Licenses for Cyclists

EZRider

For those of you proposing that cyclists get licenses, pass exams and riding tests and pay the government money in order to be able to ride a bike I have a few questions:

Are you so arrogant that in your elitist, little world you assume that you are the ALPHA and the OMEGA of cycling?

Being a farmer I live in a rural community and work with illiterate and semi literate folk who have no, absolutely NO, chance of passing a written learners test and have neither the time, the logistics, nor the money to take a practical test.

Would your self righteous, quick fix approach not deprive them of their only means of transport and possibly even their income?

Would you initiate yet another grossly mismanaged and corrupt government institution to reap in kick backs from driving schools and force our youth to resort to bribery in order to avoid long, multi day queues in front of dingy offices?

Do you think that our current motor vehicle testing and licensing system has drastically reduced the number of road fatalities? Has it made our roads safer for motorists, pedestrians or cyclists?

Many of the cyclists killed on our roads are killed while obeying the laws of the road by LICENSED motorists.

On a more selfish note: I already have a drivers license so I know what a STOP sign means. If your actions do indeed force me into a beurocratic nightmare and possibly off my bicycle for good. Then a POX on you!

TZmtb2009-12-10 01:04:34

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Totally agree with you.

Well said.

The animosity and rage towards cyclist on the roads was caused by a few cyclists. Now we all are branded as unlawful road users by motorist.

I hear that daily at worked from my colleague?s. Especially when they were forced to take evasion action because cyclist does not adhere to the laws of the road

1. you will wait 6 months before you can get an appointment