Hi Everyone!

Looking for some advice on a sore ITB. I switched from a hardtail to a softtail about 2 months ago and after about a month on the softtail, I've been having pain in my ITB. Been to the chiropractor for the last 2 weeks. I have also been power plating it, rolling it and stretching.

Can I keep on cycling at a low intensity or should I stop cycling completely for a few weeks?

When you say rolling, are you using a physio foam roller for self myofascial release (sounds a whole lot dirtier than it is). Works, sore as hell when you do it, and you gotta continue for a while to keep the ITB stretched. Do a hub search on ITB - lots has been said.

Yes, I am rolling on a physio foam roller. And it really is sore as hell!!

Thanks for the tip!

Hi Maryke, do a search for an exercise called Walts ITB Special I posted a link here a few weeks ago with pics - it works well and is easy to do, give it a try.

ITB injuries on the bike are normally caused from incorrect setup or you cleats are not setup correctly.

Number one priority - ensure that you have a proper bike setup done. It makes the world of difference. If your setup is incorrect, the ITB will not go away.

Be disciplined about stretching after your rides! You can download ITB stretches off the net.

After a couple of long races (Magalies/Hill2Hill) my left ITB was killing me, read up a bit and stated that it can also be as a result of misaligned cleats, checked and mine 'looks' fine, but perhaps something to check.

I had the same problem. Rolling and stretching works well but it takes time. can take over 1 month. Remember that when u roll and feel the most pain at an area. keep the leg still at that area and bend the leg while still on the roller. (Sore as hell)

Is it only one leg that hurts?

Also check your seat height, too high can cause pain too on the ITB.

My ITB flared up badly about 6 weeks ago.

It started with me running on the treadmill until I felt it hurt (didn't know what it was then). And then I tried to run through it one day. oooops.

2 weeks or so later it really kicked in after the Dome to Dome.

I read up on ITB and started to stretch and roll every day. Stopped running and even cycling for 9 days, but I replaced my lost sessions on the bike with gym sessions. Then did a 40km night ride and BAM, ITB almost made me cry.

So last week I went to see a Orthopedic surgeon. We still need to discuss my MRI, but after reading the report I think it's safe to say I have ilio-tibial band friction syndrome. I won't go into my feelings about the cost of a MRI now... Anyway, I still need to go see the doc with regards to treatment. The only thing he told me was that I can cycle but need to stop immediately if I feel pain. Not always easy if you're 20km from home.

I kinda stripped my moer about this whole situation. I don't know what to do, stretching and rolling every day isn't working and the time off the bike is making me miserable.

So from last week Tuesday I stopped all physical activities and hit a Catoflam morning and night whether the ITB was sore or not. I rode the 50km Campus to Campus race with the GF on Sunday (to me the pace was very easy. AVE HR of 135bpm) and ITB didn't flare up. And today is the first day in about a month that the knee feels good.

I'm not a doctor, but my advice would be to get some anti-inflammatories (I used catoflam because I had some left from a previous issue). Take at least 2 a day (morning and night after meals) and stop all exercise for a week. I didn't even climb stairs with the sore leg, I only used the good leg to go up and down stairs.

You should probably consult with your doc before using medication for an extended period of time.

ITB friction syndrome is a pain!

Just want to add that it is very important to find the cause of your ITB issues and correct that too.

Do a bike setup and have your cleats checked by reputable okes. Running caused myne, so I won't be running again any time soon.

Remember your ITB can also hurt through overuse, especially when you just start out running and have not done so for many years - be careful - start slowly and gradually increase.

As for cleat position - if you sit on a table and hang your legs the way your feet face is basically the way your cleats should be positioned and your feet should sit in the pedals. You will injure yourself if for example your feet point slightly inward naturally and you are cycling with straight feet in your pedals - hope that makes sense.

Check your bike setup definitely.

Stretching is just as important as the actual exercise itself!

NEVER EVER neglect stretching!

I got bad ITB from running (very common among runners) forced myself to not run for a week, treating it with the usual voltaren. After week started running low intensity, still sore but ok. Then I increased my intensity and distance BIG MISTAKE. Hit me so bad 10km away from home, could not even walk.

Long story short – ITB syndrome is because of rubbing against the bone on the side of the knee, if not looked after it causes scar tissue that thickens the ITB hence doubling your problem.

Never try to run or ride through the pain/problem.

Take it easy and do lots of stretching – most of the time it will come right.

Ignore and continue training, it will get worse and you might need an operation.

I did not want to go the operation route, (I screwed mine up bad) took 8months for a 100% recovery

Stretching is now a part of my training. Rather train 10min less and fit in some stretching

Just some points and tips to ponder.

I've read that you should never stretch cold muscles. So according to that statement a good stretch after a ride is worth more/better/safer than a good stretch before.

Another thing I read somewhere was "heat before, ice after", which I tried at the race on Sunday. I took a hot water bottle along to the race an applied heat to my knee for about 10minutes before we went to the starting pen. Then had a lekker stretch after the race and iced my knee for about 15 minutes while driving back home.

I had no pain during or after the race, but that might also be because of the rest and anti-inflammatories in the days preceding the race.