I still don't understand why we need any of this?

Would you transfer money to someone who phoned you or emailed you? No. So why do it on the hub?

I'm a believer in "cash in hand" - sure it limits the stuff I buy to commuting distance but it does wonders for my confidence. I really can't understand how anybody would deposit money into a stranger's account or give up goods with the promise of payment but no actual "cash in hand" payment. I befuddles my head completely. Sure I would love to live in a world where we can trust every tom, dick and sandy but the reality is that we can't - adjust your buying habots to match reality. Plus (and sadly) people are not more trustworthy simply because they own a bicycle (or pretend to be cyclists).

You hand over cash - seller hands over goods - voila - done deal. No mess - no fuss - no scam. Simple.

:thumbup:

• Replies 62

I

You hand over cash - seller hands over goods - voila - done deal. No mess - no fuss - no scam. Simple.

I've bought a number of small value items such as Bolle sunglasses and pedals that were posted.

Only done 2 high value items, sold a MTB to a hubber and bought a garmin 705. In these instances we met in person, checked things out and then traded cash.

Pfft! Like that'll ever catch on!

HAAAH :lol: Brilliant - WINNING POST :clap: :clap: :clap:

Will all those who are commenting and have bought those silicone blingy bangles please rethink their statements :)

Fortunately you claimed previously to have "brains"

So is that the plan? To follow me around the hub baiting me?

That's about as useful as a helium paperweight.

Its just that this oke took it to a whole new level, he isn't some tricksy nigerian selling parrots, this was a very well thought out scam. Also dont get me wrong, the signs were there but he made a killing anyhow

1.Created multiple profiles backing each other up

2.Knew bikes...talked the talk apparently

3.Scammed sellers...GOOSE's wheelset

4.Sold that same wheelset...but never delivered anything...so he scammed buyers

5.Even worked a charity angle(hoping for more credibility) in one of his for sale threads

6.He also knew the price points for these items well not making it too obvious but still an awesome deal

7.Sold the same item mulitple times to different people

8.Uses false names and adresses, probably also emails and tel no.

9.Gets in...scamms...gets out

No guys this oke was a pro

Edited by rouxtjie

I have a lot of faith in my fellow hubbers. Yes I have sent cash and hoped like hell my faith was not unfounded and to date I have not been disappointed. I suppose there is always a chance first time. Basics like checking the number of posts, when the hubber joined etc can help you decide who to trust and who not too. I also agree that as part of a hubbers profile we should be able to see personal details such as phone numbers, addresses, memberships to CSA/TSA/ASA etc. You could then at least in part verify the identity of the person you are buying from. In the end though common sense, good judgement not to mention a little faith should be enough.

Its just that this oke took it to a whole new level, he isn't some tricksy nigerian selling parrots, this was a very well thought out scam. Also dont get me wrong, the signs were there but he made a killing anyhow

1.Created multiple profiles backing each other up

2.Knew bikes...talked the talk apparently

3.Scammed sellers...GOOSE's wheelset

4.Sold that same wheelset...but never delivered anything...so he scammed buyers

5.Even worked a charity angle(hoping for more credibility) in one of his for sale threads

6.He also knew the price points for these items well not making it too obvious but still an awesome deal

No guys this oke was a pro

I'm not sure about that...

The "scam" signs were there - wrong sizing on the frames, too good to be true, no pics of the real items just generic internet pics, dumb statements like "resin rotors"...

I think he made money out of two factors:

1) Hubbers being trusting people.

2) Hubbers being greedy and wanting a super bargain.

If anyone of the scammed party had taken a step back and thought about the deal instead of picturing themselves on their new wheels/frame they would have known it was a scam.

Edit: Also a brand new user with zero hub cred - alarms bells should have been ringing LOUD!!!!!

Edited by Eldron

I have a lot of faith in my fellow hubbers. Yes I have sent cash and hoped like hell my faith was not unfounded and to date I have not been disappointed. I suppose there is always a chance first time. Basics like checking the number of posts, when the hubber joined etc can help you decide who to trust and who not too. I also agree that as part of a hubbers profile we should be able to see personal details such as phone numbers, addresses, memberships to CSA/TSA/ASA etc. You could then at least in part verify the identity of the person you are buying from. In the end though common sense, good judgement not to mention a little faith should be enough.

Nail on the Head here :thumbup:

Post your details on yoru profile page Hubbers!! Come now, if you have nothing to hide, then share your information freely :thumbup:

If you hve nothing to hide, then why not be open about it.

My info is already available, has always been. Added to this, I am going to add my PPA number on my profile, take the first step, ANYONE going to follow suit :clap:

I'm not sure about that...

The "scam" signs were there - wrong sizing on the frames, too good to be true, no pics of the real items just generic internet pics, dumb statements like "resin rotors"...

I think he made money out of two factors:

1) Hubbers being trusting people.

2) Hubbers being greedy and wanting a super bargain.

If anyone of the scammed party had taken a step back and thought about the deal instead of picturing themselves on their new wheels/frame they would have known it was a scam.

Edit: Also a brand new user with zero hub cred - alarms bells should have been ringing LOUD!!!!!

I agree the signs were there...he just took it to another level....yes?

Indeed - alas the first to "take it to the next level" always scores a bit of cash.

About the only good that can come of this is that hubbers will be a bit more careful - sad really that there are people out there that cause us to be more careful though...

I have been thinking and i think that a few mods should be appointed to scan the sales and delete any posts that look doggy like these.

https://community.bikehub.co.za/topic/94854-cube-ams-comp-100/

https://community.bikehub.co.za/topic/94552-for-sale-merida-one-twenty-1500-d-size-m-as-new/page__p__1281793__fromsearch__1#entry1281793

I also think that a system of paying R50 to advertise over R2000 or more would work quite well and can go towards a braai at the end of the year ;)

I have been thinking and i think that a few mods should be appointed to scan the sales and delete any posts that look doggy like these.

https://community.bikehub.co.za/topic/94854-cube-ams-comp-100/

https://community.bikehub.co.za/topic/94552-for-sale-merida-one-twenty-1500-d-size-m-as-new/page__p__1281793__fromsearch__1#entry1281793

I also think that a system of paying R50 to advertise over R2000 or more would work quite well and can go towards a braai at the end of the year ;)

We don't need mods, people need to use their own common sense when buying.

And we also don't need a fee to advertise, do you think R50 is going to deter a skelm who makes much much more from scams?

Nail on the Head here :thumbup:

Post your details on yoru profile page Hubbers!! Come now, if you have nothing to hide, then share your information freely :thumbup:

If you hve nothing to hide, then why not be open about it.

My info is already available, has always been. Added to this, I am going to add my PPA number on my profile, take the first step, ANYONE going to follow suit :clap:

I think there would be more of a security risk posting your personal details. Besides, You could easily lie about your address, etc. I personally don't post my name and details for one reason only. I often make reference to my equipment and having a large amount of money invested in these products and from sponsors I don't want would-be thieves to know where they can fnd me and my equipment.

I also sell a lot of stuff on the hub and always give my cell number via PM for buyers to phone me. That way they can hear my voice and make a better judgement of whether they are at risk of me ripping them off or not.

I would suggest that if you buy something and are worried, give the guy a call and find out what his real name is and what club he rides for. Then if you still don't have a good feeling just phone his club to see if he is a genuine rider and what his character is like.

Edited by The_Break

I don't think many of you have really thought this through, but are just demanding RATING SYSTEM and USER VERIFICATION.

there already is a rating system in place, see how long this poster has been around, and go and search the classifieds to see if he has had successful sales before. it's really not that hard. i'm not saying that the rating is not a bad idea, but if you think it's the silver bullet to stop scammers then you're mistaken.

user verification?! there are now 20 085 registered profiles. . ja good luck on that.

I think it would also be good if buyers gave some feedback. That way there is a better feel about the seller especially if the buyers have cred here.

Guest agteros

At the very least, if you bought an item (confirmed with seller), or transfer/pay money for the item, add that fact to the advertisement. At least the scammer will only be able to "sell" the item once :blink: It will also provide a trail of buyer/seller referrals to be used by others for confirm validity of sellers/buyers