• Replies 36

Ja it does hey..... but I just want to make sure from someone who is using them.

2 sides of the coin... 1 is that you normally get what you pay for.... 2 is that wheels are poverpriced... maybe these just arent??

Dude I am saying I do not have a time trial bike. There is a difference duuuhhuuuuh... Maybe some wheels add more value to road bikes. The more details the better....

I want to know if these wheels is worth it on a ROAD BIKE........... When doing IRONMAN......

Some of us is actually accomodating guys like you by typing/talking (or trying to) in english to ensure all can enjoy and part take (or take part) on this website on the forums.

If you then make stupid jokes like these because of my lack of english language skills then maybe I should just tik in afrikaans dan moet jy maar dit self vertaal.....

I aret just traaaing to be lekker with you OK?

http://www.planet-x-bikes.co.za/pPRO%20CARBON%20TUBULAR%20101/82%20WHEELSET/Pro-Carbon-Tubular-82101-Wheelset.aspx

1. Are these good wheels?

2. Are they well priced?

3. Are they strong as I weigh 87Kg's?

Reason for buying is Ironman (they will go onto my road bike)

If any better siggestions please advise!

Thx!

Howzit Bru,

To answer your questions....

1. Yes

2. Very

3. Yes

Will buying them assist you Ironman bike leg/time trialling? Yes... but there are other things I would consider first such as getting aero bars and making sure I had a really good aero position on my bike. In fact if i was going to spend 6k I would probably look for a second hand TT frame which got me into a a decent aero position instead of wheels. From a pure aerodynamics perspective that would be your best bet.

Interestingly I have read that those pointy helmets (twat hats) will offer you better gains than aero wheels. I once read a study where they assesed all the areas you can get the biggest gains and I think that body position was number 1 and the helmet was number 2 and a skin suit was number 3.

Dude I am saying I do not have a time trial bike. There is a difference duuuhhuuuuh... Maybe some wheels add more value to road bikes. The more details the better....

I want to know if these wheels is worth it on a ROAD BIKE........... When doing IRONMAN......

You don't have to have a TT bike for Ironman if your avg is below 30km/h it won't really help you.Just get some TT bars and a forward seat post if you need it.

Same about the wheels to,if your avg is below 30km/h you won't see much of a gain in time.They do look really cool though,so it will make you feel faster.

The wind in PE can blow a little some days,and unless you used to riding in the wind you may,spend more energy trying to control the bike than actually cycling.

That is a very good price for the wheels and they are good quality wheels.

Cool. I have a "modified" road bike. When doing triathlons I have a different seat and seatpost as well as aerobars. Troi sports did my setup so I gues I am as comfy as can be....

I did consider the time tria frame however due to money constraints I though the wheels would be best value as I can do road races as well.

Very interesting point regarding the helmet...................

Cool. I have a "modified" road bike. When doing triathlons I have a different seat and seatpost as well as aerobars. Troi sports did my setup so I gues I am as comfy as can be....

I did consider the time tria frame however due to money constraints I though the wheels would be best value as I can do road races as well.

Very interesting point regarding the helmet...................

It sounds like you know what you're talking about so I assume you are familar with power/watts.... Here is some research I copied from an article I read a while back which shows you how many watts all the different modifications you can make will save:

Aero helmet

15-20w saving

Nice tyres + latex tubes

15-20w saving

Non flapping clothing/tighter skinsuit

10-15w saving

Upgrading a 101 to a disc wheel

2-8w saving

New chain and jockey wheels

3-4w saving

Switching from clips and drops to base bar & extensions

5-8w saving

Round tubed frame to aero frame (eg. P2C)

10-15w

As you can see the helmet, tyres +tubes and skinsuit are the cheapest and most effective things to sort out first. I still think body position would be number 1 though.

A general rule of thumb is that a 10 Watt saving will save you about 40 seconds over 40km, so it certainly adds up over an ironman distance course.

Edited by camerons

A general rule of thumb is that a 10 Watt saving will save you about 40 seconds over 40km, so it certainly adds up over an ironman distance course.

When your avg is about 40km/h ;)

you mean to say you're not cycling at that speed :)

that is a good point though. the faster you ride the more important aerodynamics become.

Howzit Bru,

To answer your questions....

1. Yes

2. Very

3. Yes

Have to agree with Camerons on these - i have them on the Planet-X Stealth Pro Carbon and have done 2 IM's and 3 1/2's on them with no complaint.

Got them off the UK website - delivered no problems. Also ordered spare spokes with them, but have not yet had to replace any.