KZN DH event ... Rico's/Comleys DH track ... 10th June - Trail-Bike FRIENDLY Track

I was the only guy on a Giant Glory, No 55

That mud in the morning was seriously hectic but i think that headwind was even worse. I also got that stall feeling in the air and came up short on the front wheel, luckily not too bad, tried pinning the next practice sucking it and landing short but i figured out i can bottom out my suspension :cursing: front and back.

Luckily in race runs i had little wind so was able to clear the road, ill post a vid of RR in the next few days.

That was an awesome track :clap: big ups to the builders and organizers :thumbup: :thumbup: :thumbup:

brilliant weekend :w00t:

• Replies 227

numbaaaaaa 45, on the steamy wheeler

on the teocali prior to my unplanned modification of my front rim :clap:

Did you come pip when you did that?? Saw the pic..

Was there to pick up some bike parts and stayed to check out some runs. You guys really get me so keen on getting into the DH riding, was so awesome watching some guys do the road gap jump :thumbup:

Also watched number 13 hit it pretty bad :blink: Sorry bro, its never nice to see someone get hurt.

Anyways was a awesome day out, just a pitty about the strong wind. Now just need to sell everything to get a DH bike and start riding :ph34r:

It was a really fun day. I thought I was all ready for my first race run only to figure out 5 sec before my start that my goggles were around my neck. Managed to get them on and have my fastest run of the day. Just need to get over the nerves. Was all over the place on the second run trying to go one better but it was not working. Can't believe how quick those youngsters go and I knew Nigel could ride but did not know he could put in such a good showing. Was lekker to see that I was one of a couple of new guys there on the day. Hope to see everyone at the next meeting and even more new riders. Thanks for all the help and encouragement from the Gravity Life crew and all the other guys there.

Now that was a brilliant day out! Thanks to all the guys who organised that. Was also my first go at proper downhill race so one big learning curve... All you guys doing those big gaps are have taken what is missing in your heads and put it in your ball bearings! I had to go early so missed prizegiving (was my wedding anniversary on sunday so had to dart back home and play house) and I would love love to know how badly my 5 inch bike did against the rest so is there anywhere to go check the results?

Thanks for super day....now to get a proper bike?

I knew Nigel could ride but did not know he could put in such a good showing.

Nort bud it may be ok for an old ballie ... but not quick enough yet ... missed out on a top 10 overall so am gutted ... need to find some more pace somewhere - bloody lighties are getting too quick these days!

is there anywhere to go check the results?

Morne will email all the results to all the entrants later this week ... I will then put them up on here .. (sorry we have just been busy with KZNMTB meetings for nationals ... got home last night at 9:30pm from meetings .. :thumbdown: :cursing: FAIL)

All round it sounds as though the day was a resounding success! I really hope that another n00bie day can be arranged as the results were evident from the turnout. Even though a lot of guys weren't at the fun day, I am sure that they heard about it and decided to come and give it a go. A trail bike friendly course although you can't expect a trail bike to perform like a DH rig (just ask geecee... :whistling: )

Here are some pics from the day (some a bit blurred. Apologies for that!)

post-17843-0-17416100-1339482513.jpg

post-17843-0-32627400-1339482550.jpg

Nige's better half!

post-17843-0-38567500-1339482602.jpg

The veteran!

post-17843-0-01954900-1339482622.jpg

post-17843-0-89142000-1339482662.jpg

post-17843-0-03962600-1339482785.jpg

Styling!

post-17843-0-56500300-1339482820.jpg

MissionS

post-17843-0-44175600-1339482861.jpg

Edited by Grebel

Some more:

Jono

post-17843-0-39757800-1339483766.jpg

pierremerv taking the inside line!

post-17843-0-28823600-1339483809.jpg

post-17843-0-30859200-1339483840.jpg

Ian from Team Teocali!

post-17843-0-84086900-1339483911.jpg

Flying high!

post-17843-0-51709800-1339483981.jpg

ggza chillin' in the pits between runs!

post-17843-0-13943500-1339484032.jpg

Did you come pip when you did that?? Saw the pic..

yebo. ate it a bit, but nothing more than a bit of bruising.

straight over the bars and landed in the soft stuff on the side :thumbup:

seen the pics of the team riders but none of anyone else on FB ... any chance you okes could load a couple up on here of the okes that raced? ... Okes Post your race numbers up here ... (i cant remember mine so will check when im home)

Aldine will post Low Res pics up on FB when she gets around to editing them (She has only had time to edit the Gravity Life Pics so far)

Then I will post a link and you can buy the High Res Pics from her!