Indexing issue

Domin8tr

I just recently replaced my complete SRAM system with XT. The lbs tells me that the cables will take a bit of time to stretch and settle in before it gets to 1 click 1 shift. At the moment the shifting is just off and I can seem to find the sweet spot smiley36.gif which is annoying!

Is this true/accurate?

Should i change to sealed cables?

Should I get someone else to have a look?

All systems are different, am I going to have to continue over shifting to compensate?

First my experience:

I got sram x.0 gripshifts and installed them myself.(I was a complete newby at this, but I just followed the instructions)

I have been riding like that from January and haven't had one gear skip.

Advice:

Some cables are bought pre-stretched, but others will need to stretch. They say that it usually takes about a month of riding.

If it needs stretching, then it should work perfectly in the beginning and get worse over time, so I think they were just sloppy at installing your gears.

Sealed cable won't help you with this. They come in handy when you ride in dusty or maybe even muddy conditions, where dirt gets into the cable housing and mix with oil and forms a sticky paste that will effect your shifting, but this happens over time.

Finally, you should never have to overshift to compensate. Gears should be smooth. Especially if you pay the money to get xt.

I also replaced shifters and RD to XT.  In the procees I also repplace the cables and housing.  No problem from day 1.

I think your LBS is being lazy,

Cables don't stretch, it's the housing that settle. Did they put new cable housing on? if not it could be dirt in the housing.

As mentioned earlier, it should start off set up correctly and then get worse.

Next time you change the cable and housing, go for full housing, you won't regret it.

Also why did you go from SRAM to XT?

Most people are doing it the other way round.