Slave

• Replies 9.2k

Ja Spas

The Owl is right.

Kid is the real threat at the moment.

He now claims to have the sniffs, but I firmly believe that he is out training to ride more often at the 40kph.

Ok, yesterday Slave and my arrangements backfired. I left home (where I'd waited with all the appropriate winter gear for the Slave) 3 min after the agreed time, and raced to Xumb to join a group ride. We ended up doing Bosco's. Wasnt that cold afterall. I was totally overdressed, but comfortable. Some okes had red/blue legs.... because they underdressedsmiley36.gif

When I got back home, I was informed that he arrived - looking for mesmiley7.gif

Slave hasnt replied to my pm, so he must still be fuming.
Ja Spas

The Owl is right.

Kid is the real threat at the moment.

He now claims to have the sniffs' date=' but I firmly believe that he is out training to ride more often at the 40kph.

Ok, yesterday Slave and my arrangements backfired. I left home (where I'd waited with all the appropriate winter gear for the Slave) 3 min after the agreed time, and raced to Xumb to join a group ride. We ended up doing Bosco's. Wasnt that cold afterall. I was totally overdressed, but comfortable. Some okes had red/blue legs.... because they underdressed[img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley36.gif[/img]

When I got back home, I was informed that he arrived - looking for mesmiley7.gif

Slave hasnt replied to my pm, so he must still be fuming.

I had the day off yesterday and slept in, I haven't gotten out of bed at 8:30am for such a long time - eish, it felt good.

Listen to do 40kph on that road is easy, anybody can do it.

I've been behind GreyOwl when he's doing 48+kph, so 40kph is still way off the pace.

Nuwbie, I take it you were dressed for skiing again ?

And it sounds like you were scared to go out with S2L ?

Not so Nuwbs. I was not on time so whatever happened, happened.smiley9.gif

I am not on the internet at home so I only got the PM a short while ago.

Agteros joined in and we still met with Nish4 as well and did our 76 k ride. Eish, I stuggled for every single one of them and was overjoyed to get home. Oxman and Nish must have opened a gap of a km on me up the steps.

smiley9.gifsmiley5.gif

I seriously got my @ss kicked yesterday. Dropped on every hill we climbed, including Bellairs, Columbine and the steps. I felt like a nose I got picked on so much. Os, Nish and the wind kicking my butt in. Probably, the worst ride I can remember having.

Nish4 has a nice ride and he can go well. We all know what the Ox is capable of and true to his previous form, he did some impressive speed intervals and hill accelerations, while I hung on, whote knuckle style and grimly battled the ride out to the end. They were both very patient wth me and must have waited at least 5 minutes for me to finnish my "climb up the steps."

It just seemed /felt like every time I tried to up my pace, my heart rate went through the roof. WTF?

At the circus I was wanting to call 911 to come and pick me up and take me to an ICU somewhere.

Nish, thanks for the coffee dude. We met Frosty and his gang at the circus. What he refered to as the speed snakes.

So for the next few days, Rest, rest and more rest for me. Slow bunch ride Saturday, rest Sunday and I will have to see if I can manage Monday.

You lazy butt - 8:30 (hope you werent alonesmiley2.gif)

Why werent you at yr polling station at 7:00?

Of course I was petrified of Slave and all his cronies he's lining up all over the south. The more buds he manages to get together, the mopre the rides will hurtsmiley18.gifsmiley18.gifsmiley18.gif

I can tell you I had the opp to for the first time this year, wear my winter jacket, and my long bib, and my overshoes. So yes, skiing would have been no prob.

I cannot ride at that pace yr tralking 'bout here. First of all, I dont have the legs, secondly I dont have a Prince or a Silverback, and thirdly I will s@#t muyself going that fast. On downhills yes, but flat road - eishsmiley19.gif 

Kid man, trust me, for just about every k I rode yesterday, I was wishing I was home in bed.

I rode in my tracksuit top, over my cycle shirt and T shirt and I was still cold. I was miserable and I was SLOW. It was one of those rides best forgotten. I even battled with the wind behind me on the outward leg to Walkerville.

It is so frustrating when you get to a hill you know you can climb reasonably well and nothing wants to operate.

Yesterday, I was riding a farm gate with square wheels. Leastwise, that's how it felt, depsite the 9 speed conversion. I ran out of gears everywhere, except downhill.

Slave! Dude, we all have days like that. The next ride will be better. I once did a ride around Henley and I almost gave up the whole darn sport! I had no energy, no "Go" or anything at all. We all get them ,so do not stress my bud!

As for the cold...there is nothing worse than riding when its cold. I spent most of the summer buying all the winter gear I could find (at 'sales' prices!)...coz l hate the cold.

GOv2.0 the only consolation is that I know we all have days like that and that they do go away.

When I was a runner, I called it "The plods", as in you just plod along and it feels like the entire body is mad of lead and it's a HUGE effort to just get one foot in front of the other.

Yesterday, everything seemd to be made of lead. I felt like I was "pushing an elephant up the stairs." (Lyrics from a song (I think REM)).

Slave , maybe it was the weight of the elections on yr shoulders bud?

or

The effect of the rejection by myself weighed you down?

Agree with Owl, you'll be ready to fight another day on Saturday.

Worst is if you have that feeling after 5 mins of racing, and you have to decide to continue - while you know its gonna be a long day - or quit and never forgive yrself.

smiley36.gif

Rehab is for quiters. At least I made it to the fininsh line. Narco was so scared of the ride that he decided to head for the bottle.

Decided that going large at his buds house was the thing to do and I'm glad he had the mental capacity to sleep over. Eish, I'd rather have bled all over the Boscos route yesterday than have had his hangover.smiley36.gif

Narco, you going to sweat it next time you go and ride dude. All that poison oozing out of your pores and making life on a bike very mizzy for at least the first few km's.

I can't help wondering though, who actually had the hangover. I certainly felt like I had one except the headache was consipcuously absent.

You lazy butt - 8:30 (hope you werent alonesmiley2.gif)

Why werent you at yr polling station at 7:00?

Of course I was petrified of Slave and all his cronies he's lining up all over the south. The more buds he manages to get together' date=' the mopre the rides will hurt[img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley18.gif[/img]smiley18.gifsmiley18.gif

I can tell you I had the opp to for the first time this year, wear my winter jacket, and my long bib, and my overshoes. So yes, skiing would have been no prob.

I cannot ride at that pace yr tralking 'bout here. First of all, I dont have the legs, secondly I dont have a Prince or a Silverback, and thirdly I will s@#t muyself going that fast. On downhills yes, but flat road - eishsmiley19.gif 

Ja it was lekker to sleep in for a change.

Who said that I wasn't at my pomping polling station at 7am ?smiley2.gif

Was it that cold ?

I suppose the wind made it even colder ?

Mr Nuwbie stop acting so modest, I'm sure you'll easily do 48+kph on that road, if I can can do it & you a lot stronger you'll do it without braking a sweat.

S2L, Nish4 is quick - that boykie can ride.

But how can you say that you'll be going out with the slow bunch on Saturday ? You need to graduate, ride with the big boys!!!

Slavey, now we might stand a chance, Nuwbie & GO are going to wear all that skiing gear when they ride and that will slow them down so we should manage to keep up.smiley4.gif

So, after the ride we had this discussion regarding training and I thought I'd throw it out there for a debate.

I am told, (no names no pack drill) thay these LSD rides don't help me. Shorter distances with plenty intervals and driving hard for short bursts, recovery and then hard drive again.

I know there is value in that sort of training and that they do help. I also know that you need to have a balanced training regime and that LSD defintely plays a role in that as well.

Up to now, I've always tried to improve on my previous time for a route. Lower time, higher ave speed so in essence, doing it faster every time I ride.

Not ideal, but a measure of fitness against previous PB times.

When it comes to interval training, I have been lazy and have not balanced my regime with the speed intervals and hill accelerations etc.

I do however, believe that there is a place for LSD even at this stage of a season.

To add a few stats, I have done over 3000 kmso far since 2 Jan 2009. 61 rides with an average dist of 50 k's per ride. Ave speed overall, 28.8 which is up on any other year.

On Mondays and Tuesdays, I do hills. Either up Butchers or up Lido Hill and Columbine thrown into the mix, not to mention that little hill up Klipriver towards Meyersig.

Thursday's we often do the loop and then I do it on the weekend as well and also try to get in at least one long ride on the weekend.

Let's have some debate on what works and what doesn't.

S2L' date=' Nish4 is quick - that boykie can ride.

But how can you say that you'll be going out with the slow bunch on Saturday ? You need to graduate, ride with the big boys!!!

Slavey, now we might stand a chance, Nuwbie & GO are going to wear all that skiing gear when they ride and that will slow them down so we should manage to keep up.[img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley4.gif[/img]

Dude, apparently you seem to have difficulty with the concept of "battling and the need to slow down sometimes".

I have done some 5700 k's since the beginning of August 2008. That's a lot for an old fart like me and I can feel the need to slow down and rest. The body is crying for me to stop for the winter and I have gone selectively deaf for now. I have been ignoring the early warnings and sometime, I will have to pay the man. The most I ever did once before was 1800 km in a year and that was way back.

Slowing down is the only option because I cannot see (don't want to see) the alertnative of complete rest. If I don't slow down, the price may be more than I'm willing to pay.

Pull the p!ss all you like, I'm still riding. That has to count for something. Graduation can will have to wait.

smiley19.gif

Slave - read through this, its pretty much what you need to do.

I'm no expert, but can tell you what I do.

Its working for me, although I believe it is not without flaws. pm me yr email addie, and I'll mail the doc. (When I say its working, I base that on results in races, and improvements in training ride times over set distances/routes.

I dont worry too much about the distance, but rather the time and intensity.

This is balanced by 1/2 interval sessions per week (depending on prev week, next week, races, etc), 1 x hill session (which sometimes act as an interval session, and then a progress test every 3 weeks over 30 mins.

At least 1 LSD per week, and a shorter quicker ride, which might even include some ad hoc interval training.

I firmly believe that when you start out, you need to get a very solid base, otherwise these other exercises would not be fully beneficial, as you will not be able to complete the session as set out/at the pace(HR) that you should to get the benefit.

Whoever tells you that LSD doesnt contribute, must know something I dont (and a lot of others also)

I do think by doing those hilly sessions two days in a row, is not 100% beneficial, and you should maybe consider not doing them on alternate days. Unless you use one for hill training and the other for interval training.

TRAINING MADE SIMPLE

Build a Solid Base:

-Twice a week do an one hour indoor training session. [Cadence 100 rpm and Heart Rate between 50 and 80% of Maximum] Rollers work very well for this aspect of your training.

With training your cadence will improve.

There are many variations and interesting workouts you can do during this hour.

The bottom line is that you need to improve the speed of your legs.

-Twice a week do a Hilly hard ride out on the Road. [Cadence 50-80 rpm, and a Heart Rate between 60 and 85% of Maximum]

This is done at a low cadence to improve strength and power.

Hill Repeats work well. [Find a 2-3km hill and go up and down]

-One Long Slow Ride on the road at a high Cadence. [Cadence 100 rpm and Heart Rate between 60 and 85% of Maximum]

The Longer the better.

Do 3 weeks of training then 1 week Rest:

After 12 weeks of Solid Base building you then go onto the final Speed phase:

Speed:

After your final rest week do 3 weeks of Speed work

-Three times a week do an one hour indoor training session. [Cadence 100 rpm and Heart Rate between 50 and 80% of Maximum] Rollers work very well for this aspect of your training.

-Do 3 short very fast road rides a week, These rides must be short and have lots of sprints and short fast intervals.

-These are short very intense workouts.

Now you are ready for the event!