Durban Hubbers Charity Ride 2011

Slowbee

Right so it seems that we're all in agreement with charity and route?

As a reminder...

Charity: The charity is Santa's Shoebox. Please go to the website and read up on what it's about and how to go about packing the boxes and with what. Don't worry about registering just yet, I'm still waiting to hear whether we need to register each individual, or can just register as "the hub" and go from there.

Route: Meet at Moses Mabhida at 8am - can park at the stadium or even at the casino since it's nearby. Start the ride at 8:30am, this gives hubbers a chance to say "hi" and mingle. Also need to set up some "hub" marshals to help shepherd every one. Nice slow, easy ride down to uShaka Marine, with a break for coffee there - maybe the Wimpy? Then leave for the point for some posed pics (just cause we can) and then slow easy ride back to the Stadium. I don't think it'll take much more than 2 hours in total so plan for that.

As always, comments welcome. I'll be bumping this regularly from now till the 16th so no excuses for not turning up!

Just to confirm, so the Hubbers will meet at MM at 7:45ish? Are we going to be giving you the shoebox presents EigerSA to pass on to the charity?

With regards to marshalling are you going to make a decision on the day depending on how many people rock up? Hopefully with the shoutout in the Saturday paper (Thanks TimW :clap: :clap: ) we get a large crowd down there..

• Replies 64

So far...

• Caerus
  • Grebel
  • Shawn
  • Jules1976
  • Motard660
  • Robinh
  • Airborne
  • Bman
  • Sepia
  • Clint_za

Unfortunately something has come up and I won't be able to join you guys on Friday morning. I hope you have a blast and all things go well! :thumbup:

Hi all. I been away and only got back late yesterday. Hope everyone ready for Friday. I went out this morning and got a whole bunch of goodies...

IMG_1446.JPG

I still need a coloring-in book and a toy of some type which I'll get tomorrow.

@robinh: Meet between 7:45 and 8:00 for a quick round of intro's. Then head out at about 8:30 or around there. I'm borrowing my brothers bakkie (I'm that optimistic!) which we can put them all in. I'll then contact the organisation to collect them from me. They have promised to send pics of where they go to if possible.

As for marshaling, I guess that depends on numbers. But quite honestly, I don't think there'll be too much of a need for marshals, we wont be battling cars... at least I hope not!

@grebel: soory you can't make it, hope to see you next year boet!

Sweet - hopefully we get the numbers. Just gotta get some crayons and a drawing pad some sorts and I'm all set.

PS My only problem is still organising this shoe box :blush:

I always tend to leave things to the last minute and now seeing how much you are cramming in your box I am a little concerned... I was thinking one fluffy toy and had no idea you were meant to put everything into one box!

Have a lekker ride tomorrow, everyone! I'm sure the charities will appreciate anything, in whatever form it takes.

PS My only problem is still organising this shoe box :blush:

I always tend to leave things to the last minute and now seeing how much you are cramming in your box I am a little concerned... I was thinking one fluffy toy and had no idea you were meant to put everything into one box!

Don't worry about it, you can always sort it out later. Just come and enjoy the ride.

Looks like it might be a perfect day for a ride tomorrow! Overcast which will hopefully mean the beach front won't be too packed but very little wind and no rain predicted.

post-28653-0-39543100-1323967830.jpg

Edited by Clint_ZA

Off to work this morning, doh :thumbdown: Enjoy folks, as it's a beautiful morning for a ride down the beach front :)

Dagnamit, still at work for what reason, not even God knows. :angry:

Edited by Caerus

Unfortunately a really pitiful turnout by the Durban folk but a stunning morning for a beach front cycle!

post-28653-0-92372200-1324034064.jpg

yup not a great turn out at all. To those that did manage, great to meet you and we definitely will have to start a monthly social ride. To those that couldn't be there, next time right?