Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

I thought Owls are supposed to be wise and a GreyOwl is supposed to be super wise so he should know better than to sell the PRINCE.

GreyOwl knows its a mortal sin to sell the PRINCE !!!
  • Replies 9.2k

Ah, but the owl is wise. He has plans and somehow the Prince got in the way of those plans.

He would never have sold it without good reason.

Speaking of mortal sins. Is it not a mortal sin to covet thy neighbours Prince?

Ah' date=' but the owl is wise. He has plans and somehow the Prince got in the way of those plans.

He would never have sold it without good reason.

Speaking of mortal sins. Is it not a mortal sin to covet thy neighbours Prince?

It is only a mortal sin to take they neighbours PRINCE and crash it.

Otherwise all is good!!!!

But that is where you are wrong dude. Taking thy neighbours Prince and crashing it is three mortal sins.

1. Coveting it (enough to ...

2. Steal it... and

3. Crashing a Prince is the eleventh commandment, but the tablets were only big enough for ten.

Thanks dude and thanks for the phone call this AM.

Today was made more special by some great friends I have made right here on the Hub.

Sometimes the Kid makes me tired and feel my age, but all in all, this place is made special by the likes of all of you.

So, we going to celebrate this day by being happy to be alive and all the more so by being very happy that we can ride bikes and have been blessed with good health.

Oom Slave, just remember to stay away from anything Scotchish tonight and I'll see you tomorrow at 6:30am!!!

I much rather watch you fix punctures / change tubes. smiley36.gifsmiley36.gifsmiley36.gifsmiley36.gif

Thanks dude and thanks for the phone call this AM.

Today was made more special by some great friends I have made right here on the Hub.

Sometimes the Kid makes me tired and feel my age' date=' but all in all, this place is made special by the likes of all of you.

So, we going to celebrate this day by being happy to be alive and all the more so by being very happy that we can ride bikes and have been blessed with good health.

you are welcome

Oom Slave' date=' just remember to stay away from anything Scotchish tonight and I'll see you tomorrow at 6:30am!!!

I much rather watch you fix punctures / change tubes. [img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley36.gif[/img]smiley36.gifsmiley36.gifsmiley36.gif

Well, I guess that I am now officially in that age group of being considered the elder generation. So where is the respect young man? You really going to sit on your bike and watch me fix my own punctures?smiley19.gif

Eish.

It's a big milestone I have reached and I am expected to celebrate this milestone which means I have to indulge in a few things scottish.

I will do my best not to overindulge so I am able to ride tomorrow.

How was that rain yesterday? I planned to ride when I got home and was appalled when I left the bank and it was chucking down.

Good thing I got a good ride on the day before.

Whatever happens, I will ride tomorrow. Just not sure of the time and distance. All depends on how stuff pans out tonight.

I can always have a few irish coffees. That way I stay off the scottish stuff.

So it was sunday and it was hot and it was dusty and it was time for the MTN series race , 1/2 marathon over 43 km's. My 1st MTB race, and the 3rd ride on the bike I bought in July.smiley19.gif

How totally out of place I felt at the start.

Man alive, those machine's these people pitch on is just amazing........

My experience - I rode 12 mins on the first 10 km's?!

Bloody hell this is easy stuff man. Realized then the Polar is not working properly. Aggggg no man, not this, not now, I need this info to be able to pace myself during the race. How the heck will I know when to expect the hill? How fast can I go if I have no idea of how much is left in the race?

Seems the race I picked is the one all the youngsters do.

I learned this race is the 5th in a series of seven, with a series leader and so on and so on. He even has to wear a special pink jersey.

Anyhow, the race started, I was sort of in the middle of the pack, waaaaaaay to far back to even think of a decent start.

Dust and rubbish is all I saw and felt and smelled and swallowed for the first probably 4/5 km's. Then it was sort of settled ito positions etc, untill we got to the first tar section, here I made up plenty places, passing these okes as if they have just done 50 km's - they are really soft?

So we continue back onto the dirt roads, more fast riding, and I keep on moving forward. What do these okes & gals know, that I dont. Cant worry too much about it , so just put your head down and go. Soon realized I suck big time on the single track and other more technical sections. They drop my ass big time, I struggle back on the next  - for me ok section, and then the process repeats itself. I only have the clock to guide me now, as my max speed is already 81. I ride as hard as possible where its possible, then on the "technical sections", it feels as if I am going backwards and looking for parking.

At the first waterpoint I hear a crash behind me happening, dont bother to check, maybe I caused it! People stopping cause the have barbed wire in their wheels and around the crank arms etc, some fixing punctures, etc.. All happens so fast I used 1 energy gel on 30 mins, no time to swallow another, its too difficult to take your hands of the bars/brakes, and I sure as hell wont stop to do it.

It feels as if my seat is loose, its moving around and irritatting the crap out of me. My rear wheels looks flattish. Every corner becomes a nightmare as I slide around it with this flattish tyre. Tubeless certainly the way to go. The tyre actually geels ok now, but its funny what your mind tells you when you start getting a little tired.

Well my real test came on some frightening downhill sections, dodging rocks, branches, thorns and other debris in the way. Close shaves more than once causes me to slow down, get back onto the trail and pick up the rhythm once again. So it went on and on and on, we pass a waterpoint and they say 9 km's left. It felt more like 20, but the last 6 km's is twisting and winding section where you can see the finsh but get reminded by distance markers from 5km out what is left. This thick sand thing around each turn breaks my rhythm time and again, with about 4kms left the 4 frontrunners in the 77 km(I now hear it was the 116 km, didn't see Evans though), passes me at breakneck speed.........

The last km felt like an eternity, and to make sure you make a grand entrance there is a hump about 1.5 m high you go over just before turning left into the finshing straight. How on earth this bike (Silverback Alpine) withstood all that was thrown at it today is a wonder, but I survived, the bike survived and I ended the week on a high. 280 km's, 11 hrs in the bank.

Now I dont know how long the results will take, but I am glad I didnt have to do the 77/116 kms races.

For the support, Slave and Ox - much appreciated guys! Next one is on me.
Trubie2009-08-30 11:55:21
Well done Trubes! Enjoyed the 77k today was lekker fun but ja that dust in the beginning was a bit rough .....

Thanks BB

Ground breaking stuff there for me today!!smiley18.gifsmiley18.gifsmiley18.gif

What did you make of the course?

Thought it was pretty fast and not much technical but loads of sweet singletrack.

That zigzagging at the end was a bit tough on the mind but still enjoyed it even though the legs were toast by then.
Thought it was pretty fast and not much technical but loads of sweet singletrack.

That zigzagging at the end was a bit tough on the mind but still enjoyed it even though the legs were toast by then.

I was afraid that would be the answer........

Much to learn and loads to practice I suppose.