Durbanville Area Roadies

dommisse

I'm no pussy... was out there at 6am on my trusty mtb... roads were a bit wet, other than that a nice morning for a ride B)

MariusL, did you end up training Tour de Tygerberg Hill? :)

• Replies 5.8k

guys - Engen - can i enter on the day?

From the site:

All riders entering the 99km Road event in the Licenced Category MUST enter before the day. Only Funride entries will be accepted on the morning of the event.

Participants will need to produce their valid Cycling SA licence card in order to receive their entry to the event.

NON CSA registered entrants will need to take out a day license for the event for R35.00

Gosh read some of these posts.... I only train 9:30-10 and thats still early on the weekends. I wake up 6 everyday BLEH

I am generally up between 5 and 5:30 during the week. Depending on weekend morning start, I get up 2 hrs before the ride - Live out in Wellington so I gotta if I want to join my buds for a ride.

Yip - hit the tour d' tygerberg nice and early yesterday, on my mtb stead :)

Went out to Somerset West and back this morning.

Time In The Saddle = 3 hrs.

Rebuilding in time for the West Coast Express - Durbanville High School racing events.

B)

The Engen race was K@K! Apart from the bad organisation, the wind was a killer. Was great when wind was from behind from Malmesbury to Voor Paardeberg but it was difficult race none the less. Just hope that they take it into consideration when they update the PPA seeding.

Have a good week guys and see some of you next weekend for One Tonner (going to be a non-event for me because of it being a DC training ride).

Ciao for now.

What you complaining about, you had a great ride/time. :P :D Will do your seeding no harm.

Everybody rode in the same conditions, no harm no foul. :lol: But I do agree the weather conditions was k@k......

The Engen race was K@K! Apart from the bad organisation, the wind was a killer. Was great when wind was from behind from Malmesbury to Voor Paardeberg but it was difficult race none the less. Just hope that they take it into consideration when they update the PPA seeding.

Have a good week guys and see some of you next weekend for One Tonner (going to be a non-event for me because of it being a DC training ride).

Ciao for now.

Reconsider 160kms as a non-event, SirK. With or without a team. :rolleyes:

Just good to know it turned out to be a safe experience. No crashes were reported from the Engen reportsSafety first! B)

Reconsider 160kms as a non-event, SirK. With or without a team. :rolleyes:

Just good to know it turned out to be a safe experience. No crashes were reported from the Engen reportsSafety first! B)

Don't get me wrong there Airbender, it's going to be a loooooong ride but I am not doing it with the same intensity that I would if I was actually gunning it to get a good time, but I have heard that it strains the faster guys to ride slow and makes you more tired than if you actually rode at your own pace - will see what the one tonner has in store for us.

@Wannabe - thx boet ;) Was only about 14 Min faster than my Burger time last year - but then again the wind wasn't blowing. My legs are moer tired now - gonna sleep lekker tonight and the rain outside is just going to make it better.

Don't get me wrong there Airbender, it's going to be a loooooong ride but I am not doing it with the same intensity that I would if I was actually gunning it to get a good time, but I have heard that it strains the faster guys to ride slow and makes you more tired than if you actually rode at your own pace - will see what the one tonner has in store for us.

It's a great opportunity for bunch riding at its best.

And you have 5-6 hrs to practice this.

Have a good one, SirK. :rolleyes:

Rather put it in high gear (4th or 5th) up the hills go slow and build strength

We'll guage their strenght on the day. Scared we will still pull away from them, and that defeats the point of the exercise. Will be an interesting outing, thats for sure.