Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

• Replies 9.2k
Hey Tachy! I'm keen to go lomg as well tomorrow. Been doing a lot of fast and hill work this week so want to spend some time in the saddle smiley20.gif

But do you have wheels on that bike ??smiley36.gifsmiley36.gif

Hey Tachy! I'm keen to go lomg as well tomorrow. Been doing a lot of fast and hill work this week so want to spend some time in the saddle smiley20.gif

But do you have wheels on that bike ??smiley36.gifsmiley36.gif

Ha ha ha I do indeedy! smiley36.gif

so you ride the wheels, then take em off and put them on the couch (ok sorry Chair) and wait for a buyer

next day again, etc...

once a seller pitches you will have excuses not to ride!

Kieran - seriously dude?!smiley5.gif

Is anybody doing the long route tomorrow' date=' not doing the carnival so need to put in a couple of km's[/quote']

there will be plenty takers on the long route........

Oi, what a strange race today.....

- never underestimate the severity of the CC, it may appear flat but those short and sometimes steep climbs takes a lot more out of you than you realize (ok sorry, maybe its just me and my big ass that battle there)

- happy to have finished about 4/5 mins inside my target time. Got dropped at about 82 km's on a nasty little incline , and finished 4 or so mins behind the bunch. Bad cramps from 80 k's onwards smiley9.gifsmiley19.gif

- thankful that the race went down without any crashes (well our bunch at least) and that I got through it unscathed

- experienced some dogs in the bunch for the first time ever. I am refering to two four legged one's who joined us just before we turned left onto the road that passes the SBR entrance. Frightening stuff to say the least. Fortunately they behaved! Unlike some others in the pack

- just before the crossing of the N3 at Heidelberg entrance, the bunch was stopped by the marshalls. It could have been 2 mins or so that we stood there and everyone argued with each other. I stand by my point, dq those in the wrong and the problem will stop. Keep talking about it and it will continue being a problem. Guys know they are wrong when they cross the line. Its so pathetic actually - as the marshall approaches, they all get back, soon as he passes, they back over the line again, racing forward to gain 2 places? wtf guys, catch a wake up or this is gonna get ugly.(reason for not knowing what real time is)

- some young prick in our bunch - rider 1251 - switches me 3 times in about ten km's. I decide to look for a opportunity to give him a piece of my mind when I can get next to him. on the downhill into Heidelberg he gets sandwiched between to riders, and throws a tantrum. I end up next to him and asked how it felt? After telling me , I give him a piece of my mind by telling him to watch what he does, and just ask if he wants to get a space in stead of changing his line by about a metre every time. He starts telling me I should go and learn to ride.. he had ridden in Belgium and all... the idiot is still a youngster with a huge attitude. So we exchange some unpleasantries and the rest of the race we just check each other out (wtf?), eventually he gets dropped and I see him afterwards at his car with family etc, go up to him and continue the discussion. Now he is very cocky cause of the strenght in numbers factor. Anyway I hope to see him in the next race, as we will certainly sort it out then!! smiley7.gifsmiley7.gif

- turning left of the Heidelberg Nigel road, I touched wheels with a guy that came left unexpectedly, I managed somehow to stay upright and not go down to my right. Had the shivvers for about 5 k's after that......

- Big up to Germ Wheelers for the organisation and closing of the last 5 k's. The staggered start also worked and I saw very few short dist riders in those last 15 k's..

Hope the team had a good day out.

Too bad Andy about the spoke bru.

You wasted too much time arguing Trubie. Pull his handlebar out, or switch him off the road. Thats the only way they learn, and if he had ridden in Belgium his riding skills would reflect that.

Its harsh, but it works. I had a guy like that in a bunch once, it started to bug me. I just waited for my chance, and into the next left hand corner I waited just behind him and slightly to his left. As we went into the corner I just waited on the brakes and as he turned in I went straight across his front wheel even clipping his wheel with my shoe. He went down and everyone shouted at him because he was getting on their nerves.

No one even suspected me. I know its evil, but thats bike racing.

I find if you start shouting about it, you get too worked up and then all that adrenaline makes you bomb afterwards.
Guest Agteros

B bunch caught up with the ladies at 54km (EVENTUALLY) after the hammer was lifted when the ladies came into sight. At 77km they came past us again!?!?

With us catching up to them I somehow lost the bunch (ok, I got tired.... maybe I must do some cycling training). Rode with some smaller groups after that. 

Went 5 minutes slower than what I was hoping for, but 5 minutes faster than what I was willing to accept. Not a bad day in the saddle.

Race was well marshalled, potholes/rough areas were marked very well! Group worked well in/around the potholes, shouting them out / slowing down.

Pity a lot of the racing happened on the wrong side of the white line!

Think Bike marshall helped keeping us safe getting past the ladies, and a red Yaris (part of race organisers? looking after ladies?) kept hooting at the blokes on the wrong side of the line.

The problem with these races is that they don't have many significant climbs to break the bunches up. Add to that the sh!t road conditions and there is simply not enough space for a huge bunch to ride right over to the left. Leave it the way it is and when cars approach the bunch will move off to give them space. And then that moaner who stopped us just stands in the middle of the freaking road when they let us go again! He should've got out the way!

Around the point where they stopped us some guy hit a stone which gave him a puncture. That stone then damaged my spoke and at 68km I had to pull over. I removed the spoke but the wheel still wasn't right. Luckily it was at a marshal point. Waited awhile and then the sweep vehicle came to fetch me. But then we had to go clear up a bad crash scene. The one oke didn't get up and his bike was messed. Both shifters badly damaged and rear DR snapped! His GF comes and sees him laying on the road. We loaded her bike on the bakkie and went back to CC. Last year my CC race was also bad!

The problem with these races is that they don't have many significant climbs to break the bunches up. Add to that the sh!t road conditions and there is simply not enough space for a huge bunch to ride right over to the left. Leave it the way it is and when cars approach the bunch will move off to give them space. And then that moaner who stopped us just stands in the middle of the freaking road when they let us go again! He should've got out the way!

Around the point where they stopped us some guy hit a stone which gave him a puncture. That stone then damaged my spoke and at 68km I had to pull over. I removed the spoke but the wheel still wasn't right. Luckily it was at a marshal point. Waited awhile and then the sweep vehicle came to fetch me. But then we had to go clear up a bad crash scene. The one oke didn't get up and his bike was messed. Both shifters badly damaged and rear DR snapped! His GF comes and sees him laying on the road. We loaded her bike on the bakkie and went back to CC. Last year my CC race was also bad!

Andy, wait till you race with the Elites. You dont need a hill to split the bunch...they'll do it on a pan flat road with a tail wind.

Andy' date=' wait till you race with the Elites. You dont need a hill to split the bunch...they'll do it on a pan flat road with a tail wind.

Ha ha ha ha ha smiley36.gifsmiley36.gifsmiley36.gif

Andy' date=' wait till you race with the Elites. You dont need a hill to split the bunch...they'll do it on a pan flat road with a tail wind.

Yes, until then I am stuck in a catch 22 situation with A - big bunches with no spnd moaning marshals. I have ridden a few races, or part of races, with the Elites.