Joburg Triathlon

Rolling Thunder

wait for the one at the Island estate in Harties Vin... i think thats the best tri venue available at present

• Replies 112

Agreed. Apparently that channel in Harties is also lekker.......

What is Emmarentia Dams water like? The other day some oke posted that he did swim there. Not sure if he is still alive though..........

Jonnow also has a barge in the Vaal river. We might be going there the 10th of September for some open water practise....

post-12877-0-52345400-1314262860.jpg

YIKES !!! dude its people like you that turn a dull day in the office into something very funny :lol: :lol: :lol:

what about the dam at Galooleys farm? i was stuck in traffic in line with it the other day and saw the dam there not too sure about the water quality

Just sent in my entries for BSG. Last years Germiston race has been moved :clap: to "The Islands Estate, Hartebeespoort"

2 October 2011 - Roodeplaat Dam, Pretoria (Race 1: R150.00)

9 October 2011 - The Islands Estate, Hartebeespoort (Race 2: R135.00)

16 October 2011 - Potchefstroom Dam, Potchefstroom (Race 3: R135.00)

4 December 2011 - Emerald Casino, Vanderbijlpark (Race 4: R125.00)

The only other issue I have is Roodeplaat. The toilet facilities last year were SIF

Just sent in my entries for BSG. Last years Germiston race has been moved :clap: to "The Islands Estate, Hartebeespoort"

2 October 2011 - Roodeplaat Dam, Pretoria (Race 1: R150.00)

9 October 2011 - The Islands Estate, Hartebeespoort (Race 2: R135.00)

16 October 2011 - Potchefstroom Dam, Potchefstroom (Race 3: R135.00)

4 December 2011 - Emerald Casino, Vanderbijlpark (Race 4: R125.00)

The only other issue I have is Roodeplaat. The toilet facilities last year were SIF

Bwahahahaha... ten minste by Germiston het ons nie daai probleem nie. Jy *** sommer in die dam. Dit stink alreeds so dat mense dit nie eers sal agterkom nie!!

Good idea. The Race 4 Victory is that same day. If we are not going to swim then I would much rather do that.......

Or maybe we can ask one of the hubbers who lives in Germiston to go down there and collect water samples and drink it. If they stop posting on the hub in a few days time we should have our answer...........

I paid my money for JHB triathlon already ( silly me ) .... <_< if they turn it into a duathlon again this year they can forget me ever entering again :angry:

Bwahahahaha... ten minste by Germiston het ons nie daai probleem nie. Jy *** sommer in die dam. Dit stink alreeds so dat mense dit nie eers sal agterkom nie!!

Hahaha, dis moer snaaks..

the organisers of the BSG Engergade race will have the test results of the water prior to the races... just hope the new organisers of the JHB tri does the same

Cant they test it so long and give us an indication?

The Race for Victory can only be entered fro the next 2 weeks.

the problem with water quality tests is it can vary on a daily basis so tests should be done as close as possible to the race date, taking this into consideration, at a venue like Germiston you could test the water a week before the event and the water might be okay but should there be rain on the day before or on the day of the event you might have a problem with very high ecoli counts and that's the **** (excuse the pun) that makes you sick

Germiston lake is effected by sewage that flows into the storm water drains and in turn the storm water drains are blocked up so when there is a rain storm the storm water drains overflow and everything lands up in the lake. the interesting thing about water quality tests is it differs a lot depending on where the sample is taken. so in some areas of the lake the counts might be within limits but in other areas the count might be very high especially at the inlet and outlet of the lake and unfortunately the area where the Joburg tri is held is smack bang in the middle of the high count area, I don’t understand why if they insist on having it at the Germiston lake they don’t move it over to the other side where the Energade was always held?

Maybe we should all chip and have the road down to the water at Heie Safari paved. That way we could hold events there.

Which part os the reserve does Race for Victory go through? Is it by the Protea Hotel side where you can hike/cycle from?

Race for Victory is through Suikerbosrand. It is close to Heidelberg.

Well we will be swimming 1.5km through the Germiston Lake. Testing it in some areas then is not good enough. I cannot afford to get ill now.

Tehy should move the race to another venue. THis Lake is sif and someone is going to get very sick and sue these people one of these days.....