Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

Lekker muddy ride round Scottsburrow this morning, do we have to leave already :angry:

Hope you okes have had your fill of rain and it's sunny when I get back later this evening :D

This weather has been really weird lately. It has been cold, windier than August and very wet. As a youngster, I seemed to think it always rained on the Easter weekend but I don't recall it being this cold and wet.

• Replies 9.2k
Guest agteros

Thanks Slave! Got back OK, now I think a quick jaunt through the Rietvlei on my new bike at lunchtime would be good :thumbup:

Too frikkin cold now :thumbdown:

You want the pink blouse sir? It is quite nice and balmy right now. I rode a 5:15 and the avg temp was 2.1 C, min of 1 and max of 3 ;)

'nice and balmy' my backside dude :angry:

I ride in the cold when I must but if there is an option to ride when it's warmer why not :unsure:

Guest agteros

'nice and balmy' my backside dude :angry:

I ride in the cold when I must but if there is an option to ride when it's warmer why not :unsure:

So you forgo lunch, and rather go ride a bike?

Today I will :D and probably tomorrow ....

From Tuesday next week will have to break out the winter woollies for the early morning rides though :(

:P I think I recall that Kid is the current holder of the pink blouse for whatever reason, although, at this point in time, I would even use it and accesorise as well as take any additional warmth offered by any garment at this stage. :blink:

I just sent the Ex an e-mail saying I need to slink around and get my tights and jackets so I can brave the cold myself.

So when you are done with it..... :blush:

Ok, so now I am officially a poefter roadie. :blush:

Put my pride in my pocket :unsure: and went around to get my thermal lycra out of storage. Eish, winter she arrives fast and furiously this year. (Cars in our complex were white with frost on Tuesday AM.)

The unsure bit of the pride and pocket is between whether it was putting the pride in the pocket and asking Exie for my thermal stuff, or if I am just too soft and need to have the winter wooolies to be able to stand the bike. :huh:

Edit: I have always been a confirmed roadie. I think the emphasis in this context is the "poefter" bit. :blush: :blush:

So Sonic and myself teamed up for Panorama, weird combo to start with a 24yr and 43 yr old teaming up and having to ride open men. Always going to be testing but they say its good training, so lets see if that is true at all. :blink: :blink: :blink:

Stage 1, 115km, 2200m ascent........... what a loooooong day - we ended up riding 4:04 (3:18 winning time), bad day,and we end up 73rd, 21st open men

Stage 2, 80km, 1100m ascent, we have an absolute flyer, finish in 2:18 (15 mins down on winning time of 2:03), GC improved to 57th and category to 17th.

Stage 3, 113 km, 2000m ascent, always going to be a toughie and a real tester with Spitskop - 5km, and Long Tom 9km thrown in amongts all the other nice little bumps around. Today, like on stage 1 it was very cold, rained for almost 100km's......... ended with 3:53(3:17), so although hard, it was a good day for us and we moved up to 56th on GC, remained 17th in our cat, but have a team 7 secs behind us in the cat.

Tmrw we will set the record straight and try get a top 50 finish for the day. A short 25km TT, with almost 500m of ascent, so a real bitch to finish off with on some really T I R E D legs.

If this isnt good training I don't know what is.......

Looking forward to see the effect at Bela Bela :)

So Sonic and myself teamed up for Panorama, weird combo to start with a 24yr and 43 yr old teaming up and having to ride open men. Always going to be testing but they say its good training, so lets see if that is true at all. :blink: :blink: :blink:

Stage 1, 115km, 2200m ascent........... what a loooooong day - we ended up riding 4:04 (3:18 winning time), bad day,and we end up 73rd, 21st open men

Stage 2, 80km, 1100m ascent, we have an absolute flyer, finish in 2:18 (15 mins down on winning time of 2:03), GC improved to 57th and category to 17th.

Stage 3, 113 km, 2000m ascent, always going to be a toughie and a real tester with Spitskop - 5km, and Long Tom 9km thrown in amongts all the other nice little bumps around. Today, like on stage 1 it was very cold, rained for almost 100km's......... ended with 3:53(3:17), so although hard, it was a good day for us and we moved up to 56th on GC, remained 17th in our cat, but have a team 7 secs behind us in the cat.

Tmrw we will set the record straight and try get a top 50 finish for the day. A short 25km TT, with almost 500m of ascent, so a real bitch to finish off with on some really T I R E D legs.

If this isnt good training I don't know what is.......

Looking forward to see the effect at Bela Bela :)

Stage 4 , the 25km TT, with 440m ascent, was completed in rain. Ogh it was a miserable day, and soon as we were done, the sun came out. Anyway we rode 47:44, Gareth dropped his chain at 5.5km's and we lost some time, but in the end we were flying and could have done another 25 :).

11:04 gave us a 56th overall spot! Can't brag about it, but not too unhappy either.

Will be back though!!

How many teams competed?

How many completed the entire route?

Why is your result not something you feel you can brag about?

You accomplished something worth while dude. Be proud of that and by all means - BRAG. :thumbup:

Edit: Well done to everone who competed and completed the Panorama.