19/01/2015 Tokai 6am

wepat

Hi Hubbers

went for my usual Sunday 6AM ride with a good friend first ride for him but advised him, bring a R100 to pay for a day permit and a coffee.

Go to ticket office nobody there, and being aware people saying rangers are there from 5am

Get too car park a SANPARKS  bakkie and one female and one male official blocking entry

There was already about 10 guys and few already asking questions

We were told if you do not have an activity card you must wait until 7-7.30am

we said we tried to buy a day ticket and were happy to pay could we pay them Answer

No we have no receipts and cannot take monies, we asked to write our names and pay on return

Answer NO

Eventually there were so many people they did not know what to do and let people through it was a joke

My Rant is

if you want to enforce a policy either have the ticket office open early as you cannot buy a day permit the day before which to me is stupid just issue the date its valid for

Or have a method of collecting the monies for people who want to pay and ride

So wait a moment here, you're ranting about a facility that opens at 7am................not being open at 6am because his royal highness wanted to go ride....

<scratching my balls on this one>

• Replies 113

So wait a moment here, you're ranting about a facility that opens at 7am................not being open at 6am because his royal highness wanted to go ride....

<scratching my balls on this one>

Maybe they've upped their game, but everytime I've been there at 7, you can't buy a ticket because no-one is there.

come on bru, you know in Cape Town 7am means 7ish...

I feel for what happened to the OP but this is no different from any business with operating hours. The external company starts at a time that does not cater for early day visitors. 

The choice to buy a card is logical in this sense but if they choose not to then they may buy a ticket at 7 when the ticket office opens. I don't see why this should be a debate? What time do you start work?

Entry to park Sunrise to sunset? 

As I replied to GoLefty, in my experience they're not open at 7. I'll try go check it out this week(end) (no giving them a heads up, ok?)

WRT to when I start I guess it depends on what needs to be done. today 05:00

As I said in my first post. Selling a ticket at 6 is not possible at this time, maybe you did not understand.

Fair enough to an extent, but if it had been thought through properly, it could have.

I can also see the benefit that has not been considered. Their presence, especially including Sia's, means your commute into the Park is also safer for you. If it was not for the morning time change, TokaiMTB would need to find a solution - it was already an item for action. What remains is after-hours presence, this is still needing a solution. So yes, I am serious.

So the guards are going to be there everyday at 5:30/6:00?

Agreed, it will be good from a security point of view.

I understand you have a point to make, I hope it also considers reasons that are possibly out of TMNP's control at this time. As a discussion however, I would say it has only centred around their current inability to take payment earlier and an unhealthy dose of name-calling.

My view is that they haven't thought it through properly

Why is it so difficult to write out a ticket for the following day so that people can ride early? I cannot get my head around why that can't be done.

Agreed  :clap:  :clap:  :clap:

Guest Omega Man

Is it that time of the year again...

Haha. Yeah and you better be there.

Why is it so difficult to write out a ticket for the following day so that people can ride early? I cannot get my head around why that can't be done.

Way back in the pine forest days mto used to offer such a ticket. You simply presented at the gate BUT, opening time was 7:30.

Even today opening time is 7am whether you have an activity card or not. Entry before then is not actually allowed but since there's no locked gate those with activity cards enter anyway. That sanparks doesn't take issue with this is favorable but anyone want to taunt a sleeping lion?

Why should SANP's inner workings be any concern of ours? Why must we stop and think about their problems. They should be looking for solutions not blaming someone else - or correctly having someone else come on here and provide an excuse for them. 

Simple answer is they are poorly managed and have poor communication skills and business acumen. 

If I want to go run or hike virtually anywhere on TM I can do it at whatever time I want with no barricades and officials - just wander in at Cecilia. In fact I can ride Tokai without a permit by entering up the Wapad at any time and exiting at Tokai and none of the kids in khaki would even know about it. 

Another bizarre but perhaps understandable illustration of SANPs strange rules - saw a family with small kids at the Arboretum a few weeks ago. They were ready to trot up into the trees and have a picnic. Gate guard told them it was not permitted. We promptly cycled up with our 2 year old and had a picnic in the forest near boulders. Maybe they are concerned about baboons but maybe its just a rule to make people go to the picnic area. Aren't all hikers also picnickers by definition though? 

the no picnicking is to prevent you getting attacked by baboons. If you rode up and had a picnic then they probably didn't notice you had food packed. You're not suggesting they should have x-ray machines at the entrance to check what your primary objective is? At the end of the day it is up to us to respect the rules and not seek but advantage that benefits only our objective. If we want to be policed they could simply ban us. Then they'd make a few bob selling carbon frames.

ah if you think this baboons are harmless, one of my riding buddies was attacked last night. We were riding up to the arboretum and young male with his kint was being chased by a alpha male. the young male and his kint were looking back and didn't notice us and the male nearly ran into my pal. He didn't smaak this and went for my pal with fangs and claws . the oke nearly wet himself and defended himself by placing the bike between himself the male.

I just get the feeling from all this bitching sessions we have on the hub that mountain bikers in the cape want a full on police anti-riot squad on ever corner of the trail before they start to play ball.

very hard to distinguish what people actually want cos everything just seems to be a moan.

Why should SANP's inner workings be any concern of ours? Why must we stop and think about their problems. They should be looking for solutions not blaming someone else - or correctly having someone else come on here and provide an excuse for them. 

Simple answer is they are poorly managed and have poor communication skills and business acumen. 

If I want to go run or hike virtually anywhere on TM I can do it at whatever time I want with no barricades and officials - just wander in at Cecilia. In fact I can ride Tokai without a permit by entering up the Wapad at any time and exiting at Tokai and none of the kids in khaki would even know about it. 

Another bizarre but perhaps understandable illustration of SANPs strange rules - saw a family with small kids at the Arboretum a few weeks ago. They were ready to trot up into the trees and have a picnic. Gate guard told them it was not permitted. We promptly cycled up with our 2 year old and had a picnic in the forest near boulders. Maybe they are concerned about baboons but maybe its just a rule to make people go to the picnic area. Aren't all hikers also picnickers by definition though? 

Well if you are not interested, then just go back to nonchalantly calling them stupid. Heck, I won't stop you. 

I see this discussion going sideways as usual. Where are we now, picnics?

Did the hikers have a basket, bag, shopping bag, a few juice bottles and a blanket.. what raised the suspicion they were going to place themselves at risk from a baboon raid? You say children. Any idea how traumatised children are around baboons aggressively attacking food? Did they make special arrangement for a monitor to accompany them, as is usual practice for an event like birthdays, or corporate do's?

Did you have a basket, bag, shopping bag, a few juice bottles and a blanket in easy sight of the ranger?

See, the difference here is that you again want to flood this discussion with points that suits your agenda. It's not that complex, unless you choose to make it so.

Their ticket office opens at 7/730, as stated in the OP. 

You may not ether without a ticket.

If you have an activity card and you are stopped in the park before 7, you will not get a fine.

They are aware of the issues but a solution is not available at this time.

repeat, repeat. 

PS, your statement in bold is just plain stupid. More so about the attitude than the offence... 

the no picnicking is to prevent you getting attacked by baboons. If you rode up and had a picnic then they probably didn't notice you had food packed. You're not suggesting they should have x-ray machines at the entrance to check what your primary objective is? At the end of the day it is up to us to respect the rules and not seek but advantage that benefits only our objective. If we want to be policed they could simply ban us. Then they'd make a few bob selling carbon frames.

ah if you think this baboons are harmless, one of my riding buddies was attacked last night. We were riding up to the arboretum and young male with his kint was being chased by a alpha male. the young male and his kint were looking back and didn't notice us and the male nearly ran into my pal. He didn't smaak this and went for my pal with fangs and claws . the oke nearly wet himself and defended himself by placing the bike between himself the male.

I just get the feeling from all this bitching sessions we have on the hub that mountain bikers in the cape want a full on police anti-riot squad on ever corner of the trail before they start to play ball.

very hard to distinguish what people actually want cos everything just seems to be a moan.

You are not kidding. I have personally driven people and pets to medical help because of these very baboons.

DJR has a story to tell too. His friend Gary is lucky he deals with large business law because it's only that tenacity that I still believe got the baboon to back down!

Haha. Yeah and you better be there.

date time? and I'll check my diary.

Meeting pass application may take longer than an application for permission to enter a USAF base