At least they let those of us who lost the battle against the wind do the final stage despite loading ourselves onto bakkies at the end of stage 2. Urgh! That wind hurt :-P Training has had to begin already for next year to avoid a repeat. 363 days to go...

• Replies 187

Wind Stage 2 :cursing:

This is about the first time there has been a head wind on Stage 2.

Have a look at the maps of the route put out by the club, they show that the wind is supposed to give a big push on stage 2.

We often have an easterly wind in the morning and a westerly wind after lunch , giving a push both ways.

It had to happen sometime .. . .

This is about the first time there has been a head wind on Stage 2.

Have a look at the maps of the route put out by the club, they show that the wind is supposed to give a big push on stage 2.

We often have an easterly wind in the morning and a westerly wind after lunch , giving a push both ways.

It had to happen sometime .. . .

Dont know hey, always had wind in the face on stage 2

There have been times that I have flown down that road with the wind behind.

But no matter what the wind, that climb drag out of the Saltpans kills the legs.

Agreed - done six and at least 3 have had headwind on stage 2. Was going to point it out to the magazine people.

Caught sight of Cervelo in the beer tent - I was watching rugby by the door for a quick exit. He looked a bit cross, truth be told.

Come on Championchip wheres the results? Two years ago me Waterbottle and Scotty sat in Maxxis north of Polokwane on the N1 for Sunday morning brekkie and the results were up. Whats up - someone shoot your carrier pigeon?

I lost my sence of humour this time around, about 1/2 way into stage 2. It was a tough round at the Kremetart. I wanted to pack up after stage 2. Didn't have a good race, wasn't nearly prepared enough for it. That wind made a otherwise easy race quite difficult. 100 k into the wind.

At least they let those of us who lost the battle against the wind do the final stage despite loading ourselves onto bakkies at the end of stage 2. Urgh! That wind hurt :-P Training has had to begin already for next year to avoid a repeat. 363 days to go...

What kit were you wearing?

Did not realise it was you. I was the one who helped you a tad on the first stage ;)

Yep, that you did. You have no idea how much I appreciated it :-) Thank you!

Now I feel sheepish. I did not recognise you at all. After that last climb when we passed you at Otto's we just opened up and went full throttle. That was the highlight of the day.

Had a look at the HR profile this morning. I should have died actually if I look at that;)

Thanks to Ivan (lucky to get his name in the Wimpy on Sunday morning) for brining me a tube from who knows where after I blew two in a hundred meters on stage 3. Got in as the tandems started stage 4 so i could not get my time registered. Anyway, just joined my starting group and finished without any further incidents. Great race. (Still a bit dof today.)

What happened with the tandems during stage 2? The case of bad sportsmanship you're referring to?

One mixed tandem sat in the lead breakaway and refused point blank to help. Just sat and stuffed up the pace line for the rest of us. Then sprinted the guys on the line. The incident just left a bad feeling as normally the tandems are a pretty sporting bunch.

What was ironic was that these guys were very strong and didn't need to resort to such tactics as they worked hard in stage 3 and proved themselves after they had been castigated by everyone for their behaviour. So final kudos to them for stepping up...

Thanks to Ivan (lucky to get his name in the Wimpy on Sunday morning) for brining me a tube from who knows where after I blew two in a hundred meters on stage 3. Got in as the tandems started stage 4 so i could not get my time registered. Anyway, just joined my starting group and finished without any further incidents. Great race. (Still a bit dof today.)

You rode a great race! Well worth that wimpy breakfast. You riding Saturday?

Was a little irritated having to wait for 40 minutes in a queue for lunch. Next time we will bring our own, so that we can rest the 40 minutes instead. Otherwise a great event. One that all roadies should do at least once. Counted 8 braai smugglers hiding in the bushes on the way there, and three sitting on the concrete wall resting against the pillars in Midrand alone. I was surprised to see them out in the cold on a Sunday. Incentives must be high or the coffers have been completely plundered....

I skipped the queue at the school after stage 2, opted for the Jungle bars and bananas ;) No queues there.