[Event] The Great Kei Trek MTB Experience

Event Name: The Great Kei Trek MTB Experience
When: 28 April 2018 - 30 April 2018
Where: Queenstown Airport, Eastern Cape
Category: MTB

The Great Kei Trek; a tour, not a race, from Queenstown to Morgan Bay.

The riding – much of the route will be based on existing roads and tracks, but we have met with many of the farmers and other landowners in the region and they have granted us permission to build and create our own tracks.

The route will take you from Queenstown to Thomas River, to Komga , to Morgan Bay.

The route has been scouted by Deanbean, and will improve from year to year, as we refine the race and gain access to more properties.

Go to Event Page
  • Replies 53

Day 1-  Queenstown to Thomas River.

The start at the Queenstown Airfield runs onto gravel roads, unfortunately at this stage no jeep track or single track for the first 45km.

After the Hylton Church, the route turns off onto an old road, jeep track for the most part, with some technical climbs for the next 15km, where you turn off the road onto Jeep track and single-track to the highest point of the day.

Beyond this you will cross the tar road for some lekker cattle tracks and jeep track down hills with some hard climbing, over the Hogsback Road, to the Happy Valley road.

After the Happy Valley road you will be riding along an old stock gang, which the farmers in the early part of the 1900's used to trek their stock to the coast for the winter months, and back again for the summer. You will be encountering these gangs every now and again on the Trek.

At the top of the hill, you descend into the Thomas River valley, through some farmsteads, and head along the gravel road to the Old Thomas River Station, or the Tavern, as the locals know it, which is the camp for the night.

Here you will be entertained by the local farmers, beware of their hospitality, it could make day 2 heavy going.

post-2975-0-60872500-1510901706_thumb.jpg

I'm gonna keep an eye out on this and study those elevations. 

maybe a short term goal I can work towards that will coincide with my road trip around SA plans for 2018. 

it's all downhill.....

As Fanie says, it's all downhill, except for a few little hills on day 2, oh and one or two on day 3 too

Day 2, some of this could change, busy working on a little detour with some land owners

post-2975-0-18751500-1511351599_thumb.jpg

Day 3

post-2975-0-05395200-1511351612_thumb.jpg

Edited by deanbean
  • 3 months later...

The planning for the Great Kei Trek is coming on nicely, and the route development is forging ahead.

Day 2 Starts at The Old Thomas River Tavern,

post-2975-0-32010500-1519629041_thumb.jpg

for those that got stuck in the pub with the locals the night before

post-2975-0-51529900-1519629054_thumb.jpg

there's a "gentle" 8km climb to start the day. Then it's downhill to the Toise River, and under the Scenic N6.

The route then takes you through friendly villages, to the Qacu Forest Reserve, one of the last breeding areas of the critically endangered  Cape Parrots.

post-2975-0-26071000-1519631020_thumb.jpg

Photo Courtesy of Rodnick Biljon and the Cape Parrot Project facebook page https://www.facebook.com/groups/capeparrotproject/

Once through the Forest reserve, you will be meandering through farms and along gravel roads, until you hit the descent into the Kubusie River. 

post-2975-0-38485900-1519631030_thumb.jpg

There will be a no pedalling Strava zone here, to even things up for the heftier riders, because the Strava up the other side will definitely not be to their advantage. The road is a bit steep. Take a moment before the bridge to take some pics of the scenery, it is magnificent.

post-2975-0-89142800-1519631042_thumb.jpg

From the top of the Kubusie pass, you’ll ride through another of the stock gangs, through a farm to the now defunct railway between Amabele and Butterworth. It’s an easy ride into Komga next to the railway line from here.

• 3 weeks later...

The Great Kei Trek  : 28 - 30 April 2018

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/newGKTheader.jpg

If this video doesn’t get you to want to ride The Great Kei Trek, nothing will

We have just returned from a trip down to the Eastern Cape, where we will be hosting The Great Kei Trek; and thanks to the team from ATV Productions, here’s a little teaser of what to expect.

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/GKTVimeo.png

If this doesn’t get your attention, then possibly nothing will….. just saying

So best you enter now.

And remember that Kulula, our Official Airline Sponsor and Partner of The Great Kei Trek is offering a lucky entrant a chance to win two return tickets to East London. If you have already entered, do not despair. You will automatically be entered into the draw.

The dates are 28, 29 & 30 April.

(As a matter of interest - The 27th of April and the 1st of May are Public holidays, so you will only need to take one day’s leave)

Overview

The Great Kei Trek, is a 3-day, 260km race/ ride that will be something new and exciting on the MTB calendar.
This will definitely appeal to those who traditionally use the months of April or May for their “away-game”. So if you are tired of doing the “same old-same-old”, or are still stuck on a waiting list, and you are looking for something new, this is definitely something for you.

A 2-rider team race, fully catered for, with different tented accommodation options – read more on 
www.greatkeitrek.co.za  - and some new and exciting tracks, and of course some stunning Eastern Cape Hospitality – something that will get you wanting to do this ride. (Warning – the Eastern Cape okes, especially the farmers, know how to look after you)

Why is Great Kei Trek so special?

The riding – much of the route will be based on existing roads and tracks, but we have met with many of the farmers and other landowners in the region and they have granted us permission to build and create our own tracks. So much of the trail you will be riding will be almost brand new.

Offer riding that will give riders a good mix of single track, jeep track and dirt roads
More focused on this being a tour – not a race
Strava sections – this will appeal to some of the “downhill racers”, as well as the climbers, and the technical guys/ girls
VIP hospitality all round – see more about the fun tented accommodation options
Not a mass participation event – limited numbers
Not as expensive as competitor events
E-Bike category 
Unique riding to the area
Good Eastern Cape hospitality.

Logistics

Find out more about our Logistics arrangements. We have made it as easy as possible for you to register, and have your bike transported to the start and back from the finish. (At this stage for Gauteng Riders)

We will also have a complimentary shuttle service waiting to take you from the East London Airport to the start and from the finish back to the airport.

Queenstown: Rider Registration, Race Briefing & Start Venue & Accommodation

Rider registration and Race Briefing will take place at Queens College Boys High School, my old school, which incidentally is turning 160 years old in April – we will confirm exactly where at the school closer to the time.

Rider Registration: 12h00 – 16h00

Rider Briefing: 16h00

The Great Kei Trek will start at Roydon Private Nature Reserve, Lodge, Conference and Adventure Centre, situated approximately 10km outside Queenstown. (www.roydon.co.za)

We will have shuttles running from Queens College to Roydon.

Roydon will also be offering a special welcome braai dinner the night before the race and this will be included in your accommodation package should you choose to book and stay here.
We will keep you posted, but our advice is to book now to avoid disappointment. 

Finish Venue

We will now be finishing at the Kei Mouth Golf Course, situated approximately 2.6km from the Morgan Bay Hotel – sadly there is a nasty 700m “sting-in-the-tail” at the end, so please pick on the course designer – Dean Bean, and NOT the Race Organiser, Rob. Thanks

In Closing

Entries will be closing in early April, but before we close, we will be off on another trip to the Eastern Cape and will bring you up to speed on new developments.

I’ve said this before, but the farmers and the various communities are really excited about The Great Kei Trek. It promises to be something special, different and absolutely fantastic.

And Finally: If the route is not to your liking you can shoot down the route manager, Deanbean, on The Bikehub.co.za’s Great Kei Trek thread. He’ll be wearing his fireproof suit and bullet proof vest for the week of and after the GKT.

For any queries, please don’t hesitate to contact me on rob@leveragecorporation.co.za

Chat soon

Regards

Rob Jackson & The Leverage Corporation Team

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/enterhere.jpg

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/FINDOUTMORE.jpg

Sponsors

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/LibertySml.png

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/Luxliner.png

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/bridgestone.jpg

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/Dailydispatch.png

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/kulula.png

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/splashworks1.png

Upcoming Events - Jan to April 2018

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/Cradle.png

http://cdn.myactive.co.za/wm-63503-cmsimages/xsGKT.png

14 - 15 April 2018

28 - 30 April 2018

• 1 month later...

So who is riding this weekend,

the final route maps

post-2975-0-99211500-1524485344_thumb.jpg

post-2975-0-14117300-1524485361_thumb.jpg

post-2975-0-31190300-1524485416_thumb.jpg

If you are in the area on Monday and want to ride the last day, enter online at https://greatkeitrek.myactive.co.za/capturedetails/registration.aspx , or you can enter Monday morning at the Komga showgrounds

The route has been affected by the extremely wet autumn we've had, so excuse the length of the gravel roads on day 2. I got chased back to my bakkie last Sunday by pig-hunters and their dogs, and an Ngulube on my recce, but the route was too wet anyway.

My bike after the recce

post-2975-0-21690700-1524486195_thumb.jpg