Control Levers

JJDT

Hi Guys

I'm new on this forum and I'm just a recreational cyclist only riding a few races during a year. I'm not that technical on cycling equipment so excuse if I use the wrong terminology.

I bought a second hand bike for my son who said that he wants to cycle with me, the reason buying a second hand bike is to see if he likes it and only then will I buy a new bike.

I bought a Raleigh RC2000 2002 model and the problem I now have is that the left hand lever does not engage the front deraileur to change into the higher chainring, it moves but as soon as you let you it moves back. The second problem is the left lever is stuck I can not change gears at all. The only thing I did to the bike is replacing the rear tyre with a new one and since then the problems started. To replace these levers will cost me in the region of R1200 which I do not have the funds now and my son can not ride his bike.

Any suggestions???

Take it for a service to a good LBS (Local Bike Shop) in your area. Should set you back another +- R400 excluding parts that need to be replaced.

Tell them to quote you on parts that need replacing first.

Welcome to the Hub!

Gasping, thanks for the reply. I did took the bike to Cajees @ Princess crossing because the left side was loose and they simply told me to replace it, hence searching the web for forums because this is where you get a better response on problems at hand.

Try sparying WD-40/Q-20 or some lube similar into the levers, more often than not its just dirt/old grease thats dried up causing the jams...

Fair enough. Perhaps if you PM Johan Bornman - he owns an LBS and is knowledgeable on all technical matters relating to our steeds.

If he says replace, then don't even argue.

Good Luck

if it moves but not stay there then it sounds like limiter screws that are too tight. You should have two clicks before the chain jumps to the big ring.