• Replies 38

We just waitin for that Santa and its rider !

Big%20smile Mampara when are you joining us at the spruit for a nice play session on some of the drop offs and gap jumps? your SC will love it!

Pointless discussion.  You guys have made up your mind.

as for the surfing/MTB comparison.  Same thing' date=' different medium. 

pointless to you. it is only a pointless discussion when the only contribution you can make is question some other commentator's riding ability.

and, yes, there are similarities between surfing and mtb, but there are ever bigger differences. there are only so many ways to make your way down a mountain, but in surfing the mountain is always moving and evolving. some days the mountain isn't there. you can vary your speed on the way down a mountain and get away with it, slow down on an vertical wall of aleutian juice and you're tickets.
We just waitin for that Santa and its rider !

Big%20smile Mampara when are you joining us at the spruit for a nice play session on some of the drop offs and gap jumps? your SC will love it!

That bike can handle whatever you want it to but the rider is a totally different story. I like wide hardpack around me, nothing raised or that sudenly drops-off.

[

pointless to you. it is only a pointless discussion when the only contribution you can make is question some other commentator's riding ability.

and' date= yes, there are similarities between surfing and mtb, but there are ever bigger differences. there are only so many ways to make your way down a mountain, but in surfing the mountain is always moving and evolving. some days the mountain isn't there. you can vary your speed on the way down a mountain and get away with it, slow down on an vertical wall of aleutian juice and you're tickets.
[/quote]

I take it then that you speak from experience and I am not having a discussion with an arm-chair expert. 
[

and' date= yes, there are similarities between surfing and mtb, but there are ever bigger differences. there are only so many ways to make your way down a mountain, but in surfing the mountain is always moving and evolving. some days the mountain isn't there. you can vary your speed on the way down a mountain and get away with it, slow down on an vertical wall of aleutian juice and you're tickets.
[/quote]

I take it then that you speak from experience and I am not having a discussion with an arm-chair expert. 

oh, daft one, i take it that you don't read posts before replying. scan, no make that read my earlier posts and you may get some idea where i'm coming from.

ps when is your brother chad's next movie coming out? was so happy when he got his day job back! 

Boet I know exactly where you coming from.  But you are talking absolute nonsense.  If you had any idea at the skill, or courage involved to perform any of the said tricks that the guys are throwing out, you may appreciate the progression of the sport more.

But it seems to me that you are one of those guys who criticize on misinformation.

There does not have to be a mountain in MTB FR.  You get flatland, you get trials and now some german guys are starting a form of parkour style mtb.  How is that not progressing? 

So in my view, anyone willing to put it out there that a sport is not progressing, should maybe be able to put his body on the line to understand it first, and then make a qualified statement about it. 

oh, my sweet little anakin, you are living up to your name, because that is the daftest thing i have read today. following your reasoning, unless i scrum down against bakkies botha, i shouldn't write about rugby. unless i take a ball to the body from glenn mcgath, i shouldn't comment on cricket.

i have said elsewhere on this thread that i totally appreciate and admire the skill that these guys have, but, as a consumer of the media - dvd, mags, websites, etc - i have noticed a stagnancy in the sport of freeriding. that said, i still buy some mags for the amazing photography and excellent writing. this would be borne out by a reading of the latest " retrospective" issue of " bike". 

much of what is being done today is following a path blazed many, many years ago by hans rey. what is happening now seems to be mere - albeit impressive - variations of what has been done before. i know all about flatland, urban downhills and freeride competitions, park riding, slopestyle, all-mountain free-riding, etc, etc?

and, since you asked, yes, i have taken a fair amount of hits to the body - on the trails, in the hills, at the parks, at the bmx tracks - particularly in my earlier mtb years. i am 38 now and can still thrash it around a bit. i have also been caught in overhead surf at hectic spots like kalk bay and crayfish factory. so call me a armchair expert if you will. not at all insulted.

the question posed was a philosophical one, not an invite to a p!ssing contest. perhaps you have been putting your head and not your body on the line? 
daemon' date=' you're right about the fmx thing: the last big thing was the double backflip - watch it on youtube.

Nay oh nay... there have been a number of variations on this already.

Especially our own 'Sick' Nick de Witt, who rides on the international Redbull/KTM Team. He's doing a backlip with a no hander no footer as well as a backflip superman.

Wait til the Masters Of Dirt event hits our shores.
daemon' date=' you're right about the fmx thing: the last big thing was the double backflip - watch it on youtube.

Nay oh nay... there have been a number of variations on this already.

Especially our own 'Sick' Nick de Witt, who rides on the international Redbull/KTM Team. He's doing a backlip with a no hander no footer as well as a backflip superman.

Wait til the Masters Of Dirt event hits our shores.

my point exactly. for a while the flip is big, then it gets improved upon and mixed up with other tricks. but the groundswell event is the inital rotation. not so?
already done bru.  I can't remember who it was but they did a tailwhip while rotaing around teh front of the bike in the opposite direction.

No half measures. The bike must do a back rotation and the rider front. Has anybody done a front summersault yet? On the BMX they do it.