That you "hate" someone tells us enough.

+1 - hating cyclists for 'wasting' those previous 2 seconds to slow you down before you overtake like a decent human being.

Almost did it...

• Replies 241

you see Eldron, your comment is "'I am going for a ride with my 10 mates"' makes motorists believe that we are only out there having fun whilst they are riding around working. It is not about cyclists having fun, these cyclists are fathers, mothers, children, grandfathers etc. it is about life and protecting it!!

When I started Sign-Up I targeted motorists to get them to change their attitudes towards cyclists (your comment trying to make cycling safer for cyclists). Now four years down the line, I have to target the cyclists. The guys that don't stop at robots and and stop signs. That drive more than two abreast and swear at motorists but UNTIL the cyclists change their attitudes, they wont win an argument against the motorists.

My idea above is about preserving life and it is my opinion! I will continue to try and save lives. What have you done about cyclists safety?

I'm not quite sure how to respond to this...

Cycling is about fun and I do think motorists on their way to work have more right to be on the road than me who is training for my next event. This is why I avoid peak times and busy roads - granted I do it more for my own safety than because I think I have less right to be on the road but surely going to work is more important than my past time?

We have a choice to be on the road - most people don't have a choice about going to work...I would consider it inconsiderate for cyclists to go training on busy roads during peak traffic periods.

As to your "what have you done for safety" question the answer is diddly squat. So what? Like I said before I ride how I want others to ride and I drive how I want others to drive. No more no less.

No party will ever win this argument.....cyclist will do what they want so will Taxi's Busses etc...South Africans do not have respect for each other.

Motorist will moa, cyclist will ignore them.....personally I say chill out and go fight about something realy like a taxi skipping a red light.

You number 1 moan should be about SAFETY....some oke is driving drunk he can kill you in your car...a cyclist / motocyclist will merely waste few seconds of your life....

coenie, i have said this time and tie again. by nature we operate on the line of right and wrong. 9 times out 10 the wrong way is beneficial to the wrong doer, but not to others around - that is why we have laws etc. Without proper enforcement of these laws we are all farting against thunder. so until a time that our traffic police do proactive policing we will be having these very discussions. Tjops with 4 wheels and 2 wheels will always cross the legal line to benefit themselves and p!ss off those around.

I think focusing efforts on trying to educate the individual, who is essentially a self serving being, is both pointless and a waste of time and effort. Our attentions should be focussed on moving towards proactive policing. That said, I applaud anyone who is trying to make an effort, as I will be the first to admit that I am doing nothing

Guest coenie

coenie, i have said this time and tie again. by nature we operate on the line of right and wrong. 9 times out 10 the wrong way is beneficial to the wrong doer, but not to others around - that is why we have laws etc. Without proper enforcement of these laws we are all farting against thunder. so until a time that our traffic police do proactive policing we will be having these very discussions. Tjops with 4 wheels and 2 wheels will always cross the legal line to benefit themselves and p!ss off those around.

I think focusing efforts on trying to educate the individual, who is essentially a self serving being, is both pointless and a waste of time and effort. Our attentions should be focussed on moving towards proactive policing. That said, I applaud anyone who is trying to make an effort, as I will be the first to admit that I am doing nothing

:thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

I think they should force every bicycle on the road to have a license. Each cyclist will also receive a license if he wants to be on the road. He can loose points for bad driving as well as receive fines for breaking the law. After the loss of so many points he looses his license and is not allowed on the road. Multipe offenders face prosecution just s motorists do.

There should always be consequences. Without consequences the law will be broken.

I think they should force every bicycle on the road to have a license. Each cyclist will also receive a license if he wants to be on the road. He can loose points for bad driving as well as receive fines for breaking the law. After the loss of so many points he looses his license and is not allowed on the road. Multipe offenders face prosecution just s motorists do.

There should always be consequences. Without consequences the law will be broken.

Much as I hate nanny states and having to buy another license...someone give that man a Bells!

ye - but back to what i was saying.. who is going to enforce that? So you get a point subtracted for skipping a red light? I see at at least 5 cars skipping at every intersection i am stopped at and that is already "policed" - etc etc etc. then your disk gets removed - are people really gonna stop using the road just cos their disk gas been renoved? great idea but unenforceable at the moment

Guest coenie

Hey Motorist

I though I would tell you about my commute this moring...I stopped at every stop steet and red robot, and stayed as far left of the lane as possible doing and avrage of around 20 - 25 kmh..

I did not brake ANY laws, I signaled my every move, I never exceeded the speed limit and on the flats I got up to 45 sometime when feeling real good I hit 50 kmph.....

What I could not understand was why people who looking at my funny as they past me while talking on their cellphones, speeding past me on the double lane on a slight uphill I was down to 20kmph... some hooted....some signaled something but I could not see properly I mean I have paid my license to use the road.

I am not sure if I can do this everyday sinse my hartrate hardly went above 65 bpm but I must say that I was very comfy with the aircon on in my car....

:)

I have decided that I do not know of any website where I can "complain" about motorist chucking their buring sigarettes out of the window, speeding, tailgating........etc

I am going to drive my car in a law abiding maner but LIKE a cyclist, 20-45kmph......would you like me to send you pictures?

Hey Motorist

I though I would tell you about my commute this moring...I stopped at every stop steet and red robot, and stayed as far left of the lane as possible doing and avrage of around 20 - 25 kmh..

I did not brake ANY laws, I signaled my every move, I never exceeded the speed limit and on the flats I got up to 45 sometime when feeling real good I hit 50 kmph.....

What I could not understand was why people who looking at my funny as they past me while talking on their cellphones, speeding past me on the double lane on a slight uphill I was down to 20kmph... some hooted....some signaled something but I could not see properly I mean I have paid my license to use the road.

I am not sure if I can do this everyday sinse my hartrate hardly went above 65 bpm but I must say that I was very comfy with the aircon on in my car....

:)

I have decided that I do not know of any website where I can "complain" about motorist chucking their buring sigarettes out of the window, speeding, tailgating........etc

I am going to drive my car in a law abiding maner but LIKE a cyclist, 20-45kmph......would you like me to send you pictures?

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

i think THE BREAK has a really good idea it might not work but atleast there would be some sort concequence as right now we have nothing and with out actualy walking up to a cyclist and taking his picture we will never know who he is (unless i drive over him and then trust me every body will know who we are )

Guest coenie

The law does not even gets properly enforced wrt to motorists now you would like to add to their allready "hectic" schedule.....

Motorist should clean up their act before pionting any fingers....stop talking on their cellphones, weating seatbelts.....bla bla bla....

I don't condone what these guys are doing and it is wrong, BUT would you have taken a picture if you came across a slow moving truck/tractor or Horse & Cart?

No!

So treat it as that, a slow moving vehicle, just like you would do if you came across the above mentioned vehicles. Remember SHARE THE ROAD!

Even though I totally agree with the last sentence I don't see that happening anytime soon. And it is going to get worse, especially with the impatient drivers we have.

Most of my time I spend in West Africa and there you can see how the smaller vehicles have respect for bigger ones.

Bicycles give way to motorcycles, motorcycles give way to cars and cars give way to trucks. No one ever really gets angry at one another, but they know that if a car hits a bicycle/motorcycle it's all over.

When I read this thread and the argument between cyclists and motorists I just think of one thing. A little Chihuahua barking at or taking on a Boerboel. Just one wrong move from either one and the Chihuahua is history.

Guest coenie

I have to get a bigger car and drive slower so motorist will be angry at me and not the cyclists

Get yourself a Toyota Land Cruiser bakkie. It works! :thumbup:

No taxi will try sneak infront of you and no motorist will give you the finger.

When I read this thread and the argument between cyclists and motorists I just think of one thing. A little Chihuahua barking at or taking on a Boerboel. Just one wrong move from either one and the Chihuahua is history.

The boerboel would choke on the Chihuahua.

this argument is as good as p!ss!ing into the wind.

The bottom line, whether you think it's justified or not: Motorists (including myself) get irritated with guys riding in bunches on the road.

Maybe it's comparable to tractors, maybe its's not. That's not the point here.

Also, some guys say that it's only a few "seconds" of your time. Remember that time is the most valuable thing you'll ever get in life... Therefore a person's "time" has to be respected and valued higher than almost anything else.