Issues with Garmin Edge 500?

Gerhardc

I have seached theHub and can't find anything on this....

Do any of you have or know of issues with the Garmin Edge 500? (i.e. difficulty with screen visibility, poor battery life, screen and functions freezing).

I am seriously considering to acquire a Garmin...but should it be the Edge 705 or 500....I am no serious racer, just your normal weekend rider who likes gadgets... :D (why not.... :P )

The previous firmware did have issues. My screen frose after a couple of lap presses....

The new firmware (2.4) sorted that issue. Since then, I had no issues whatsoever.

I have been using mine for about 4 months now with no problems!!

I have one, and it does (did?) have issues.

have a look on the garmin forums - https://forums.garmin.com/forumdisplay.php?f=20

having said that, the problems didn't make the unit unusable, just frustrating at times

they have since released a new FW, which supposedly fixes all the previous problems, and according to feedback on the forums, looks like it works.

I've only done 1 ride with the latest FW, so cant comment, but nothing went wrong.

I also love gadgets and this one is pretty sweet

i got a 705 last week and loving it.... havent encounted any hickups yet..

like anything, you learn as you go, but its been preety straight forward so far.

using it on road and mtb, with 2 different cadence/speed sensors. Also "Garmin connect" is awesome..

Thanks spinnekop en wonduhboy.... Seems like the new firmware have sorted the Edge 500 issues....do you guys use normal Windows based PC's/laptops or Apple Mac's? I have an Apple Macbook and was wondering if Garmin have all the software for both operating systems (Windows and Mac)?