident there were, apart from an ambulance, fire rescue, NSRI (?) and tow away vehicles and 2, yes 2 police vehicles. I was of course told this afterwards as I was imobilised at the time. Our friends in blue then enquired from someone at the scene what had happened and were told that "a cyclist came off his bike" and promptly decided that statements and an accident report was not required. The fact that my beautiful Spec Tarmac SL was a crumpled mess and I had hospital injuries which could not be sustained by falling off (up hill!) as well as the fact that the motorbike had to be removed by a bakkie did not raise any questions!

Well the long and the short of it is that I currently don't have a clue who the biker is and can therefore not institute a claim of any sort.

I would greatly appreciate it if anybody can assist as a witness or passer by who may have taken down details etc. I know the chances are remote...

Thanks.

Rusco, good luck on the road to recovery.  Once again your story, as so many mentioned here involving accidents, is 100% proof that the SAPS see cyclists as "sub human".

Rusco' date=' good luck on the road to recovery.  Once again your story, as so many mentioned here involving accidents, is 100% proof that the SAPS see cyclists as "sub human".

Hey - don't be unfair on the SAPS here, dude!!! Don't confuse incompetence and

laziness for bias!!! Wink

It's simply a reflection of the typical level of poor service from the SAPS...

I don't agree. At all. 

Police members who attend to accident scene where people are severly injured are always left with the puzzle pieces of finding the who, what where and why.

In your case, I think it is only fair to state that it is possible that one of the seven motorcyclist who stayed behind on the scene misled the SAPS members on the scene in stating that you came off your bike. The probibility does excist that the biker who allegedly lost control of his bike was pissed out of his mind. I have several biker friends and know all to well that when they do go for a breakfast run, as I presume it to be, they drink. And they drink a lot.

I hope that you are ok though. Ok in the sense that you are physically healing and will soon rejoin us on the roads.

Also, have you enquired by the police about the AR (Accident Report) that the biker would have had to complete if he indeed was involved in an accident? Was he injured at all? If so, which hospital did he go to?

Rusco' date=' good luck on the road to recovery.  Once again your story, as so many mentioned here involving accidents, is 100% proof that the SAPS see cyclists as "sub human".

jmac, the SAPS and Jhb Metro is extremely biased towards cyclists.  We are seen as "sub human" and should not be on the road.....  When I went to the cops after my accident I was asked (1) why was I on a bike as "you" shouldn't be allowed on the road and (2) why should they do all the paper work.  No mate, 99% of these okes are biased and lazy!

Rusco' date=' good luck on the road to recovery.  Once again your story, as so many mentioned here involving accidents, is 100% proof that the SAPS see cyclists as "sub human". [/quote']

jmac, the SAPS and Jhb Metro is extremely biased towards cyclists.  We are seen as "sub human" and should not be on the road.....  When I went to the cops after my accident I was asked (1) why was I on a bike as "you" shouldn't be allowed on the road and (2) why should they do all the paper work.  No mate, 99% of these okes are biased and lazy!

That's nice. Maybe you should get to know police officers before you pass judgement like that.Ouch

Rusco' date=' good luck on the road to recovery.  Once again your story, as so many mentioned here involving accidents, is 100% proof that the SAPS see cyclists as "sub human". [/quote']

That's nice. Maybe you should get to know police officers before you pass judgement like that.Ouch

Tromps, please note, I don't say all are like that!!!!!  But do yourself a favor and walk into a C/O as a member of the public (I know your in the SAPS) and try to get something done, EISH! 

Same at accident scenes (which I've had to stop at quite a few times the last while as the sister had to help out).  The cops are apathetic to the victims and the other emergency people.

Unfortunately this is the FACE that the public sees and this is hurting the guy that does the job endlessly.

O, b.t.w. I grew up in a "uniformed" house, and I have PLENTY police friends.....

jmac' date=' the SAPS and Jhb Metro is extremely biased towards cyclists.  We are seen as "sub human" and should not be on the road.....  When I went to the cops after my accident I was asked (1) why was I on a bike as "you" shouldn't be allowed on the road and (2) why should they do all the paper work.  No mate, 99% of these okes are biased and lazy!

I agree. I got nailed by a drunk driver who hit another car that spun across the

road and then took me out. A week in intensive care and 4 months rehab.

Ripped up face, broken knee cap, multiple leg, hand and foot fractures...

The guy was so p*ssed he couldn't stand.

What did the SAPS and Metro guys do? They let him go because it was time for

them to knock off.

Why do I have a low opinion of them? Go figure...

DISCLAIMER: not all are bad, but more than enough to give them a really bad name.

There are good ones, but boy, I feel sorry for them...

jmaccelari2008-07-01 07:14:42

jmac' date=' the SAPS and Jhb Metro is extremely biased towards cyclists.  We are seen as "sub human" and should not be on the road.....  When I went to the cops after my accident I was asked (1) why was I on a bike as "you" shouldn't be allowed on the road and (2) why should they do all the paper work.  No mate, 99% of these okes are biased and lazy!

I agree. I got nailed by a drunk driver who hit another car that spun across the
road and then took me out. A week in intensive care and 4 months rehab.
Ripped up face, broken knee cap, multiple leg, hand and foot fractures...

The guy was so p*ssed he couldn't stand.

What did the SAPS and Metro guys do? They let him go because it was time for
them to knock off.

Why do I have a low opinion of them? Go figure...

DISCLAIMER: not all are bad, but more than enough to give them a really bad name.
There are good ones, but boy, I feel sorry for them...

I always find it so strange that people want to complain about things after the fact. No, I don't think or agree that what was done after what had happened in several cases were the right course of action that was taken. And yes, many of the members in the SAPS are lazy and not willing to work over time or push the extra mile.

I can write you several pages on reasons why police members are the way they are. But I'm not interested in that.

The simple reason is this, if you are not happy with the degree and level of service delivered to you, you are entitled to complain about it to the ICD. They will respond to you and they love pushing such things towards the media.

If this does not work, go my route. GEt Deborah Patter to ask some questions. Funny how things quickly come right after then.

Tromps, how does one get to ICD?  If you complain, you're just told "you can try to take it further sir, but it WILL have consequences!"

I always find it so strange that people want to complain about things after the fact...

I don't want to get into a flame war here, but it was a little difficult complaining

at the time - I was unconscious. I only woke up in intensive care.

I was informed by the SAPS that the accident had been attended to, but when I got

out of hospital two weeks later, I found nothing had actually been done. I had been

lied to by a bunch of guys I was trusting to do their job when I couldn't do it for them.

As to why the SAPS are full of people like this, I also have my theories. Maybe we

should meet over (several) drinks to share our thoughts... Wink

PeeWee, you're spitting into the wind on this one Mate. You would have more luck convincing BigH that he likes Campagnolo.... so take a deep breath and move on.

Tromps, face it, the reason the competent SAPS guys leave is that they are often embarrassed by their colleagues. they also get frustrted by them doing their jobs and colleagues not and yet the colleagues get the promotions. i know of a number of guys and gals who have quit SAPS for this reason. this is also why, when i do get decent service from any of them i'm quick to compliment them.

Get a claim in with the Road Accident Fund through a lawyer, in a couple of years you will get some compensation.