Fueling for the Trans Baviaans

PPWTF

So what are peoples views on this, assuming no support vehicle.

Is it simply a question of riding with a camelbak rucksack filled with gel sachets; pre measured sachets of electrolyte powders, ready to mix, and as many water bottles as one man (or woman...) can possibly carry, and or a combination of all of the above plus some secret means hubbers tend to keep within the confines of the forum.....

But seriously, how do other hubbers approach this? Is there a 'best way'?

Interested to hear people previous experiences and thoughts

PPWTF2009-05-01 07:20:44

Also doing it this year for the first year, but will have vehicle support Big%20smile.

Also have big questions over nutrition. From what I've read/asked you have to take in proper food at some stage, gels and powders not enough over the distance.

As far as I recall you send your feed with the truck to the feed points. that way you only need 2 bottles and whatever you want to carry on your pockets. Or Camelback if you so wish.

You get those PicknPay cloth bags for all the stops where you cannot get a vehicle. First time I did it, I packed them full, next time I took nothing (food wise). I kept a stash in my CamelBack of powders though.

Last year they screwed up with the food at station 1 - do not expect this again, generally, you can get enough food and drink at all the stops to meet your needs - nice to take some emergency powder if there is an issue though. Last year when stop 1 had nothing, I just used an emergency shake, else the rest came from the event. If you are doing for fun, then plan to spend a long time in front of the fire "Op die Berg"

drinking soup.

In terms of food - from what I remember

stop 1 -  boerie rolls

stop 2 - muffins

stop 3 - braai

stop 4 - soup

stop 5 - potatoes +?

stop 6 - hambugers

So more than enough to meet your needs...

So all you do then is plan your lights and batteries - if you are fast enough, you can keep them with your support, but best to put them on either before or on the big hill. If you are at the back - stop 3 is good. Just remember to find stop 3 as it is off the road......

thanks Flea.

From what I'm reading most of the so called "ultra endurance" (anything longer than 4Hrs) event guides recommend fluids based fueling... all saying much the same thing; that it's easier on the stomach.

When I did Desert Dash the most usefull meals was hot soup. We made some flasks, then bought these mugs you heat up using the siggi lighter socket...60'c hot soup at a midnight stop...hell yeah!

With the amount of food at the TB you will not starve. Hot soup like fatcyclist said is  fantastic. I rode with energy bars and my drinks. At each stop we had a quick nibble on what was given to us. Stop 3 had a very nice braai and the amount of food these people give you is insane. 

All I can say is stick to what you are used to and dont do something funny. eat something every hour, not to big and you will be fine.

I did the opposite two years ago .. .  didnt work out to well for me.

Read the book they give you its important.

thanks Flea.

From what I'm reading most of the so called "ultra endurance" (anything longer than 4Hrs) event guides recommend fluids based fueling... all saying much the same thing; that it's easier on the stomach.

Fluids only can work, but you have to train with it and test it and teach your body to cope with it...

My experience with myself in Trans (done it 3 times) is that at some stage I will crave real food, especially when I start feeling colda at night. 

Boiled patatoes with salt, biltong with fat, cold meat sandwitch/chicken burger are my fav. real foods in Trans... I eat a great deal of energy bars but sooner or later you'll start to hate them... I remember being gatvol for PVM bars as early as 140km at Doornkraal. We always buy about 20 each and always had a lot of them left after the race...

I've been on Bergplaas late afternoon twice, and just as the sun set once. It's cold up there and the soup they give makes you feel fantastic and does wonders to your mindset.

I think Trans is an easy race, compared to a 24hr solo for instance. I also think Trans must be a lot harder for the slower riders who leave from Doornkraal in darkness...

If you're fit and find a good bunch you'll soon cover the first 110km...

From Checkpoint 2 (geelhoutbos) to Bergplaas is the most demanding in terms of climbing and tech terrain. From Bergplaas it's downhill and undulating to Komdomo and a nice 'recovery' ride... then all that's left is never ender and your home! 

Good luck..

In terms of food - from what I remember

stop 1 -  boerie rolls

stop 2 - muffins

stop 3 - braai

stop 4 - soup

stop 5 - potatoes +?

stop 6 - hambugers

Damn - I missed out on some good stuff - I only remember the boerie rolls at stop one, the soup at the top of Bergplaas, and the potatoes...

Will have to play closer attention to the snacks along the route this year!

Easiest thing for these sorts of races is to start eating as early as possible, after a while your body doesn't want to take in solids anymore, so when you swap over to that you can use whatever gels you prefer, try to use the ones with the most natural ingredients.

BmcFan did back-up for us and at stop 5 we had a hot plate of pasta to eat. He drank all the beers but somehow found the three of us a beer at the finish.