Rant-3 or 4 per tit....dumb tits

Wyatt Earp

So yesterday I got pretty annoyed, annoyed and irritated enough to create a thread about it.

Do people really think that riding 3 or 4 abreast all over the place is safe for all the cyclists that are using the same roads ?

Yesterday going up Klapperkop I had to really keep my mind and bike handling skills sharp.

Riders sitting two or three abreast across the entire lane to the extent that it's dangerous to overtake them, you do so by putting yourself at risk as some riders coming down the hill decide to do the same, with one or even two riders sitting over the white line descending leisurely towards the oncoming climbers.

If you want to talk to your mates Social Sam or Vriendelike Gawie, then have a braai, buy some dop and chat the day away.

Some of us are there to train and some of us are pretty serious about our ow safety and the safety of other cycling road users out there.

• Replies 40

don't know what to say to this, but those okes will be the first to get aggro when someone hoots/swears/shouts at them, beit motorists of fellow cyclists.

for now, i'll just calm down and breath in and out as it's a waste of breath to try and educate idiots like that.

Wyatt, I'm on your page on this one. Klapperkop is my regular training route and I see this far too often. About two weeks ago I was riding home from Groenkloof up Klappies and was passed by a youngster and his girlfriend riding two abreast ( nice term that when it describes a young lady). I latched onto their slip glad for the tow home but I noticed that when a car came up behind us they just kept two abreast forcing the car into the oncoming lane. I took issue with them and was told by the youngster that he was perfectly safe because there were speed humps and any case Klapperkop was for cyclists! Man I nearly lost it but I calmed down and told him that whenever he gets onto the road on a bike he represents the cycling community and I don't like being represented by an idiot. Truth be told it had no impact and probably never will.

This itches me like persons riding in marked bike routes without helmet right past signage saying "NO HELMET NO RIDE" talking to them does very little as well. Unfortunately be it cyclist or driver they still people and those come in all kinds.

......or maybe just spend time servicing a bike to vent all the stress and charge the batteries...a Momsen for instance? Just a suggestion.....;-)

I saw a nice Momsen delivered today  :w00t:

Wyatt, I'm on your page on this one. Klapperkop is my regular training route and I see this far too often. About two weeks ago I was riding home from Groenkloof up Klappies and was passed by a youngster and his girlfriend riding two abreast ( nice term that when it describes a young lady). I latched onto their slip glad for the tow home but I noticed that when a car came up behind us they just kept two abreast forcing the car into the oncoming lane. I took issue with them and was told by the youngster that he was perfectly safe because there were speed humps and any case Klapperkop was for cyclists! Man I nearly lost it but I calmed down and told him that whenever he gets onto the road on a bike he represents the cycling community and I don't like being represented by an idiot. Truth be told it had no impact and probably never will.

I hear you, I understand also that many cyclists use the road, but it's a public road after all, I agree  :thumbup:

........and then there is also those overbranded club rides where your bling determines the pecking order. Personally know some of these roadsters......and when you make a comment on the nice example and line they make, you get these "How dareth thou verbally Inform me of my wrong doings, f-off". I even had okes closing gaps on me when trying to pass them on a MTB. My buffalo noobness force is strong........most probably the reason for this behaviour.

Expert TLC.............pretty please! November and December is going to be very busy.

I apologise for running off like that, have to make everything fit in to one day  :thumbdown: