CamelBack

mtbN00b

Can you please tell me what to look for when buying a camel back... I saw prices from R180 - R1500 but do not know what to look for. I am still new in this mtb thing Embarrassed

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

1st look at SportsDirects website - half the retail price and cheaper than CRC !!!! most important

2nd Get a 3L bladder, you don't have to fill it up but at least at this volume it will not be bulgy if you only want to put in 2L.

3rd make sure its a 2009 model. Big improvement on old ones.

4th Size dose count: Get the biggest one you can afford. HAWG is really awesome.

Nice to have: A lot of the newer ones come with built in rain covers. Makes a big difference. I have one (Scudo) and use it a lot.

Camelbak? is a brand and you pay for that name because they've got a life time guarantee on some of the stuff. Other hydration systems like Dunlop or Raleigh can be bought from Makro or Game at a 10th of the price but is crap. Buy a good name like Camelbak?, Hydrapak? or Deuter?.

Make sure it sits nicely on your back.  I've found some fit me really well and others are uncomfortable.

Make sure you get one that fits the stuff you need with you on a ride.  I don't do very long rides so mine is the smaller one, fits a tube, bomb etc but not much else and has a 1.5l bladder.  I always take a water bottle with as this is not enough for me for even a 2 hour ride.  If you are going to do long rides / stage races I think the bigger ones are the better option.

I've had mine now for more than 3 years and its still in good condition so IMO worth spending the money for the one you want as its going to last you a while.

Just cycle without one till you identify the need to have one (more fluid capacity, packing space etc.), then you'll know what your own personal requirements are and perhaps more importantly you'll appreciate or value it more.