Cannondale Stems

Omicrom

Hi to all , not sure how the poll works but here it goes:

I am a 3D designer/ modeler, I designed a Cannondale drop stem that is shorter than conventional stems and drops more and I would love to get some opinions. (find attached pictures)

The manufacturing cost of the stem came out a lot more  than I hoped for.

So what would you pay for such a stem and do you feel there is a need for stems like these?

Also if any body can do CNC work can you please contact me.

Thanks for your time.

post-101195-0-07584800-1476723928_thumb.jpg

post-101195-0-66666700-1476724008_thumb.jpg

post-101195-0-02087500-1476724019_thumb.jpg

post-101195-0-77901000-1476724035_thumb.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

I like the design, and would probably use one; but don't know if production costs would be viable.

Are you planning on machining from a solid aluminum billet?

Have a look at the Leonardi range of stems for the Cannondale. This will give you an idea of price as well. Albeit they are quite expensive. Also bear in mind that since 2016 model range the stems are different than the older OPi systems.

Yes I am planning on milling it from a solid block of Aluminium 6083 T6.

Weight will be around 200 grams if calculations are correct.

The problem is Milling one at a time is very expensive so If there is enough interest I can do a bulk order and that would lower the manufacturing cost significantly.

So any suggestions are more than welcome.

Have a look at the Leonardi range of stems for the Cannondale. This will give you an idea of price as well. Albeit they are quite expensive. Also bear in mind that since 2016 model range the stems are different than the older OPi systems.

I did look at Leonardi , I wanted to sell my stems at around R800 , but because my current order is so small it will cost me 4x that just to get one made.

I like the design, might use one depending on price obviously.

What about 3D printing as an option?  Not strong enough?