Houw Hoek Tour 2018

Cookie88

Great weather - usual lekker trails and 5 star hotel style water points.

Also they did something different with the seeding this year and everyone got a sticker as they crossed the line on day 1 that sorted us into roughly seeded groups that made things a bit easier on day 2 than it has been in the past.

This is my third or 4th one I think but I'm not sure I'll do it again - it's an expensive weekend considering that the Paul Cluver trails can be done anytime for 50 bucks and the second day, while still good fun isn't as lovely a ride as the first. 

Of course I'm an addict so I may change my mind.

I also rode back to Houw Hoek on day 2 which added another dimension to the experience.

Hmmm .... I'll probably be there next year. 

Great weather - usual lekker trails and 5 star hotel style water points.

Also they did something different with the seeding this year and everyone got a sticker as they crossed the line on day 1 that sorted us into roughly seeded groups that made things a bit easier on day 2 than it has been in the past.

This is my third or 4th one I think but I'm not sure I'll do it again - it's an expensive weekend considering that the Paul Cluver trails can be done anytime for 50 bucks and the second day, while still good fun isn't as lovely a ride as the first. 

Of course I'm an addict so I may change my mind.

I also rode back to Houw Hoek on day 2 which added another dimension to the experience.

Hmmm .... I'll probably be there next year. 

Which route did you take to get back?  Eish, going up the pass must have been a fun experience 

What I find interesting is how they have kept the entry fee almost the same for the past 5 years whilst improving the event and overall experience.

I did it HH 2013/2014 and then again last year, big difference.

Other events simply hike their entry fees every year

Enjoyable event to do

This year around I tried the tru-cape, as it always falls on the same weekend, but fairly sure next year if all goes well and able to, I will again be lining up at the HH.

Lekker weekend with friends and family in a non race environment. Water tables were amazing as were the trails and the weather. Would definitely recommend it!

Awesome weekend, stayed at our accommodation up the road closer to Peregrine. Had a group of 10 of which around 6 were riding. Great cause those non-riders were able to shoot down to Onrus for a swim/surf on both days and then join us at the finish line.

Waterpoints again 10/10, organisation also great and enjoyed the new bit of single track on Day 1. From a bang for buck point of view, this a great value for money (even if you can go ride Paul Cluver for R50) - if I'm around next year I'll be back for more!

Packed the bakkie on friday evening and saturday morning getting ready to leave bakkie wont start. (left a door open) quickly get my car tool kit and guess what jumper cables gone and cannot even remember who borrowed it.  :cursing: Wife needed the second car and i was stranded.

Tried to get hold of the organizers to see if i can at least still be part of the sunday with me missing registration on saturday but to no avail. Decided screw it and didn't even bother driving through.

Straight on the main drag out of Hermanus, over the rollers into the headwind which was less fun and then up the pass, thankfully sheltered from the wind. Only 35k with about 600m elevation.

Which route did you take to get back?  Eish, going up the pass must have been a fun experience 

Straight on the main drag out of Hermanus, over the rollers into the headwind which was less fun and then up the pass, thankfully sheltered from the wind. Only 35k with about 600m elevation.

on the N2?