Kenda & Sealant

splat

Has anyone had probelms with Kenda UST tyres and sealant?

This is on their website and on the plastic tyre hanger thingie in the shop:

ATTENTION KENDA VALUED CUSTOMERS
KENDA DOES NOT ENDORSE THE USE OF ANY FLUID BASED SEALANT PRODUCTS IN KENDA TUBE TYPE OR TUBELESS TYPE TIRES. USE OF ANY FLUID BASED PRODUCT IN KENDA TIRES WILL BE AT YOUR OWN RISK AND WILL VOID ANY WARRANTY CLAIMS.

I've been using Kenda Nevegals with Stans fluid for more than 2 years and I have never had an issue. Without Stans (or similar) in the tyre the tubeless system is a complete waste of time.

I suspect that the warning is in case an American falls off his bike, breaks a finger nail, and tries to sue Kenda.

I agree. Have had no problems with Kenda and sealant. I don't use stan's anymore, now use a cheaper, latex-based truck tyre sealant.

I agree. Have had no problems with Kenda and sealant. I don't use stan's anymore' date=' now use a cheaper, latex-based truck tyre sealant.[/quote']

hmmm, where, which, how much?

sounds good. Stans is a ripp

There have been rumours in tyre circles about ammonia in the sealants causing bubbling of the outer tread. Unsubstantiated but these guys want to cover their arses. Maxxis is another one. Problem is not with the sealant but tyre. They are still to put the warning on their tyres.

I use Nevegal 2.1s with Stans on my training wheelset and have had issues with two rear tires - in both cases the tyre seems to delaminate internally somehow and the sealant gets between the layers, causing bubbles (little balloons) on the surface of the tyre. The first time this happened, the tyre was pretty worn anyway, so I replaced it. I'm now riding the second tyre with a tube. After putting the tube in, it still made bubbles for a while that would pop every now and then during a ride - kinda cool. But the tyre holds the tube well and still seems sound and I've had no further problems.