Sportsman's Warehouse (pathetic service)

hagar

• Replies 41

Reading this thread gives me confidence in my Garmin - not that I have had any problems with it. I have had my Edge 305 for 15 months now. I only ride Mtb offroad and the unit, HR monitor and cadence sensor is still perfect. 

I spoke to Hagar this morning to help him out with his unit. He had found out that the unit had just been delivered to Avnic CT. Maybe Avnic CT will upgrade him to a 705 for all his hassles and riding around.

To be fair though, as with Muxman, I don't think this is Garmin/Avnic's fault. Yet they still upgraded Muxman, now that is good service. As everyone knows, I put my nuts on the block when it comes to their service. I think it's hard for them to babysit their dealers. The dealers should look after their own name!

Hagar please contact me on 011 251 9999. Jason Theunissen; Sales Director

Yay for Garmin.

That line there is enough to convince me to get one.

I spoke to Hagar this morning to help him out with his unit. He had found out that the unit had just been delivered to Avnic CT. Maybe Avnic CT will upgrade him to a 705 for all his hassles and riding around.

To be fair though' date=' as with Muxman, I don't think this is Garmin/Avnic's fault. Yet they still upgraded Muxman, now that is good service. As everyone knows, I put my nuts on the block when it comes to their service. I think it's hard for them to babysit their dealers. The dealers should look after their own name!

yes thanks for the number I called them just after I had spoken to you and  begged them not to let me deal with those lot of incompetent lot at Sportsman's warehouse.

I Sure that Avnic give good service I suppose I should have dealt directly with them in the first place then I would not have had this problem.

I thought that it was simple as they are both in cape town and with me being 120km away it would not take so long to fix as it was only the sound alarm that went cucoo !!!

when you get used to something and you fall in love with it its like part of you is missing CryCry

Hell yes I am lost without my GARMINCryCryCry

I have had to borrow a Polar from my lady friend cos i dont like to train without a HR moniter CryCry

I dont like it at all its too damm involved and if you dont download the info it tells you memory full AngryAngryAngry

My first HR moniter was a Cilosport Hac 4 Pro plus and was also a pain in the butt !!!!

ok ok enought of my ranting I just want my GARMIN back klaar en gedaan !!!!

I rest my case and think that Sportsman's need a wakeup call . SERVICE is the name of the game and I practice what I preach .

So thanks guys for all the input and help !!!! See i cant even sleep knowing my Garmin is not here WinkWink no only kidding I got some work to do ship is finishing and I gotta do the figures LOLLOL

hagar2008-09-02 18:09:39

I have a Garmin (purchased at Cape Union Mart) as well as a Polar HRM (purchased at Sportsmans (Big Mistake))

Whenever I have something I want to find out about my Garmin the C U Mart guys in Walmer Park PE are always on top of things and really have good product knowledge.

So now to my Polar HRM needed to replace a battery no problem hand it in at Sportsmans and we will send it away for the replacement battery. I had to pay the courier costs and wait 5-6 weeks to get my unit back. Strange thing is when the battery needed to be replaced again I sent it to IHF Products myself and received it back in like 3-5 days

So is it the supplier or is it just that Sportsmans Wharehouse just SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

That is my oppinion.

yea hear what you say but why fiddle with a Polar if you got a Garmin ???

yes Sportsman's wont see me again in a hurry they are too big and dont give a damm !!!

I just think that if you sell the BEST you must supply the service too. Or tell a person I cant do it for you but if you take it in yourself it will be quicker we dont do Service we only sell the products.

What really freaked me out is that they told me I would have to wait another 3 weeks Angry and the cheeck of it they said they would phone me to tell me what is happening on wednesday afternoon .

i still await the call but I know the unit is at avnic cos they confirmed it so now I can sleep easy Big%20smile ok ok back to work Wink

Big%20smile

I m sure I had a tread with the sme problem with said idiots. Oom I agree. Sportsmans should just close shop. The "we care less than sh!t" feeling you get. They will help you to get their commision, but all ends there!

Good luck Hagar

ja ja Cois i was livid wiff them have calmed down now i know my unit is at Avnic and the will sort me out Big%20smileBig%20smile ASAP its a common problem today I am afraid too much Bad service and we all just say yes sir thank you sir en ons hou ons bekke.

Although i must say i was totally knocked off my feet the other day at Computer Mania in Century City the other day.

I went to get a spare USB to mini usb cable to do the uploads of the Garmin to laptop and i was scratching around in what i presumed were the right cables and this shop assistant came to me and must have seen the puzzled look on my face and asked me what i was looking for .

i told him and he said no sir this is not the right cable you need another type I will find it I know we have them .

So I stood back and he scratched around and after 3 mins he got what I needed. he introduced himself and I said hey man you are good Thanks !!!

ok ok i paid walked out and went to city cycles and i thought i needed more cycling stuff see i was alone with sweetie at home.

now before this i had a gift card given to me for my birthday for r200 from mr price sports and i had been there and saw nothing that tickled my fancy.

So I thought hell man this guy could use that gift better than me so i went back and gave him the gift card and told him it was now his to use !!!

so if you want good service in CT for computer stuff just go to them and see the guy in the back with the big smile i will find out his name and post it here Big%20smileBig%20smile

I have a Garmin (purchased at Cape Union Mart) as well as a Polar HRM (purchased at Sportsmans (Big Mistake))

Whenever I have something I want to find out about my Garmin the C U Mart guys in Walmer Park PE are always on top of things and really have good product knowledge.

So now to my Polar HRM needed to replace a battery no problem hand it in at Sportsmans and we will send it away for the replacement battery. I had to pay the courier costs and wait 5-6 weeks to get my unit back. Strange thing is when the battery needed to be replaced again I sent it to IHF Products myself and received it back in like 3-5 days

So is it the supplier or is it just that Sportsmans Wharehouse just SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

That is my oppinion.

yea hear what you say but why fiddle with a Polar if you got a Garmin ???

yes Sportsman's wont see me again in a hurry they are too big and dont give a damm !!!

I just think that if you sell the BEST you must supply the service too. Or tell a person I cant do it for you but if you take it in yourself it will be quicker we dont do Service we only sell the products.

What really freaked me out is that they told me I would have to wait another 3 weeks Angry and the cheeck of it they said they would phone me to tell me what is happening on wednesday afternoon .

i still await the call but I know the unit is at avnic cos they confirmed it so now I can sleep easy Big%20smile ok ok back to work Wink
Big%20smile

Hagar firstly you and cois really need a good sleeping tablet.Wink

Secondly with regards to the Polar it is no longer a HRM or anything else that it was suposedly designed for it is now just a humble watch.

I don't think I would ever be able to ride my bike without a GarminBig%20smile it is just such an awesome(mat I say awesome) tool as the saying go's I would be lost without my Garmin.

Maybe I should take my Garmin to sportsmansAngry as well then maybe I could also get an upgraded unitEvil%20Smile

LOLLOL yes my dear friend i was working from home "real" work and not this hubbing like some of the hubbers during the wee hours of the morning Wink

yea tis true I am afraid " Lost without my Garmin" CryCry

I did not want to even give it to them i parted with a heavy heart I tell you my eyes were feasting on the other stuff i needed there but "Sweetie" was at close quarters keeping a beady eye on me and pulling at my shirt sleeve telling me she had other chores .

now if I was alone i most probably would have bagged me the new 705 and posted the 305 on classifieds LOLLOL

that "wrist watch" is it not too big for the arm LOLLOL

just a final word on this topic .

i got a call from the sales manager of Sportsman's warehouse and he has apologized for the shocking service and said they take complaints like this seriously and to easy my pain they have a small gift voucher for me .

I just hope they explain to their staff how important service is to the customer.

Very kind of them ClapClapClap

With the guys from Avnic having sorted my problem out pronto all is forgiven and we live another day !!!forgive 7 x 70 !!!

I also got another call from the Wolfman ClapClapClap my hubkit is also enroute and he says it looks awesome so hagar is a heppie chappie Big%20smileBig%20smileBig%20smile

not quite 100% cos i wont have my Garmin yet or my hub kit but next weekend hou my dop LOLLOL

ja nee julle moet lekker ry daar by worcester en ek hoop julle het lekker weer !!!

SERVICE is the name of the game and I practice what I preach .

Next time go to Cyclelab @ Northgate......I've just "converted" and the service there is excellentThumbs%20Up 

I've been waiting for months now for a specific ladies brand saddle...and with in 24 hours since the order was placed I got it...Big%20smile

Now that's what I call:  SERVICE Thumbs%20Up

[

To be fair though' date=' as with Muxman, I don't think this is Garmin/Avnic's fault. Yet they still upgraded Muxman, now that is good service. As everyone knows, I put my nuts on the block when it comes to their service. I think it's hard for them to babysit their dealers. The dealers should look after their own name!
[/quote]

The problem it that if dealers don't look after their name then the products of they sell also suffer. If you get bad service from a shop you tend to remember the product/s associated with your trauma and attach a stigma to them and steer clear of them in the future. Lets hope Garmains name doesn't go up in flames as Sportsmans sinks. They are the biggest bunch rippoffs.....next to hifi corruption and incredible ripoff

Speed Devil2008-09-05 02:30:25