Hi guys, I know this thread was last active a year ago, but If any of you can respond..

Are there ways to get from Stellenzight further to Somerset west, or Lourensford in particular?

you out this side of the world now?

Officially, NO, unnoficially, YES MAYBE. :)

All private land.

The route the Epic followed over the neck into Lourensford is a conservancy and no riding in there is allowed. That was a one time affair apparently. Will have to see what the route entails for next year.

Guys, yes the routes are available...but you need to become a club member...works out to something like R25 per month!! (with option to join for the last 6 months of 2013 at half price). Please go to Wannbe website for details.

By joining (& getting a number board you will be able to ride the route whenever you want) But only member boards are allowed on the route...this was a big requisite from all the land owners - so that they can identify club riders from rogue riders (roof ryers). IF we cock this up...they will simply kick us all off their land and we are back to square #1

I would encourage one and all to join up...it's not much and the benefits are endless.

Yes, Stellenzight can link up to Steynsrust and perhaps later will join up to Lourensford(but not yet).

There are routes available but they are privately being maintained at the moment.

Currently, the Wannabe club has negotiated ~120km of track on 23 farms between S-west and Stellies...it's a mission to keep it open / maintained etc. etc. Come give us a hand every now and then!!

Edited by Cassie

you out this side of the world now?

Nah, youd be so luckey :whistling:

Fand, long time bru...Im just your side for this weekend and next. The inlaws are staying in a house on Erinvale, and Brother inlaw stay on Longridge wine farm, so thought we could connect the two.

I thought of bringing the roadbike, calling you and attempting the 4 passes.. but Im not sure Im in any shape for that. Eks nog *** sleg! Maybe next weekend.

PhilipV gave me some details.. there are some rides on lourensford saturday and sunday that I'll maybe join for.

Cassie, No tresspassing, I understand. Wouldnt want to spoil it for the ones who's putting in the work to do it the right way.

Thanks for all the replies gents! :thumbup:

Nah, youd be so luckey :whistling:

Fand, long time bru...Im just your side for this weekend and next. The inlaws are staying in a house on Erinvale, and Brother inlaw stay on Longridge wine farm, so thought we could connect the two.

I thought of bringing the roadbike, calling you and attempting the 4 passes.. but Im not sure Im in any shape for that. Eks nog *** sleg! Maybe next weekend.

PhilipV gave me some details.. there are some rides on lourensford saturday and sunday that I'll maybe join for.

Cassie, No tresspassing, I understand. Wouldnt want to spoil it for the ones who's putting in the work to do it the right way.

Thanks for all the replies gents! :thumbup:

ja dude - i'm just as sleg. been off the bike for 8 weeks. only started again last week. So i'm still building base at the moment. lemme know if you're keen for a mtb mission over the weekend. I live across the road from ongegund trails which forms part of the wines2whales race

• 3 months later...

Does anybody know why riding has been stopped on the the Stellenzicht Farm part which spills out on the Blaauwklippen Road of this trail? It's messed up the off-road commute possibilities between SSW and Stellies quite badly.

Any alternatives?

Does anybody know why riding has been stopped on the the Stellenzicht Farm part which spills out on the Blaauwklippen Road of this trail? It's messed up the off-road commute possibilities between SSW and Stellies quite badly.

Any alternatives?

Rogue riders...., I think there were more than one reason but the main one being rogue riders.

The alternative at the moment is to use the R44 to get access to the gravel road/Blauwklippen road which comes out between the trees about 200m up the hill from the Anandale Road robots.

I`m gonna moer a rogue rider soon... :cursing:

Join the club, it is well worth it... I ride these trails often as a Wannabe member, fantastic, especially the black route above Bilton.

Club members are also not allowed to ride through Stellenzight anymore. The question was about alternatives to riding through Stellenzight.