Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

Thanks for the "bailout" Nuwbs. I knew you were racing Sunday, but I never knew you were going away for the weekend.smiley9.gif You need a baggage handler, chief cook and bottle wash? Have a good race. Now I know why you pushed us so hard on the "berg bus" and that little mini epic of yours.  

So, that means I can meet Kid at Klipriver and Vaal on Saturdayand Sunday. (Not the Caltex dude, the traffic light. I will be taking a diff route to get there than I would if we meet at Caltex. Make it 6h45 on Sunday, we have to leave in time so we can find Narco.

Narc, just for the record, I ride a blue peejou papnat and usually wear Panda kit but if it's cold I may be wearing the psychadellic Zebra. (Long sleeve "Look" cycling top with one blue and one red sleeve.)

Don't panic about Sunday dude, I have a feeling it's gonna be a recovery ride for me.

So, yesterday, I went up Camaro. Eish. or is that EISH!!!!!!!! Man that hill hurts. Only the second time I have ever done it but I was a jellyfied mass of broken bones and quivering blubber when I got to the top. smiley18.gifsmiley11.gif

Ox is out, think he's doing Babalass Lodge and no word from the Bird or Spas.

• Replies 9.2k

now that you mention it' date=' did mean Wednesday.......

Ride a white Specialized Allez with black front forks with a grey and white Bell helmet, usually with a dozy look on my fact but that comes standard with anything I wear.

I have this feeling that you are going to 'hurt' us.

Are you or have you ever been (a past life counts) a pro / semi-pro cyclists ?

Guys that ride Specialized are normally strong riders.

S2L, i think Narc is going to kill you up the steps!!!

That may be kid. That may be. He may very well be another dark horse like Nuwbie.

Bring it on! It can only hurt for a little while. The legs recover quickly enough, it's the ego that takes a hile longer.

Edit: On my ride yesterday a dude came past us on a white bike, too fast for me to see hat make, but a very strong rider. My teenager tried to chase him, but he was just too strong. Dropped both of us very easily going up towards Andries on Klipriver.

If you're a hubber dude, I would sure like to know who you are. 
Slave2Love2009-04-16 04:08:10

Got this from C/lab this morning.

Thought it a good idea to share with the Southern Hubbers.......

10 TIPS TO HELP YOU STAY ON YOUR BIKE THIS WINTER

1. Enter some events. [You need goals to keep you motivated]

2. Make sure you have a group to meet for training. [This makes it much easier to get out of your warm bed at 04h30am]

3. Join your local cycling club. [if you want more info on the Super cycling, Cycle Lab club, mail; club@cyclelab.com]

4. Try spinning at the Gym. [This is great during the week, then do longer outdoor rides on weekends]

5. Buy an indoor trainer. [Cycle Lab will supply you Free indoor training prog with any indoor trainer bought from us]

6. Buy some good quality winter clothing. [There is no such thing as bad weather, just bad clothing]

7. If you are a road rider, try Mountain Biking this winter. [Less of a wind-chill factor, and Great cross training]

8. If you are travelling or it is really cold, run/jog a few kilometres instead of cycling.

9. Winter is a great time of the year to get your bike position set up sorted out.

10. If you think we have it cold in SA, just think of the European cyclists cold long dark and wet winters.

smiley36.gif Frosty!

But it is all easier said than done. I have never cycled in winter before. In fact, usually by this time of the year, my bike is safely parked in the garage collecting dust already and I'm starting to make plans to reduce the number of hours I spend on the bike from next week.

Can't like being cold and hate riding in the dark, but that's just me. I think I'll switch to running in the week and taking long slow rides on weekends.

Time to put something to rest. A thing that has been onmy mind for a looong time now is whether or not a bicycle can trigger a speed camera. (Staionary permanent one).

Yesterday I cycled up Camaro and then down again a bit later. At 86 odd, my bike failed to trigger the speed camera.

There you have it.

This is my 3rd year of riding through the cold winter mornings at 04:00 - brrrrr!!

Strange thing is, I have all the winter gear, but do you think I would actually use it. I froze my @$$ off this morning coming down Bellairs towards Comaro, and then back up through Meyersdal. From next week, it's time to put on the leggings, jacket, beany-thingy and yesterday's newspaper for my chest.

One thing I will admit about riding through the winter, is that it teaches me to appreciate our mild winter, compared to what our colleagues in Europe have to endure. This is probably why there are more committed to the sport.

Hey Frosty, you must be from around here. How come you haven'y joined us for a ride yet, or are we too slow for you? You went right past bird and Spaso's place this morning. I went past there yesterday arvie. I often cycle up Bellairs towards the Engen. Mean climb that one, but nothing like Camaro.

Those okes who live in Europe, don't have much choice. I guess as long as it's not snowing, it is "warm" for them. I think they are nuts to live somewhere like that (all that snow, long cold dark winters,) when you can live in the arm sunshine of Africa.

But then again, they probably think we are nuts to live somewhere where it so hot in summer.

We are blessed with mild winters (comapritively speaking) but like it's cold for me because I am aclimatised.

Then again, maybe they are certifiable as well as committed.smiley36.gif

Frosty - where do you ride from in the mornings?

I sometimes ride with the bunch that leaves from Xumbugs at 5:15, and now in winter from Steers in Meyersdal at 5:12?

How far/ long do you go?

Routes?

I stay in Verwoerdpark - and ride with the bunch that leaves from Meyersdal at 05:10. There's always a couple GW club mates riding with.

We head into Alberton, up to Southcrest, through da Soufern Suburbs passing Gold Reef City and then back through Robertsham, Winchester Hills, Glenvista and up to Meyersdal.

The only time I can ride is between 04:30 and 07:00 each day, so have to make the best of it. The bunch is usually made up of licenced riders, so you can imagine the pace, but with all the traffic lights (aka robots to us locals) there is a chance to catch up if you get dropped.

Perhaps after SA Road Champs are over (end of May), I could join you guys one weekend

Frosty - where do you ride from in the mornings?

I sometimes ride with the bunch that leaves from Xumbugs at 5:15' date=' and now in winter from Steers in Meyersdal at 5:12?

How far/ long do you go?

Routes?[/quote']

See above - my cycling is definitely much quicker than my typing... smiley2.gif

Summer is with the bunch that leaves Xumbugs at 05:15, and Winter is the route described above.

And you Newbie? Perhaps we're cycled together and don't know it.

Frosty2009-04-16 05:21:04

Wasn't there on Wednesday, I woke up too late (07:00).

I normally I'm supposed to ride Tue, Wed and Thu.

Lately I've been riding my Schwinn, but should actually be riding my Merida.

However, the Merida is 9-spd and has a rear-wheel puncture. Being the lazy type I haven't fixed/changed the tube yet, so I have been using the "race" bike instead.

I'm usually in Germiston Wheeler kit, or Licenced kit (Mr Video on the side of kit)

And you? What bike and kit, so I can spot you??

Frosty2009-04-16 05:36:29

I'll be on a Trek (blue, silver, white), and normally in Cyclelab kit (Heidelberg), and according to my "friends" Slave and Kid - overdressed.

But I hate being cold, and am already wearing arm & leg warmers, etc.

Yes I agree , that pace is sometimes nogals hectic - lungbursting, calf popping stuff

Trek (blue, silver, white) Cyclelab kit (Heidelberg) - got it, I hope... see you next week.

What group you starting in for the Wilro?? I'm VA

Way outa my league. 

I'll just keep the puppies on the porch company. See kid, I knew there was a  good reason not to gradauate.

Frosty, just look for the oke that looks like he's on a mountain skiing (minus skis, plus sliver blue Trek Bike) and tha's prob'ly Nuwbie.