Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

• Replies 9.2k

Was a great privelege to meet and greet almost all the regulars on this thread, Agteros, Slave, and Indigo this weekend. Happy riding this week, looking even more forward to the Long ride on the 4th.

So, let me elaborate.

Nuwbie, as it turns out, is a very dark horse. Pretending he was scared of meeting us because the "pace" might be too hot. Right.

The backward Ox was at the meeting place on Saturday and he must have known that Nuwbie is fast and strong. So eager was he to get out of the ride, that he sommer broke not one, but two spokes before the ride even commenced. One spoke, and I would still have tatta ma chance, but two, eish, abort, abort. Houston, we have a problem.

Nuwbie arrived (almost late) looking like he was suitably dressed to go scuba diving, more than going for a ride. Yeah, it was cold and misty.

Now I figured, I am usually a bit of a social loose goose, but Nuwbie takes first prize here. He knew everyone at Xumbugs.

The ride commences and Nuwb hangs back a bit with Spas. Then I look again and he's headed for the front. Allewynspoort and I'm barely hanging on and where is Nuwb, right up front. Hot pace.

The steps and I'm hanging on all the way up, where is Nuwb. Right up front. I'm very stoked because I managed to hang on all the way to the top of the steps, with the fast bunch. Nuwb is really sharpand pops my bubble.

That was a nice slow pace today, he says. Eish I think, I have my work cut our for future rides with this bunch.

I'm going to have to deploy some very serious and top secret training.

Like they were taking it easy because they were racing on Sunday, and I was putting out 100%. Bliksem. I did get dropped at the top of the steps, but I managed to hang on fairly well until then. Imagine this, I'm sweating up a storm, totally drenched and Nuwb has hardly even raised his heart rate, looking cool as a cucumber.

Oxman, you missed a very good ride. Enjoyable even though it was so cold to start out. I can see that you gonna have to share some of thise secret training tips so that I can also go as fast as you. Then maybe, I can run with the big dawgs.

So, who's gonna tell us about the race yesterday? Kid, did you manage to suck that wheel for 78 k's or did the dark horse run away from you too?

An he says Obelix is a strong rider. Perchance, we have to rethink that invite.

Thanks for the nice write up slave, maybe I should take this piece and go find myself a sponsor ne!

I have a slightly different version of this ride, but lets just say you are bending the truth about the Nuwbie slightly.

As for the race - it was hard, somewhat undulating and not so fast as we all expected from the course beforehand.

It was a nice tough workout though, and my legs are hurting today.

You already a fast dog slave, just need to work on staying fast for longer. Never meant to burst your bubble though. Remember everything we talked about and then put it into perspective. Mayeb just a reminder, it was hard! on Sat, but not as fast as it can be was all I tried to say. Meaning I was glad it wasnt faster, because of yesterdays race.

Enjoy the week!

Shawn, for now they still start at 7 am.

Nuwbie tells me that the group I rode with on Saturday go out and do the long loop (past Boscos) at 5:15 and then come back and do the short loop at 7.

Was a bit cold on Sat for the 7am loop. Seriously thinking of the Grizzly bear thing and doing my usual winter hibernation stunt.

Guest Agteros
The backward Ox was at the meeting place on Saturday and he must have known that Nuwbie is fast and strong. So eager was he to get out of the ride' date=' that he sommer broke not one, but two spokes before the ride even commenced. One spoke, and I would still have tatta ma chance, but two, eish, abort, abort. Houston, we have a problem. 

. . .

Oxman, you missed a very good ride. Enjoyable even though it was so cold to start out. I can see that you gonna have to share some of thise secret training tips so that I can also go as fast as you. Then maybe, I can run with the big dawgs.

What can I say? Desperate times calls for desperate measures! smiley36.gif I saw the mist & felt teh cold... had visions of myself clad in booties, leg & arm warmers.... smiley5.gif

Slave, I'm definately gonna join you guys for a fast (and hopefully still short) ride sometime soon. Just need to get through the duathlon this weekend, and a few social engagements smiley2.gif 

Slave , if you wanna put yrself back six months, you must stop now for the winter.

Think of all the hard work you've done up to now.

200k's + per week is not something that just happens.

Get a winter kit, and continue riding, even if its just over weekends.

Its a great feeling retruning from a winter ride and knowing you've conquered it.

The fresh crisp winter air is also very good for the bod.

ps - the group will change the starting time soon, but sat was a bit of an exeption. Yesterday was 21degrees during the race - which is very nice riding conditions

Maybe you need to change your login to AgterHoender.

Chicken man.

And here I was thinking that Nuwb is a social "loose goose". Ne. Social engagements.... Is that just another way of saying you're chicken?

Next time, Huh?

Or change my ride habits to later times of the day on weekends, ne?

I'm a bit scared of the cold dude. The ears are cold magnets, the hands and toes freeze up and let's go no further.

Nuwbie, Spaso & Scotty how was your race ??

I agree with Nuwbie, I was expecting a flater route.

I briefly meet Scotty, he was riding in his hub cycling outfit looking cool.

I was fart assing around and by the time I looked everybody was lined up & I still had to take the bikes out of the bakkie. I eventually got everything sorted but no warm-up, straight into the group.

And off we went, settled into a group and that was magic until the half way point. As we turned around the guys ignited their rockets and I was left behind, eish time to ride alone. Rode alone for about 20km, then a Cycle Lab Club rider came past so I sat on his wheel,he eventually popped likealy there was another Cycle Lab Club rider a few meters ahead so off I went and sat on his wheel then about 10km from the finish a small group of about 5 guys came past and off I went and rode with them until the finish.

So I finished it in 2hr 27min 27sec with an average of about 33km/h (32.8km on the CatEye & 33.1km/s on the GPS).

Then this morning I found out that the front guys (Open Group) probably finished in under 2 hours, one of my gym buddies finished in 2hrs 10min with an average of 38km/h and he wasn't even in the first group.

Eish I need to find another 7km/h ????

Hi Indigo, I suffered in this race and limped home in 2.30, for such a flat route my HR was through the roof. 

The kit does look cool, pity about the model smiley36.gif

Kid, thats another 7 km per hour average, you need to find.

All the top secret training in the world will not even get me that.

I guess it's time for me to go back to my social bunch and ride along like a little old man out for a Sunday stroll.