Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

Osman, laat weet my waneer jy HNP toe gaan. Ek het lank lass my gat af gelag. (Bout ten minutes ago when a kid sent me  funny e-mail but I want to have one of those laugh till you cry things.

smiley17.gif
  • Replies 9.2k
Slave

Put on those Specialized shoes' date=' clip into those pedals and find yrself a 70 kph truck to slipstream, and you reach 60 in no time, push little harder and you'll be on 65.

Alternative - go to Hector Norris, get one of their development bikes and take a few laps round the track, you'll reach 65 in no time coming off the bank.

Buddy, buddy, buddy. I just can't concieve the notion that shoes can make so much difference to a ride or ones ability to go that much faster.

In case you haven't quite grasped the concept yet, I am seriously slow. I can count on one hand (and probably have some change too) the number of timesI have been over 65. They have all been on a downhill down a mineshaft.

Butchers, Camaro and Columbine. My best speed ever on the allewynspoort road was 54 the day we chased that truck. In case you were wondering, I fell off long before you did.

Seriously dude, my best time for the 100m sprint at school was 14.5 seconds. That'salmost as slow as running 5 minute k's.

So, the shoes are attached to feet which are attached to legs. The same legs that can no longer do 100 m sprints and the same legs that stop peddling when I reach 60 going down mineshafts. Reason I stop peddling, I can't keep up that speed.

Unless you thinking of getting me onto the truck, I will have to do lots of speeed training to get fast enough to get near it above 50. 

Guest Agteros
gee Ox' date=' that is now a confidence builder deluxe.

with Slave as a friend, who needs ..............?[/quote']

He has pleaded sickness as reason not to mete out punishment on Sat...

Maybe this is his 'new way'?
Slave

Put on those Specialized shoes' date=' clip into those pedals and find yrself a 70 kph truck to slipstream, and you reach 60 in no time, push little harder and you'll be on 65.

Alternative - go to Hector Norris, get one of their development bikes and take a few laps round the track, you'll reach 65 in no time coming off the bank.

Buddy, buddy, buddy. I just can't concieve the notion that shoes can make so much difference to a ride or ones ability to go that much faster.

In case you haven't quite grasped the concept yet, I am seriously slow. I can count on one hand (and probably have some change too) the number of timesI have been over 65. They have all been on a downhill down a mineshaft.

Butchers, Camaro and Columbine. My best speed ever on the allewynspoort road was 54 the day we chased that truck. In case you were wondering, I fell off long before you did.

Seriously dude, my best time for the 100m sprint at school was 14.5 seconds. That'salmost as slow as running 5 minute k's.

So, the shoes are attached to feet which are attached to legs. The same legs that can no longer do 100 m sprints and the same legs that stop peddling when I reach 60 going down mineshafts. Reason I stop peddling, I can't keep up that speed.

Unless you thinking of getting me onto the truck, I will have to do lots of speeed training to get fast enough to get near it above 50. 

blah blah blah

get on your bike and go give it a try.

care to tell us what your speed was going up the bottom section of the steps behind that bakkie the other day?

huh huh?

now who's the slow one's?

no Slave - stop pretending, people know you by now, you profess openly what you ride, so people have long memories.

go champsmiley32.gifsmiley32.gifsmiley32.gif
Guest Agteros
Slave

yada-yada-yada

Proper cleats and shoes make a HUGE difference!

Many many years (not even moons) - this is like last century(1991)! I started with toestraps and rigid soled shoes - after that upgraded to proper Look pedals (cost a farm then - R300 in old money) and the difference was HUGE!!!

It sure makes your pedal stroke more efficient and you can apply pressure through a longer arc of the pedal circle! So give it a try (so we can laugh at you when you stop and keel over - feet in pedals! smiley36.gif - we all started out like that smiley2.gif)

Ohh and another thing (And I'm sure GO and Trubie will back me up here) is that you will start going faster the moment you stop being stuborn, and start to spin those legs/feets (also easier with proper cleats/shoes smiley20.gif)

Stop pushing big gears, and learn to spin - even if you have to set the stop screws on the FD to prevent you from changing into the big blade!

Agteros...send Gary Rabie a PM and I am sure he will be able to hook you up with a development ride of some sort...as well as training times.

I have to agree Slave, your gonna see a big difference with the shoes...especially up short steep inclines....your gonna wonder how you ever did without them!

As for riding at 65kph...its a common thing on the track...in fact 65kph is entry level speed for sprinting. Try a shoulder to shoulder shoving match in a Keirin at 70kph+ and you'll soon know what excitement is.

Slight change in topic...who has seen that clip on YouTube of Indurain flying past then world champion Lance Armstrong in the one time trial stage of the Tour? Thats scary!

I'd love to have seen those 2 have a go at each other at the top of their games...I figure Armstrong would have lost to Indurain every time.
Guest Agteros
Agteros...send Gary Rabie a PM and I am sure he will be able to hook you up with a development ride of some sort...as well as training times.

Thanks GO. Slave we have to make a plan! smiley2.gif

As for riding at 65kph...its a common thing on the track...in fact 65kph is entry level speed for sprinting. Try a shoulder to shoulder shoving match in a Keirin at 70kph+ and you'll soon know what excitement is.

What cadence are they guys doing at these speeds? Put differently what gear ratios are commonly used on a track bike?

Slight change in topic...who has seen that clip on YouTube of Indurain flying past then world champion Lance Armstrong in the one time trial stage of the Tour? Thats scary!

Web address?

Topic Change

Tonight should have been a running nite' date=' but had to play taxi for chess classes. Decided to take  the IDT for a spin. Did about 30 minutes, quads are definately burning [img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley4.gif[/img] Nice  stats and info it gave me - power, cadence, speed, distance, incline.... Should start to record these now! Will definately start doing it more regularly from now on

Agteros2009-05-07 14:25:38

Jirrrrrre maar julle kan neg ne. Soos n klomp ou vrouens.

Ok, I'm getting the shoes anyway. I did my 20 k route as a time trial yesterday arvie to get a baseline to test it against. Bloody wind blew me around all over the place and my time was a minute 25 slower than last time. smiley7.gif

Next week, I'll give it another go and see if it makes all this difference.

I still think I need new legs and not shoes. Since I can replace the shoes, the legs will have to learn new tricks.

BTW Ox, I am spinning a lot more than I used to. I use much easier gears now.

Even up to a year ago, I never used my small chain ring. Only the big one and I never even used the top two gears (cogs) on my six speed cluster.) Wait, I lie, I used them once when I climbed Camaro. 

Looking forward to testing this theory. Watch this space.

Slave, your new shoes won't make you faster smiley19.gif

It will however increase your pedalling efficiency smiley4.gif and let's not forget the bling effect (new gear)

Increased efficiency theoretically means less effort required to get the same result that you would get with your current setup smiley1.gif

With you now using less effort, you have that little bit more in reserve for that sprint to the T-junction, or attacking up da steps. Like GO said, you'll notice the difference on the uphills and especially when you sprint.

You also don't have to worry about your shoes pulling out the toe-clips when you generate those Mega Watts of power.

Zachery my point Frosty.

I do subscribe to the theory that if you have the correct toys, you can play any game. Otherwise known as having the right tool for the job, but I just cannot fathom the idea that it will increase my speed.

I do know that I will have to focus on changing some bad habits and improving my pedal stroke. I have recently discovered that I push hard over the top of the stroke, sort of like a car engine firing a few degrees before top dead centre and I think this is horribly inefficient and I only try and change the bahaviour when I am aware of it. Most times though, I just do it without thinking.

So, there has been litte danger of pulling out of the toe clips and I have never experienced that. My high school bike had toe clips so I'm used to themand it's going to be a whole new learning curve for me.

GOv2.0, dude, I think I'm going to need some coaching to get a decent pedal stroke going. Any ideas.

Psst guys - I am trying my utmost best to convince the man that the shoes will make a difference, to get him back on the fricckin bike. Dont tell him it wont work....

As for this morn, it was the first day that the mercury dropped to 9degr.brrrr

Tmrw morning we are going out at 5:00, and I will then join the short loop after that ride.

(To check out Slave's shoes, and to be witness to Ox getting a good hiding up the steps)smiley4.gif

Zachery my point Frosty.

I do subscribe to the theory that if you have the correct toys' date=' you can play any game. Otherwise known as having the right tool for the job, but I just cannot fathom the idea that it will increase my speed.

I do know that I will have to focus on changing some bad habits and improving my pedal stroke. I have recently discovered that I push hard over the top of the stroke, sort of like a car engine firing a few degrees before top dead centre and I think this is horribly inefficient and I only try and change the bahaviour when I am aware of it. Most times though, I just do it without thinking.

So, there has been litte danger of pulling out of the toe clips and I have never experienced that. My high school bike had toe clips so I'm used to themand it's going to be a whole new learning curve for me.

GOv2.0, dude, I think I'm going to need some coaching to get a decent pedal stroke going. Any ideas.

Yip, you can start by talking less and pedalling more. You'll be amazed at the results.

Yip' date=' you can start by talking less and pedalling more. You'll be amazed at the results.

smiley36.gifsmiley36.gifsmiley36.gif

Back to your earlier question re how fast I was going behind that bakkie, I have no idea Trubie, He was going slowly so that his daughter could catch up and hook onto the main group.

It was just what I needed though to recover from that hectic dash to the stop street. My legs were a bit shattered there and the recovery helped me get to the top of the steps ahead of the pack. Then you okes caught me and dropped my ass again.smiley5.gifsmiley18.gif

smiley2.gif

Psst guys - I am trying my utmost best to convince the man that the shoes will make a difference' date=' to get him back on the fricckin bike. Dont tell him it wont work....

As for this morn, it was the first day that the mercury dropped to 9degr.brrrr

Tmrw morning we are going out at 5:00, and I will then join the short loop after that ride.

(To check out Slave's shoes, and to be witness to Ox getting a good hiding up the steps)[img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley4.gif[/img]

Trubie best you tell your 5am riding mates that they should put lights on their bikes. I went past one guy today who was but a shadow in the dark street, he must have a death wish.

Tomorrow is Saturday dude, you can stay in bed later (have you found out what BM weather means yet ? smiley2.gif)

Slave is only going to fetch his new shoes on Saturday morning after his last cycle with toe clips so you'll have to come and ride on Sunday to see Slave powered by Specialized.

I think OX has been doing secret training and this weekend his flying solo so be warned.

BTW, Trubes, I got back on the bike yesterday afternoon. I've had a very slow week training-wise, but I am not off the bike, just tapering / having a rest / being lazy. Circle whatever answer you think is applicable.

I did my 20 k route as a time trial. Hurt  a bit in that wind, but it was good otherwise. Slightly slower than before by a minute and a half.

Now, I have a reasonable baseline against which to test your theory. And, I'm getting the shoes anyway. Done deal dude.

Kid sent me a link and I chatted to the man, going to pick up shoes tomorrow afternoon.

He might keeeel me if I arrive at his house at 05h00 to get shoes to go and ride with at 07h00. And besides, I still have to go and get cleats for it and get them set up. So i can faff about with my bike all afternoon tomorrow. A joyous affair. Yeeeee haaaaaa.