Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

So the bad news is Trubes is sick. Stomach bug. (Hope you get better soon buddy.)

The good news is, he has asked me to race in his (EDIT: PLACE) pace on Sunday. Yeeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

So, Kid, looks like I'll be doing a bunker on you again on Sunday. (This is becoming a habit. Last week with SBR and this week with the race.) Sorry dude. Really.

(Ain't no way I can race at his pace. Too fast for me.)

Slave2009-06-05 02:29:13
  • Replies 9.2k

Fortunately, not a timed race so I can't hurt his seeding. Otherwise I would have opted out of the race and suggested he send Lance in his place.

Well, I rode this morning and what a difference half an hour makes! 7-30 departure is much better than the 7am shiver fest!

Was a pleasure to officially meet Shawn A, who like me wanted to have as relaxed a ride as possible today!

As for Slave...well he seemed quite content to drive the bunch along the Alewynspoort road, despite telling us he was taking it easy today because of the race tomorrow! So Slave and a couple other speed freaks pushed the pace along the back road to the bridge, and then proceeded to carry on with the 'up tempo' pace all the way up the Steps as well!!

I'm curious to hear how the race goes for all the ASGR* riders entered. Slave, I'm hoping your palmares will be as good as your jacket! recieved my jacket from Slave last night and wore it this morning. Very very warm and comfy dude...nice job Missus Slave! I must admit, the wind never got through and I stayed comfy the whole ride. I now see the benefit of the colour as well bro...keeps motorists well informed as to where the Psycholists are! Thanks Slave and Slavette!

Gonna make another custom order dude.

I'm hoping there will be some guys to ride with tomorrow. Went to the coffee shop in Glenvista for breakfast...and was pleasantly surprised to see Darryl Impey. Hope to see him back up there winning again really soon.

*Alberton South Group Riders
GreyOwl2.02009-06-06 04:39:00

hi guys...

long time, jeez you guys never stop on this thread hey;) good to see..

well water polo been keeping me super busy so the riding has taken a major down turn, missing it like mad but just no time..

so off to montenegro next week for world league finals, and then off to rome in july for world champs. so hopefully after that will be back in the saddle, but gotts get all the riding fitness back again, and try do some seeding races before 94.7!!

hope all are doing well, will be back on the road asap..

cheers...

Hey Spaso9, nice to hear from you dude! Good luck for them finals in Montenegro...

By this rate you should be riding again when it starts warming up!!

Later dude...

GOv2.0, dude, shall I give the world the true events of what happened on Saturday?

Why not?

This is what really happened. The bunch that fragmented and went short was tiny. About 7 or seven of us. ShawnA and Go were so busy yakkiing that they were going along at a snails pace. So I just sort of ended up in front even though I was trying to save my legs for Sunday. At the turn for the steps, I had managed to manouver myself in behind GO and ShawnA. Just before the river bridge, GOv2.0 peels off and who ends up in front? Yours bloody truly. Eina. No pace, we crawled up there around 26.

Still it hurt a bit.

Sunday was another disaster.

Got to the start and when we finally kicked off, the bunch went so fast, I bonked withing the first 3 k's. Tried hard to hang on and eventually fell off completely at about 5. Must have been that virus that attacked Trubie. It was havng a devastating effect on me.

Druing my "recovery" another bunch caught up with me and I decided to hang with them. Far more civilised pace for a slowpoke like me. Then we took a wrong turn. Bundu bash to get back to the correct road and almost fell off the bike in some very loose sand. One chap hopped of his bike and carried it across back to the road and I just went after my "new bunch."

Had some very strange junk happening with my gears and chain which forced me to stop. Lost the second bunch. For some time I could not figure the problem which seemed to be a sticky chain link. Found out it didn;t happen on the big chain blade. So no problem, just big blade it all the way.

Still some residual funny noises which I discovered was actually a bent small chain ring,rubbing against the frame but not serious enough to force a stop.

By the time I got mobile again everyone was gone. The whole lot of them. Some of the later bunch starts had caught up to me. Manage to pass them and go after the rest of the gang.

At the 20k mark (the turn point for the 40 k ride, I was tempted to turn back. Managed to keep it going and it was a long lonely ride. Caught and passed some back markers until I met up with "bike carrier." So he jumped onto my wheel and we set off with intent. Only caught up with next back markers at the turn.

At least the ride home would be better since we no longer had to battle the head wind on the way out.

At the turn, average speed 28.7. Stopped for a quick drink and set off again, passing quite a few of the other riders.

Went through a rough patch with about 25 ks to go but stopped at the next water point (if you can call it that) for another quick drink. By this time, Jannie (AKA bike carrier) and I had worked out a good system. I wheel sucked downhill and he wheelsucked uphill. Wierd huh?

Passed several other riders and on the last hill into Sasolburg, Jannie finally popped, while I found some determiniation to end the suffereing.

Now the other thing about this race was the lack of good marshalling. No marhalls at key intersections and I followed the chap in front who I was chasing down. We got lost. (WTF) So we managed to find our way back and finish the race in 2hr 40.

Some might think that there are no hills out in that neck of the woods. I can assure there are. Some long pulls that hurt.

End average speed was around 30.7, so we motored back.

Slave, 1st thing, Trubie is going to smiley18.gifsmiley18.gifsmiley18.gif you. Trubie's average is normally around 40km/h.

2nd thing it's a race, you don't stop for a drink, you ride as fast as you can you only drink once the race if finished smiley36.gifsmiley36.gifsmiley36.gifsmiley36.gif.

What you are actually saying is that you had so many beers on your stops that you didn't have a clue where you were going and were looking for a short cut ???

When is the Fountains race again ? 8 days time, best you fix that Petini of yours.

In the small races the marshalling is normally sad.

I'm glad you kept it together and finished the race, well done!!!!!

Sunday was a disater in more way than one, I left my legs at home, or somewhere else.... smiley3.gif

I still figuring out what happened.

As for the marshalling , that is what happens in the Vaal...

Dude, I am smiley9.gifsmiley18.gif and truth be told, I am moving house today. Trubie is not going to hurt me, he's gonna keel me.

Luckily, it was not a timed event. No timing chips, no timing mats, no medals and not enough marhalls. This may very well be my last post unless I can escape meeting trubie for the next few days.

Besides, he may still be all weak from his tummy bug and I may escape a little while longer.

Fountains is on 16 June and the weather is so smiley35.gif today that I am going to hibernate. The wind is fearsome. All I can say is thank the Good Lord above that it was only moderately windy yesterday. Anyway, I best find some form to have a halfway decent Fountains.

I fixed the bike yesterday when I got home, so that at least is sorted. I don't think they make 43 chain rings any more.

Funny thing is, we had another meat cremation dis-ting with the neighbours on Saturday night and I had a quiet gallon of whisky. They wanted to pary up a storm and couldn't understand that racing on Sunday was more important than getting plastered.

I was so intenet on following Jannie from Fochville that when he turned, the whole bunch went with him. If not for that turn, I would not have bent my chaon ring and I would have had a better race. Jannie was a tremendous help to me and I can only hope I reaid the debt. I really felt for him on that last hill, and once or twice. tried to get him to close the gap. Then I decided that I had suffered enough and t was time to end the pain and suffering.

Still, it was good experience which I needed. Some valuable lessons learned.

Lesson 1. Train -  No matter what Ox tells me, I need to do long distances for fitness. Maybe he can get by without LSD, but I need it. I could feel the lack of doing long rides and bike fitness is necessary.

Lesson 2. More interval training is needed.

LEsson 3. Don't bend the bike on a ride and if you must, as I clearly had great desire to do, find the fault faster and work around it to get going again with a minimum delay.

Lesson 4. Don't just blindly follow Jannie (the cyclist immediately in front of you) unless you're absolutely sure he knows the route.

Lesson 5. Even when the legs feel like they are not capable of hurting any more, there is still something left and pain has no limits.

Lesson 6. Eating on the go is very difficult. I managed to choke down one of my energy bars while riding and never bothered with the other three. It was just too much for me. Walking and chewing bubble gum is difficult enough, eating and riding was mission impossible. Not to mention drinking.

Lesson 7. No matter how much you beg for it, they do not serve whisky at water points.

Morning, all team ASGR members

Slave, glad to see you had fun out south yesterday.

Best you and I have a little chat about race prep before fountains, and stopping at waterpoints - that is so not team ASGR ethics.

Shawn, what happened bru? Sorry I missed out!

Spas - you are a jetsetter china, I thought the doc's were striking cause of money, but seems its because of the fact they dont get as much leave as certain of their colleaguessmiley7.gif

Trubs is back, not in action yet, but perhaps I'll venture outdoors tmrw morning....... blikkies , its cold tdaysmiley11.gif

Sunday was a disater in more way than one' date=' I left my legs at home, or somewhere else.... [img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley3.gif[/img]

I still figuring out what happened.

As for the marshalling , that is what happens in the Vaal...

Dude, you didn't seem to be battling from where I was riding. And if you were (having left your legs at home) please remind me NEVER to even try and keep up with you when you are racing and you have your racing legs. That pace you okes were going at was hectic.

Clearly, I need to go into some more of that secret training. I think I left my legs on the steps on Satuday, along with that evil grin the owl managed when he dropped of the front of our small bunch.
Morning' date=' all team ASGR members

Slave, glad to see you had fun out south yesterday.

Best you and I have a little chat about race prep before fountains, and stopping at waterpoints - that is so not team ASGR ethics.

Shawn, what happened bru? Sorry I missed out!

Spas - you are a jetsetter china, I thought the doc's were striking cause of money, but seems its because of the fact they dont get as much leave as certain of their colleagues[img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley7.gif[/img]

Trubs is back, not in action yet, but perhaps I'll venture outdoors tmrw morning....... blikkies , its cold tdaysmiley11.gif

But coach, I only stopped at two water points. (There were only two)smiley2.gif

I was trying to make up time so was riding hard and the stops were just what the doctor ordered for some recovery. I was able to go again afterwards. smiley19.gif

Seriously, the lack of long slow distances and the weak training schedule I have been on (more like a slow boay to China) has made me see the need for doing longer rides more frequently.smiley9.gif

Seriously dude, the last time I did anything over 60 k's was 22 Apr 2009. Clearly a beega mistaka I maka.smiley18.gif

Since long rides during the week are difficult with shorter daylight hours, I will have to do longer rides on weekends. At least one or two a month of longer than 80 k's.

Saturday I will take a long slow ride to get the bike fitness up and Sunday I will take a nice slow bunch ride, even if I have to hide behind Mona, as a recovery ride and then take Monday for full rest before I go out and do fountains.

Sorry coach, I been lazy. Won't happen again.smiley9.gifsmiley2.gif

Slave - 2:40 not bad for what you describe with all of these problems en al.

Hou goeie moed, I can tell you Fountains will be ok, just make sure we chat beforehand.

I did that same route last year on heritage day - ok we started/ended at Stonehaven, in 2:28, and ended up with a 3:02 94.7 , 2 months later, so you will be ok for a sub 3 in the Nov race.

Take the lessons you learnt to heart, and keep on doing the right things.

Nothing more, nothing less, the reality is (OX take note), there are no short cuts, cycle if you plan on cycling fast.

Shawn, I am sure you and I could have gone sub 2:20smiley2.gifsmiley2.gif, but those damn drags gets to you when you dont have legs on the day. Bad luck.....