New to the sport - what do I need

Michael Labuschagne

Hey all,

I've been a competitive open water swimmer for 10 years now looking to expand a little and maybe do some xterra events etc...

I need to get a mountain bike so point me in the right direction...

1. Mountain bike (not sure what to budget but R3k or less would b good for me)

2. Helmet

3. Gloves

4. Cycling shorts

5. Sunglasses

6. Shoes (what shoes and how and etc etc - are they all standard with cleets that fit on the pedals or what)

7. Bike rack for my car

What else? I wanna get into this but it seems like it's going to cost a fortune - this coming from swimming where full kit would cost R1.5k)

Advice, ideas etc

How do I start training, where are good places for trail riding, should I go spinning at gym a few times a week to get my muscles used to it in the mean time?

I'm a complete and clueless novice - any help will b appreciated

Mike

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Just buy the bike and a helmet, the rest will follow, I started (and still do sometimes) riding in rugby shorts with old T shirts and takkies.

No need for the fancier stuff till you can afford it.

As for a bike rack for your car, its your choice, I just take the wheels off my bike and chuck it in the back of my Polo (on top of an old blanket).

A large bank account and no conscience when you have to lie about cycling related purchases. :whistling:

A speedo and goggles cost R1500? :eek:

Edited by Caerus

Welcome to the sport - it can be expensive, but only if you let it. You can enjoy it just as much on basic kit

1. Mountain bike (not sure what to budget but R3k or less would b good for me)