WHEEL OPINIONS SPINERGY VS AMERICAN CLASSIC

Jeepdude

OK SO I NEED SOME WHEEL OPINIONS NOT COSMETIC ONES.

WOULD LIKE TO KNOW OF EXPERIENCES WITH THE BELOW WHEELSETS

THE SPINERGY LOOKS NICE HAS FUNKY SPOKES BUT TO BE HONEST NOT REALLY A "LIGHT WHEELSET" WHY BOTHER CONSIDERING THESE?

20091017_054218_Wiel.jpg

THE AMERICAN CLASSICS LOOK NICE AND THEY ARE ALMOST 300 GRAMS LIGHTER..... I KNOW DIRTY TWIN HAS JUST BOUGHT SOME WITH HIS IBIS.. ANYBODY ELSE OUT THERE? BTW THE SPINERY WHEELS ARE MORE EXPENSIVE

20091017_054529_977_4_mtb_mtb26.jpg
bertusvanzyl2009-10-17 05:46:04

I have no experience with the Cyclone wheels but do ride AM's. Very good wheels and I have had no problems with them at all.

20091017_054719_DSCF8561.JPG

hmmmmm it seems the classics then? will wait for some more opinions... lucky to test ride the spinergy set though

The AC are value for money if you want a light set of wheels. The rims are a little bit soft - can easily bend if you hit a rock -  happened to my son not to long ago. The bearings are very smooth.

Somebody told me that the Spinergy wheels flex to much

Konaman2009-10-17 14:03:35

thanks things i need to hear.... i am not one of the lightest racers out there.. 82kg chasing down other fast okes over rough stuff....hmmm need tuff rims..... but light fast rolling bertusvanzyl2009-10-17 14:06:38

I know a few guys who have to service their AM classics very often. A am not convinced that the AMC's are the best option for the heavier rider that rides often. You know the old saying of light, cheap,strong. Choose any two. Have you considered XT wheels? Icycling has advertized them somewhere on the hub for R 3500 I think. 

You have chosen to insert yourself between a rock and a hard place. There are more comfortable places to be.

Some things to consider.

1) Proprietary parts such as nipples and spokes.

2) Hub flange width

3) Bearing size.

4) Rim weight (heavier is actually better in this case).

5) Quality of build.