I have a quizzer for Mr Bornman (or others).......

porky

.............I usually have my cleats set on my shoes at a shop with a little machine which apparently measures the correct position in relation to your shoe, then when I change cleats I just use that little sticker and its all easy.

Now, I have a new pair of shoes and cleats lying in my cupboard since May last year which I would like to get set up - my issue is the shop I bought them from and who usually sets the cleats was a fairly well known one who was at that meeting and I refuse point blank to support them further - my question is can I set the cleats myself?

How do I know where to position the cleats or is it just trial and error??

Bear in mind I am not very technical and have only an old screwdriver (I last used it for stiring paint but I can scratch it off though Big%20smile) and a hammer in my tool box.

If I cant do it, is there a suggestion for a shop who can help me who WASNT at that meeting.

I use the older LOOK type cleats if that matters.

porky2009-03-19 09:14:02

Porky there are many different things to worry about here but from my personal experience i find that if you have floating cleats (the red look ones) then have them as far forward as possible and in the middle of the foot

if you ride with non float cleats then i would suggest going to someone like arran brown from cycle fit or richard lee from customised cycling solutions to get them set up correctly arran can be contacted on cyclefit.co.za and richard on 0728585287

hope that helps you out

The spindle of the pedal should sit directly below the middle of you big toe big knuckle. Take that as the centre line of your cleat (cleat bolts) making sure that your foot is parralel to your bike.

The spindle of the pedal should sit directly below the middle of you big toe big knuckle.

What? Are you nuts? "Toeing" the pedals will not do you any good...

I'm not an expert here as I sommer ride with sandals.