Stans ZTR Crest 650B & Schwable Racing Ralph - Tubeless Conversion

OnTheRicky

Hi guys,

I am new to MTB'ing, but I really want to get a tubeless setup.

I already have the Stans ZTR Crest 650B wheels & Schwable Racing Ralph Performance tyres. I've been to 3 different bike shops and they don't want to do the conversion for me...

One place even overcharged me for liners (R200), which I opted for because I'd rather have some protection than none!

So golden question. Can I do the conversion or not? I've seen many threads stating the tyres are perfect and if the rims are not, well then stuff me why even bother printing NO TUBES on them.

If not tubeless... What other options are there? Will it help to add slime to my current tubes + liners?

Thanks in advance!

Tubeless is was way forward...just do the conversion yourself if your LBS won't do it for you

If the rims doesn't already have rim tape installed, just install the tape and tubeless valve. There's no need for rim strips on Stan's rims. If it's the performance line Scwhalbes they should be TLR (tubeless ready).

Add 60ml sealant to the tyre before pulling over the last bit of the bead. Use some soapy water on the beads to make seating easier.

Then use a bomb or compressor to inflate until the beads pop into place on the rim, a hand or foot pump won't work. If you used a bomb, deflate and re-inflate with "normal" air.

That's it.

Thanks Sephton!

So spec-wise everything is in order to do the tubeless conversion then?

I don't get the shops telling me it can't be done... :huh:

May I ask why the shops turned you down? I am not too fimiliar with Schwalbe tires (Conti fan) but I believe the 'Performance' series Schwalbe tires are not tubeless or even tubeless ready. I think you need Snakeskin series etc. Anyone care to comment on the Performance series Schwalbe tires?

I think the RR Performance are good for tubeless

http://www.schwalbetires.com/bike_tires/off-road_tires/racing_ralph_425